We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
15-21 Clarence Street | Wetherspoon, Cheltenham GL50 3JL, England (Formerly The Bank House)
+44 1242 240940
Website
Today
7:00 am - 1:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 7:00 am - 12:00 am
Fri - Sat 7:00 am - 1:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 230: English reviews
WEST YORKS
Level Contributor
957 reviews
644 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2017

This is the smarter of the two Wetherspoons in the town and it is smartly decorated inside. There was the usual selection of well priced beers and there was a good choice of local beers. The staff were friendly and this was a pleasant place to pass a hour.

Helpful?
Thank ANDY K
BankHouseChelteham, Manager at The Bank House, responded to this review

Dear ANDY K, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. What a lovely review! I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us at The Bank House and will pass your comments on to the team. I hope to see you return for another visit in the near future. Many thanks, The... More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2017

tables not clean far too busy with not enough staff.would not eat there and did not see any food come from the kitchen.ok for a drink only in my opinion

Helpful?
Thank martin b
BankHouseChelteham, Manager at The Bank House, responded to this review

Dear martin b, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am sorry to hear this time we did not hit the mark, we agree drinks are great here, but so is the food! Our kitchen is actually located upon the third floor away from the customer area, so food wouldn't be able to be... More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2017

Visited here on Saturday, pub not too busy, but only one serving so took a while. Placed food order and it came very quickly, then we found out why, chips on one place rather cold, garlic bread under cooked and cool. No one came to enquire if everything was ok and we were so hungry that we did eat it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BristolProbey
BankHouseChelteham, Manager at The Bank House, responded to this review

Dear BristolProbey, Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. I am sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience this time. We will review your comments regarding your experience and discuss possibilities to improve so that this situation does not happen again, and you receive the quality and standards you expect from Wetherspoon!... More 

kent
Level Contributor
551 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Firstly I tried to gain access via one door and found it locked, same again at the second (it is a wide pub!!!) and finally found a third door open. This is a two-floor pub and from the ground floor you can look up through a huge hole in the floor to the upper floor. The clientele were sadly not... More 

Helpful?
Thank sabatinitennis
BankHouseChelteham, Manager at The Bank House, responded to this review

Dear sabatinitennis, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us here at The Bank House. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and the speed and efficiency of the service! It is always lovely to hear positive feedback on our teams efforts. Regarding the doors, the main entrance is the far left of... More 

devon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2017

Not to busy on New Year's Eve, great to people watch. Nicely lit so not to dark, bit slow at the bar but that's due to lack of staff. Thoroughly enjoyable night

Helpful?
Thank ellendown
BankHouseChelteham, Manager at The Bank House, responded to this review

Dear ellendown, Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us here at The Bank House. We hope to see you return to The Bank House in the near future. Kind regards, The Management Team More 

Hayling Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

Typical wetherspoons pub cheap and cheerful, just popped in for a night cap on the way home. Nice table and chairs area just outside for smokers. Pub staff where very friendly and helpful, some interesting characters in there as always with a wetherspoons pub was quite fun. Generally clean and tidy but was quiet.

Helpful?
Thank Helen D
BankHouseChelteham, Manager at The Bank House, responded to this review

Dear Helen D, Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. I am glad to hear you had a good experience with us here at The Bank House. I will pass on your wonderful comments to our team, as it is lovely to have the recognition of our hard-working staff. We would love to see you... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

The girl that served my husband was miserable got the order wrong.didnt put the order right out of goodwill we had to pay the difference!! The food came out quickly slightly better service from the waitress delivering the food.it was our disabled sons birthday so marred it

Helpful?
Thank murphymirage
BankHouseChelteham, Manager at The Bank House, responded to this review

Dear Peter C, Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. I am sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience this time. We will review your comments regarding your experience and discuss possibilities to improve so that this situation does not happen again, and you receive the quality and standards you expect from... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2016 via mobile

Really nice venue with plenty of space and plenty of seating. Drinks prices very good but the down side is the time it takes to get served. Not enough staff working behind the bar. Having worked behind bars myself I can't understand why they don't set up more stations for the staff to prepare drinks at. It seems to me... More 

Helpful?
Thank kinger1234
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2016 via mobile

Dirty, understaffed shambles. Bar swimming in beer, covered in dirty glasses and food dishes. No staff to serve - poorest Wetherspoon pub I've been to in years

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
BankHouseChelteham, Manager at The Bank House, responded to this review

Dear Peter C, Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. I am sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience this time. Unfortunately the Christmas period is a very hectic time for us here at The Bank House. We try our best to ensure standards are met, but it is possible for there... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2016

I used to come here a lot on a Sunday for lunch as the food and bar prices are cheap plus there are some really good deals. However it has gone downhill lately. They seem to run out of everything. There is always a long wait at the bar even on a quiet day because there is never enough staff.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tania-Baglady E

Travelers who viewed The Bank House also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Television, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
7:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
7:00 am - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15-21 Clarence Street | Wetherspoon, Cheltenham GL50 3JL, England (Formerly The Bank House)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Cheltenham
  • Phone Number: +44 1242 240940

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bank House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?