We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cafe Rouge Brighton Lanes

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
24 Prince Albert Street, Brighton BN1 1HF, England
+44 1273 774422
Website
Today
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 428: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2017

We visited on New Years Day for lunch. Food was average, which for the price charged was not great. Staff were not friendly, wouldn't recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Chris_Nick_On_Tour
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton Lanes, responded to this review

We take pride in everything we do including the service we offer, so are disappointed to learn of your recent experience with us with average food and unfriendly service. We would like to take this opportunity to look into your visit further and provide a more appropriate and personal response. If you would permit us to do so additional details... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2017

We went in on New Years Morning and chose a cream tea off of the menu, coffee came, no scone, scone came no jam, jam came no clotted cream,crime fraise turned up, but still no clotted cream...the worst if there could be such a thing? None of the staff gave a damn

Helpful?
Thank Andy P
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton Lanes, responded to this review

Thank you Andy for your feedback - as disappointing as it is read we are grateful you have taken the time and care to let us know. It is clear we have fallen short on this occasion we we take pride in everything we do including the service we offer. We would like to take this opportunity to look into... More 

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2017

This was a couple of days after Christmas but mid-week and still in 'holiday time', so can only assume they were short of staff. Reception at the door and to get a seat was slow. Seated but told there ws a shortage of menus, but given the wine list 'That old chestnut'. Orders finally taken . Offerd someone elses's order... More 

Helpful?
Thank vantashtik
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton Lanes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and care to review your recent visit with us - we take pride in everything we do including the service we offer so are disappointed to hear of your experience. We would like to take this opportunity to look into your visit further and provide a more appropriate and personal response. If you would... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

Visiting my grandmother in Brighton today we fancied something quick and tasty for lunch. Café rouge is my favourite chain. The service was efficient but friendly. The food was tasty albeit according to my grandmother too big( You should do OAP portions). The staff all seemed really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We'll be back!!

Helpful?
Thank Zoe C
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton Lanes, responded to this review

Thanks Zoe for taking the time to review your recent visit - great to hear you enjoyed your meals and were well looked after by the team. Thanks once again, we do hope to see you again when you are next in Brighton. Best wishes More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

I had lovely lunch on Wednesday with my son in Cafe Rouge in the Lanes. Our food was delicious and staff was very friendly. Definitely we will come back.

Helpful?
Thank klaudia1979
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton Lanes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the opportunity to let us know of your recent visit - we are happy to hear this was a good visit and you both were well looked after by the team. Thanks again for letting us know, we do hope to see you again soon. Best wishes More 

2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

We went to Cafe Rouge for lunch.Lovely food,lovely staff and lovely atmosphere.Staff made you feel really welcome and service was good.Very tasty dishes.Would recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Eva N
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton Lanes, responded to this review

Thank you Eva for your great review and your recommendation. All the team at CR Brighton Lanes will be delighted, as we all are of course. Thanks once again for taking the time to let us know, it is always great to hear when we get things right. Best wishes More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

We popped in for a post shopping drink. After being shown to a table, I told the waiter we'd just be having drinks to which he mumbled "I give you my best table and you're just having drinks". As we left (obviously without ordering), I informed the waiter that we didn't want to "waste" his "best table". In a location... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter P
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Brighton Lanes, responded to this review

Thank you Peter for your feedback. I understand that you are not happy. Firstly, it’s clear that we have fallen short on this occasion. We take pride in everything we do including the service we offer, I’m really sorry to learn that you did not feel this to be up to standards and left unhappy with your visit. We would... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2016 via mobile

This little place was our destination for a bite of breakfast cum lunch one Saturday. We both ordered the Rouge vegetarian breakfast and were not dissapointed. A busy little place at this time of day, but the food when it arrived after not a long wait was delicious and hot. Nice decor and good staff, just made it all the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark D
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2016

Very much enjoyed the 2 courses for £12.95. The pate starter was very enjoyable, steak and frites were lovely. Cosy atmosphere. Great friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank haffy45
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile

As the title suggests, the experience was just average. I guess a three is too harsh, but a four would be too much. Nothing was bad, maybe it just didn't meet our expectations. We had the lamb shank, and beef Bourguignon. Both tasty, just needed a little more finesse. Wouldn't rule out returning, just would be a few other places... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClockWatcher16

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge Brighton Lanes also viewed

 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Cafe Rouge Brighton Lanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$68
Cuisine
French, European, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 Prince Albert Street, Brighton BN1 1HF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 774422
Description
Brighton Lanes, in the historic quarter, is a labyrinth of winding alleyways. Located just a stone's throw from Brighton beach and the Royal Pavilion, this quaint area is bursting with history, shops and places to eat. Soak up the atmosphere of The Lanes at Café Rouge. With a great location just minutes away from the seafront, it's the perfect place to grab a meal after working up an appetite enjoying all that Brighton has to offer.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cafe Rouge Brighton Lanes and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Hove

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Rouge Brighton Lanes staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?