We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

simply allium - CLOSED

Market Place No 1 London Street, Fairford GL7 4AH, England
+44 1285 712200
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good15%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Apr 26, 2014
“Excellent - but closed. Colosseo is new name”
Apr 15, 2014
“Simply Allium”
Restaurant Hours
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Place No 1 London Street, Fairford GL7 4AH, England
More restaurants in Fairford
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 108 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Outstanding doesn't do this restaurant justice, my taste buds have never experienced food this good. We went for the twelve course taster menu in the private dining room where we got to watch and talk to James while he created my most memorable night of...More

4  Thank RossABJones
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I really don't understand this place. It's just not the sort of place I thought we would find this far into the countryside, cut off from the rest of the world. But it is such a wondrous restaurant that I have to write a review...More

4  Thank Beamo_99
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a brilliant restaurant. These have been difficult times for restaurants outside London, and although prosperous, rural Gloucestershire isn't a natural environment for highly experimental cooking by a chef always looking for something new, and then to perfect it. At one point, the chef...More

3  Thank Jacques Hughes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

'Tasting menus' are appearing everywhere nowadays and if you can combine one with a voucher then you may have a bargain. Here was an old cotswold building exterior with a delightful fresh and modern interior, friendly front of house and a relaxed and casual atmosphere....More

1  Thank glenken
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Special occasion restaurant. First time visiting this fantastic restaurant but won't be our last. We had the 6 course taster menu. Each course was beautifully presented and very tasty. Nice gap between courses to enjoy eachothers company. Lovely evening, Thank you Allium.

2  Thank Loumatt2012
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Allium has recently gone back to their old root, a good quality restaurant, from the previous format of brasserie, Simply Allium. We enjoyed their 6-course tasting menu on Thu night and it was fantasitc! All the dishes were cooked in perfection and I particularly enjoyed...More

2  Thank yukoyh
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited today for tasting menu lunch- 6 courses and glass of prosecco. Food was really excellent in 5 courses, just the creme brûlée let it down. Compared to rest must have been an off day because I would highly recommend every other dish .

1  Thank Frequentholidayer_11
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a resteraunt resteraunt to save for a special Occasion. We had the taster menu. Beautifully presented and wonderful to taste. Great service from the waitress. The only disappointment was a group of 8 males came in whilst we were eating they were very...More

Thank Mike D
mrsallium, Owner at simply allium, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello there, firstly I'm delighted you enjoyed everything but your fellow guests on Thursday night. During Cheltenham Cup week, we occasionally do get a rowdier than normal table letting off steam after a days racing, but this is not the norm for us! I didn't...More

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not sure what to expect as there are some mixed reviews but we were not disappointed. The welcome was warm, the service was attentive without being over the top and the food was amazing. Even without the Travelzoo voucher it is good value for money.A...More

Thank steph t
Reviewed March 12, 2013

1st time here for me and i have to say the food was excellent , i had 3 courses and 2 tasters all for £25, good value. my only moan is they don't sell any lagers, bottle or draft.

Thank Jonathan37
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Colosseo Ristorante Fairford
220 reviews
.01 miles away
The Railway Inn Fairford
58 reviews
.39 miles away
7a Coffee Shop
86 reviews
.06 miles away
The Coffee Post
16 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St. Mary's Church
55 reviews
.07 miles away
Arlington Row
519 reviews
4.22 miles away
Cotswold Watersports
14 reviews
1.31 miles away
Bibury Trout Farm
449 reviews
4.36 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
$31 - $63
Good for
Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place No 1 London Street, Fairford GL7 4AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Fairford
  • Phone Number: +44 1285 712200
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing