We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cuckmere Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Exceat Bridge, Seaford BN25 4AB, England
+44 1323 892247
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good20%
  • Average15%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible27%
Travelers talk about
“cuckmere valley” (19 reviews)
“sit outside” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Exceat Bridge, Seaford BN25 4AB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a table for 3 on New Years Day as we walked from Seaford which is over three miles away. Thank goodness we did, anyone without a reservation was being turned away on a Bank Holiday when lots of people were looking for a...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Linda S
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cuckmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Linda, Thanks for taking the time to leave such a detailed review - it's comments from guests such as yourself which helps us to identify areas for improvement, so thank you. From reading your comments, it's clear we didn't get it quite right, so...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited with friends for lunch over Xmas, 14 of us in all. Had been previously and had a decent enough experience, but this was truly shambolic. Perhaps short staffed, not sure, but a really dreadful experience. The food was not very nice, service virtually non...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank StonioBonio
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cuckmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Stoniobonio, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ever since our last visit to this Inn I have wanted to go back. We had the opportunity to do this just after Christmas 2018. When we arrived the place was quite quiet, so we wondered if we had needed to book at all. Oh...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jenjo018
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cuckmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback following your recent visit to us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, The management team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for a lovely long dog walk and decided to turn up on a busy Sunday afternoon without booking. They found us a table for 9 of us! even tho they were super busy, staff were great, the children had activity sheets which kept...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank CharlotteC1737
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cuckmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Charlotte, Thank you so much for your lovely review; it’s very much appreciated. It’s always very humbling to receive such a review and have shared your comments with the team for them to see. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Crayons...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came in for drink and snack. Not impressed. Surly staff. Slow service. Had to complain about chicken blt as not a lot of chicken and raw looking bacon. Ordered desserts which took ages. Eton mess was all cream very little meringue or fruit. Asked for...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Julie C
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cuckmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Julie, Thank you for taking time to leave a review following your recent visit. Having read your comments, we are very disappointed that your experience wasn’t a positive one and for that we offer our apologies. We have shared your comments with the team...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was really nice but what was disappointing was that they simply didn’t have enough staff. There were two front of house employees and three serving staff. There was no waiting service, all food and drinks had to be ordered at the bar. I waited...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank darren7070
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cuckmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Darren7070, we appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve. Boxing day proved to be a rather challenging one for us, due to circumstances we did run the day with less team than anticipated, this left us with no...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food actually tasty but delays in service terrible. Even Creme brûlée took 40 minutes. We had duck and sea bass which were fine. But took over 1 hour to arrive

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Brianfj
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cuckmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Brian, We’re sorry to hear this; please accept our apologies. Your experience isn’t typical of our usual high standards and would encourage you to revisit where we’re confident of a much better experience.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very pleasantly surprised offering value for money.Service and food were excellent and we felt like valued customers from the moment we arrived.As a result we would have no hesitation in booking again for next Xmas.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Andy444546
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cuckmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Andy444546, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit. We hope to see you next christmas. Team Cuckmere.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here for lunch before going up to the Seven Sisters and honestly, I can't be more happy to review this place! The food was delicious and priced very well at 13.85 pounds. I am not too sure if it is normal for a "beer...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank journeywithsteven
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cuckmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Journeywithsteven, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! I will be sure to pass them onto the team. On reviewing your pictures it seems you was served a half pint of beer not a pint, Please except my apologies for any mix...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were very impressed by the effort that was put into the service and would definitely come here again. The food was well presented in good quantity and quality. We were made very welcome on arrival and any queries were dealt with and resolved immediately...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank russellsG7929EW
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Cuckmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi russellsG7929EW, What can we say other than “thank you”?! We are delighted with your comments and have shared them with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
The Avondale
105 reviews
1.79 miles away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
777 reviews
2.23 miles away
The White Lion Hotel
90 reviews
2.23 miles away
The Star at Alfriston
300 reviews
2.40 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Plough and Harrow
528 reviews
1.59 miles away
Litlington tea gardens
173 reviews
1.66 miles away
The Grumpy Chef
342 reviews
1.87 miles away
Front Room
378 reviews
1.83 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Seven Sisters Country Park
1,152 reviews
1.09 miles away
Alfriston Clergy House
246 reviews
2.34 miles away
Farmers Market East Dean
8 reviews
2.89 miles away
Driftwood Garden East Sussex
86 reviews
2.97 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
stellacross2
December 31, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from lueesec | Reviewed this property |
Yes they have a vegan menu lots of choice, but it’s gone right down hill lately, and our food came out covered in feta.
0
Votes
Dave B
December 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from jaw1122 | Reviewed this property |
I don’t know I don’t work at the Cuckmere Inn?? Suggest you ring them .
0
Votes
joanaod
November 20, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from jaw1122 | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Free Off-Street Parking, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Exceat Bridge, Seaford BN25 4AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Seaford
  • Phone Number: +44 1323 892247
Description
The Cuckmere Inn in Seaford is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing