We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Newmarket Inn Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
A27 Brighton Road, Lewes, England
+44 1273 470021
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2017

The restaurant was quiet when we were there but the welcome was very warm and the staff were very friendly. Carvery as well as a traditional pub menu, the all day breakfast is excellent. Not expensive and worth a visit. Plenty of parking.

Helpful?
Thank JC1LondonEngland
The_Newmarket_Inn, Manager at Newmarket Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Newmarket and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming here again in the future. Many thanks again kindest regards More 

Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2016

Popped in this evening (30/11/16) to meet a friend for a coffee.........and both had a carvery. Service and welcome from male member of staff was excellent and a credit to the establishment 10/10............. The food was most welcome and well cooked, all in all a good experience, well done all. Shame some of the other reviewers don't share my views,

Helpful?
Thank b2nun
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

First impression when we went in was lovely cosy place! Until we ! had our food my partner had turkey and ham pie with dried up peas The pie sauce was tasteless and watery with square cubes of Turkey and ham my partner was not eating it I tried a cube of ham it tasted rancid I asked the waitor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steven J
The_Newmarket_Inn, Manager at Newmarket Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

We are sorry you didnt enjoy your visit. We are renowned for our food and find your review a little puzzling as we sold out of our turkey pie and yours was the only complaint we received ,all other comments were positive. We are sorry again and ask you not to write us out of the picture altogether and hope... More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2016

I enjoyed food and the service was very good, I only gave it 4 as the outside needs a bit of a tidy up and its not made very clear where to enter and would they had coped if more customers had been there. Would revisit as I did enjoy the food.

Helpful?
Thank 797Colin2013
The_Newmarket_Inn, Manager at Newmarket Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to right us a lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your food when you visited us . We have taken your other comments on board and are acting on them . Kindest regards More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2016

Had a carvery here and it was revolting. Meat was dry. Sides were awful. Everything that can be wrong with a roast went wrong. Cauliflower cheese, what's the point, it tasted like water in yellow soup. Potatoes were the opposite of what they should be: soft on the outside, hard on the inside. Crackling for the pork was not even... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christy I
The_Newmarket_Inn, Manager at Newmarket Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Firstly we are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. We have an excellent reputation for our food which is displayed on many media sites and find it a little strange that your experience was so bad having said that if you had voiced your grievances whilst you were visiting The Newmarket we could have acted on them and possibly offered... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2016

Food (breakfast) very good, didn't have carvery as we were eating out but again looked good and value for money. Staff were friendly enough the bar/restaurant lacked atmosphere. The rooms were good but the decor looked tired.

Helpful?
Thank Laurence G
Brighton, East Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2016

So, we heard that the `Newmarket' was under new management...again! We thought we would drive out for an early dinner, midweek and fancied a roast. We used to be regulars here but it has had so mu]any ups and downs. We went in, full of anticipation, to no atmosphere at all. We opted for the Kingsize carvery after being told... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mimi0123
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit. We are a little puzzled about your review, all our meat if fresh and renewed a few times during service also the vegetables are topped up frequently. The crackling there wasn't any because during the week we serve gammon and on a Sunday we serve... More 

brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2016

not worth trying if you like tasty food tried the veg had no taste only pork no crackling or turkey will not be it going again has gone back to the old days

Helpful?
Thank rod s
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are sorry your visit wasn't a good one. Firstly we are a little perplexed about the remark about there being no turkey we always have three meats on everyday right up until the end of service!! Unfortunately we can only get so much crackling from 1 piece of pork and at the time you... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

Well, the food was okay, eventually. But it took about 30 minutes after seating to get our food ordered, and then after we had finished, almost an hour to have our plates cleared. Then a further 15 minutes to asked if we would like dessert. I commented on how long we had been waiting, and wasn't offered an apology, just... More 

Helpful?
Thank DJ D
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

We are sorry your visit to The Newmarket wasn't an enjoyable one . This isn't an excuse but we were rather busy on the day you visited and the waiting time was a little longer than usual but with all due respect not as long as you have mentioned. We have discussed this with all our staff and apologies were... More 

Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,141 reviews
854 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2016

If you need a meal travelling past Brighton and don't want to go in to Brighton then this is a good option. (I couldn't think of another reason for driving here when you have pubs in Pyecombe and Rodmell close by) . They are basically a carvery and the food is reasonable, well priced and served by efficient friendly staff.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LargelyMonk
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we are always pleased when people do this Our carvery is very popular so is our accommodation and we do have a lot of walkers and people riding their bikes along the South Downs way who stop here either for a meal or a nights stay. Thank you again Regards More 

Travelers who viewed Newmarket Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Lewes, East Sussex
 
Lewes, East Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Newmarket Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$14
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: A27 Brighton Road, Lewes, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Lewes
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 470021
  • This restaurant is at Newmarket Inn

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Newmarket Inn Restaurant and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Newmarket Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?