We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wellington

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, European, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
33 Steyne Road | Seaford, Seaford BN25 1HT, England
+44 1323 899517
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 67: English reviews
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited the welly for tapas evening last Thursday. We often travel to Spain so we know a bit about tapas. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced at 3 dishes for a tenner. On the strength of this we took my old mum to the welly for a family celebration of her 94th birthday. Again excellent food served piping... More 

3 Thank Michael A
Wigan, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited at Easter weekend, in seaford visiting family - very last minute plan to eat out and delighted that the wellington could accommodate. However - wish we hadn't bothered - I chose sausage and mash - the sausage was cold and mash lumpy, my husband went for the trumpster burger - which was soggy tasteless and he couldn't eat... More 

Thank Joanne2809
Rosetta S S, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Joanne2809 Thank you for your review. I am sorry you appear to have had a bad experience at The Wellington but i am also dissapointed that you as in your words, you "couldnt be bothered to wait to complain" at the time of your visit so we could react in a professional manner and instead have used your time to... More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here recently with friends , I ordered the ham egg and chips for £9.50 it comes with peas. And my partner ordered the melania burger £9.90 The eggs I asked to be cooked over cooked they came out snotty and runny, and the chips were hard, the ham was cheap and a low grade type ham. The Burger... More 

Thank sargepants
Rosetta S S, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very concerned by your review though and that your points are only becoming known to us via Tripadvisor. Can i kindly ask when you visited The Wellington ?? Also can i ask if you made your views known to a member of staff at the time and if so do you know the... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited the pub last weekend for Easter, the staff were rude , the food was cold , not even cold as in been waiting to be served but the steak and ale pie was cold inside , not cooked properly, the waitress we spoke to was rude and in apologetic, The pub is quaint serves good ale, the menu... More 

2 Thank coohee123
Rosetta S S, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are however very concerned by your points raised about any rude staff and also unsatifasfactory items of food as we were not aware of these until your post on Tripadvisor. Can i ask what day and time you visited The Wellington over Easter ?? Also did you make your concerns over your Steak &... More 

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was beautifully presented and cooked. Nice to have something different in a veggie choice and good menu. Tea served in a pot with jug of milk - always a plus! The men enjoyed the beers and choice of them.

Thank Jacky C
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived in Seaford fairly late, so we were happy to find an open table at The Wellington. The service was good & everyone was friendly. The pub has a nice atmosphere. We ordered fish & chips and we were very happy with our choice! I would recommend this restaurant to other couples/families staying in Seaford.

Thank PortCityAnna
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was staying in the area with friends and was recommended this place by them. The pub has a very nice atmosphere and very friendly staff and customers. We all decided to eat while here. I opted for the veggie roast. It was very good (although couple more roast potatoes would've been welcomed). Friends had the burgers and also was... More 

Thank Davy T
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night, the room was lovely although suffered from the smokers congregated below outside the front door of the pub. The food on the other hand was awful. Chewy roast beef, Paxo stuffing, wet slippery roast potatoes and the Yorkshire pudding was like a bit of rubber.

Thank N C
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in Seaford with a relation for a few days. Was attracted to the Tapas evening on a Thursday which was excellent value and superb food. Enjoyed it so much that we went back on Saturday night. Also went for Sunday lunch, the roasts were excellent (so I was told by my wife and her mother) I couldn't resist the... More 

Thank Sockbucket
Windsor And Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2017

Enormous choice of real ales, all kept well and with good descriptions.Food is good with very generous portions , and decor is ok too. There is accomodation available at reasonable prices and the staff are friendly and helpful.The ladies Loo is a tight squeeze!

Thank mandyofart

Travelers who viewed The Wellington also viewed

Seaford, East Sussex
Seaford, East Sussex
Seaford, East Sussex

Been to The Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Bar, British, European, Pub
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Steyne Road | Seaford, Seaford BN25 1HT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Seaford
  • Phone Number: +44 1323 899517

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Wellington and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Wellington staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?