We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bartholomew Square | Bartholomew Square, Brighton BN1 1JS, England
+44 1273 719195
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

570 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 552: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

One expects the fish selected for sushi to be devoid of sinew, in order to ensure a soft, unctuous mouthful. Sadly the fat lines and poor trimming of both the tuna and mackerel enhanced the meal if one wanted a built-in dental floss. It takes 7 years to become qualified as a sushi chef. There was zero artistry here today.

Helpful?
1 Thank hannahmc8
Chard
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The restaurant needs redecorating, it looks sad and dirty inside. Nearly walked back out but sat and had a drink. Disappointed by choice and lack of flavour in my noodle dish. I love Japanese food but can cook better dishes at home. We were also overcharged for our meal so just check they have your plates correct. They rectified the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah F
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ordered a delivery - some vegan sushi and miso soup. The sushi was great, but the soup was a bit too salty for us. Also, it would ve nice if hot and cold food is packed in different bags as one of the sushi boxes was quite warm. Still the sushi was amazing, so will order/visit again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Reny B
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First visit to Moshimo, and had just signed up for a membership card to take advantage of the 50% off your food bill Mondays/Tuesdays. Expected it to be fairly busy due to this offer, but we arrived a little before the dinner rush so we got a seat straight away. Took a while for our order to be taken, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linx H
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thank you, Linx. I'm glad the manager was able to sort things out for you... and, yes, please come again soon. All the best, Nicky co-owner More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First of all, id like to say that I am a huge Moshimo fan and visit most weeks. The sushi is always amazing and definitely the best i've had in the UK anyway. A few negative things i'd like to mention though. I recently decided to go for something new and ordered the yaki soba (i think it was called)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Hannah, I know I have a bit of a reputation for being rather robust in my responses (or "narky" as you call it), but I hope I am only like this with reviews that are inaccurate, fraudulent, punitive or unfair...but your review is none of these, so here goes: Thank you so much for your constructive criticism, Hannah. As I... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Walked in at lunch time expecting to try the food but was horrified by the poor service. The waitress offered us a table with only two chairs although we have a baby with us at the time. So we asked if we can have a bigger table and she finally agreed. However the horrible male manager rushed over straight away... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Fei O
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

So, Fei, you decide to create a TripAdvisor profile to leave this one single, angry, apoplectic review? Did it help? I do hope so, although I doubt it. For our dear readers, may I simply give the facts (seeing as I can't take these unkind reviews off this wonderful site): all our large tables for fours were full at the... More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We really e joyed the food, but thought the portions were too small and bit pricey for the food quality.

Helpful?
2 Thank jo2080
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed our food. In pricing, we're aiming for value for money, but the fact that we've chosen to make most of our food in-house does unfortunately come at a certain cost... ...but did you know that we do a Membership scheme, which gives you 50% your food bill on Mondays and Tuesdays, plus money off plates... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've eaten sushi all over the world - it's generally a safe option and people rarely get it that wrong if you stick to veggie options. Unfortunately Moshimo was very disappointing. I asked for avocado maki because the ones I'd seen on the belt were brown and was told she'd get one off the belt. I asked for a non... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mrs_sqwookin
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

We'd be worried also, if this was your experience! Was it really? Sometimes we do get things wrong (but hopefully not THIS wrong!) and I only wish you had told us when you were here so we could have had the chance to rectify the situation. Why on earth didn't you? I was so alarmed to read your description of... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've been going to this restaurant now for years - it is one of my favourite places to eat. Lunch or dinner..... work every penny in my honest opinion. Plus choice of organic fish and all fish and seafood is responsibly sourced!!! Even if you don't eat fish there is plenty for everyone. The spicy squid and pork belly is... More 

Helpful?
Thank BenJAmin87
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Wow, what a nice review! Thank you so much! Nicky co-owner More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great atmosphere, helpful & friendly staff and delicious, fresh food!! My friends and I always choose Moshimo for our evenings out.

Helpful?
Thank kate3boys
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

That's so nice to know. I'll let the staff see this - they'll be chuffed! Best Nicky co-owner More 

Travelers who viewed Moshimo also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Moshimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$15 - $32
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bartholomew Square | Bartholomew Square, Brighton BN1 1JS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 719195
Description
Moshimo is one of Brighton's most popular restaurants, with a fiercely loyal customer base: 35% of its customers dine at the restaurant at least once a week. They visit regularly because they know the staff, and know how good the food is.The restaurant's 50% MOSHIMO MONDAYS & TUESDAYS, where members receive 50% off their food, is a sell-out. Check the restaurant out in the summer, when the entire front of the restaurant dramatically slides open like a shoji screen.Moshimo is behind FISHLOVE, the global photographic campaign to end over-fishing, has received a PETA award for its promotion of restorative eating, and its homemade teriyaki sauce is a sensation.......but don't it from us - go to our Facebook page to see what our regulars have to say.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Moshimo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?