We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hoof

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
We are a burger and steak restaurant in Rye serving beef and potatoes from our own farm, just four miles away. We also serve awesome FreakShakes. These babies have to be seen (and sampled) to be believed!
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
British
FEATURES
Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveler rating
537
165
57
22
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
537
165
57
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courgette fries burger beef ribs brownie chilli ice cream pudding prawns a great evening lovely atmosphere starters tyson ella grace buns milkshakes
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

A great place for carnivores like us - really tasty lamb and beef ! The two areas for improvement - the restaurant is very warm in this hot weather; and how come there is no decaff coffee on offer ?!

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely restaurant and really nice steak. Reasonable priced as well. Service was great. Nice location. Kids loved the dessert

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Haddock burger had nice piece of fish but… Limited dressing on plate. Barely any salad with looked unexciting the eat. Quality good but presentation and enough food not great Starters barely cooked pale and rubbery Wished the music could have changed too loud and intrusive...after a while Service included on the bill for a quick bite on a sticky table not very impressiveMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Back again for the first time in something like five years, and nothing's really changed: superb food, locally sourced where possible and impeccable service, all in an historic setting. I'd recommend booking in advance: I did and was glad as the place was comfortably rammed...(if that's possible !) If you're visiting Rye, a meal here is a must.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Last minute booking , wonderful food had halloumi and chicken wings and steak and ribs , food and service was too a very high standard, really think they should sell the chilli jam !! But said they are too busy So worth a visit ,...exceptional restaurantMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We loved our visit to Hoof - we stumbled upon it on Instagram, and do not regret the vast amount of calories we’d consumed! Really flavourful burgers in an intimate setting, as well as great service. Lovely puddings as well for pigging out!

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ate here for dinner. Wish I’d looked at earlier reviews. Food is sparse on the plate. Service was poor. Had to ask 3 to 4 times for pretty much everything, including plates to eat a sharing stater which one would have thought would be basic...training, my daughter’s starter, water etc albeit they were prompt with the bill! Steaks nice but not cooked as requested. Daughter asked for medium and it was rare. All in all very disappointed and we won’t be going again. Rye is blessed with fabulous restaurants so no need to return. Food fine if sparse but service non existent.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HOOF RYE, Marketing at Hoof, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for bringing this to our attention. Unfortunately, we had staff shortages due to illness on the day you visited us. This is not our usual standard at all, and we will feedback this back to the team. With best regards, The Hoof Management...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate there today having done so many times in the past. Something’s changed, my wife’s halloumi was over cooked as was my burger. Also something has changed with the presentation, just the main element and chips, no salad dressing, as a result the plate...arrives looking very stark. DISAPPOINTED.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HOOF RYE, Marketing at Hoof, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We really appreciate the feedback on this and many thanks for bringing this to our attention. Unfortunately, we had staff shortages due to illness on the day you visited us, so were short-staffed in our kitchen. As you will know this is not our usual...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Burgers were just about average, portions small and whilst fries were hot the burgers were only lukewarm. Very disappointing after reading all the good reviews.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HOOF RYE, Marketing at Hoof, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for bringing this to our attention. Unfortunately, we had staff shortages due to illness on the day you visited us. This is not our usual standard at all, and we will feedback this back to the team. With best regards, The Hoof Management...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food at Hoof was absolutely delicious, especially the onion rings! Our waitress, Lily, was really lovely and helpful, and kept updating us on our food timings.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve given this review a 4 as the starters arrived before we’d finished our bread and olives. Also the beef burgers and lamb burgers were cooked bit more than I would have liked. As they are a little thin, maybe just one patty (twice the...size) might be an option to retain the juiciness of the meat. However, the friendliness of the staff is great, the king prawn starter is to ‘die for’ and the bun and fries are perfect. Also, there’s a good selection of wines, all reasonably priced. We paid £68 for bread & olives, 2 starters, 2 burgers, one ice cream and 2 glasses of wine - definitely good value for money.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Hoof after a visit to Camber Sand. Ordered two burgers. They were very tasty, served with a side of fries. Good portion too. With a coke float & a G&T the bill is around £30 including service charge. The dog was welcomed too....What a lovely hidden gem, will definitely be back.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went for dinner this week at hoof and it was AMAZING!!!!! Had halloumi and Camembert for starters and steaks for mains - all absolutely DIVINE!! Highly recommend eating here. And the staff were all so lovely :)

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were a family of four and a baby in a pram. Lovely food. My haddock burger was fresh and tasty, the boys had a burger and ribs that were delicious! My daughter had the halloumi burger and she loved it! The wine was delicious...and reasonably priced and the Service was so friendly and we will Definately return!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner joined on a Sunday night at 8pm (closing time 10pm) we were rudely handed the bill 9:20pm, no asking of we would like a desert, which we planned on getting, it was very evident the staff wanted us to leave. When...we questioned when paying the bill the staff look blanked faced and confused, with little much of an apology. The burgers were nice, but wouldn’t rate them any higher than that of a good pub. Further to this, at 8:30pm we noticed a couple being turned away as the ‘kitchen was closed’ despite closing being 10pm and tables be available in they restaurant. As I said, staff wanted customers to leave and weren’t bothered by customer satisfaction. I wouldn’t recommend this restaurant, very overrated.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Mermaid Inn
1,710 reviews
.05 miles away
The George in Rye
1,781 reviews
.10 miles away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
1,065 reviews
.11 miles away
The Regent, Rye
83 reviews
.12 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tatner's Street Kitchen
115 reviews
.10 miles away
Mahdi Lounge
182 reviews
.08 miles away
Simply Italian
1,586 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Mary's Parish Church
799 reviews
.13 miles away
Rye Heritage Centre
409 reviews
.09 miles away
Mermaid Street
100 reviews
.06 miles away
Lamb House
255 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Amy L
August 27, 2021|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from B2438TQjanetc | Reviewed this property |
No parking at the restaurant but car parks nearby
0
Votes
Jason W
August 30, 2020|
Answer
Response from Paul B | Reviewed this property |
Yes you do
0
Votes
connieb381
November 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sianajones01 | Reviewed this property |
Doubt it - it’s a burger restaurant!
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hoof

Yes, Hoof is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Hoof is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5