We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bartholomew Square | Bartholomew Square, Brighton BN1 1JS, England
+44 1273 719195
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

526 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 513: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A favourite Japanese restaurant in a great location and with many vegetarian and vegan options. The vegetarian tempura and the Aubergine dengaku with a delicious sweet miso sauce are great starter options. The real star dish for me was the Vegan duck teriyaki, absolutely delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Sandeep R
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Hi there, it's great you liked our vegetarian and vegan menu, which is growing all the time. We're even thinking of introducing a special day when all of the food on the conveyor belt will be vegan, so watch this space! All the best, and come again soon, Nicky co-owner More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is my go to restaurant for fast food that is delicious every time. The hot dishes are terrific - I love the beef - and the sushi and sashimi are fresh and beautifully presented. The staff are friendly and helpful. I am only sorry the have stopped their (non Japanese) desserts which have always been a great sweet treat.

Helpful?
Thank AdrienneH47
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Hi Adrienne, thanks for this. Yes, we've stopped our desserts for the time being, but have you tried our ice cream filled mochi? Or our famous tempura ice cream? Stay well and happy, Best Nicky co-owner More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to this restaurant over 30 times, always delivers, menu frequently improved, staff always so nice, eat at the bar on stools or at the tables, always plenty of choice

Helpful?
1 Thank DutchDuke37
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

And long may you keep coming! Write again soon, All the best, Nicky co-owner More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were here for my friend's hen do and we all agreed (sushi lovers and first timers) that the food was absolutely delicious! Great sharing platters to get us started plus generous jugs of interesting (in a good way) cocktails. Lovely decor and lighting too

Helpful?
1 Thank Ella O
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Ella, what a nice review! Thank you so much for writing in, it makes all the hard work worth it! All the best, Nicky co-owner More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've eaten here a few times, lovely food, very good value at a sunday lunchtime, all the small dishes cost a couple of pounds each and friendly staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank BlueMcSquish
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - and just so that you know, Sunday lunch becomes even cheaper if you become a MOSHIMO member (which entitles you to take all plates from the conveyor belt for £1.60 rather than £1.90, as well as 50% on your food bill on Mondays and Tuesdays Too). Hope to see you again soon! Nicky co-owner More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent restaurant, lovely food and friendly staff. Never been in a Japanese restaurant before or eaten sushi, but the staff were very helpful and there was some delicious pickled ginger on the table which was free. The meal was a very reasonable price and the place was packed, which must be quite unusual for a lot of restaurants on a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank patricia423
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Hi Patricia, we're very fortunate indeed to have so many incredibly loyal and regular customers who come again and again and again - I was thinking only yesterday, walking through the busy restaurant, how lucky we are with the type of people who come and dine with us. Hope you come again soon! Nicky co-owner More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really good restaurant, great atmosphere, delicious food at amazing prices. Incredible staff who don't keep you waiting and are extremely helpful and welcoming. A Special mention to our waiter Bora for the fantastic service! Will definitely be coming back soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank emmabriant
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thank you, Emma. Bora was really pleased to be mentioned in your review. It's a great encouragement to our staff to be acknowledged like this, so thank you! NIcky co-owner More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Moshimo has such a legendary reputation in Brighton that I was tempted back a second time, despite my first dining experience at Moshimo being let down by the poor food quality. Unfortunately the food was the same the second time around and its so disappointing! Team Moshimo, please take note! The sushi I ordered on both occasions was pretty bland,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travel_Dan_1980
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Hi Dan, I've tried to get hold of you to get more details of your visit, but alas you have not responded. If only you had talked to us when you were here! If anything was indeed wrong we could have sorted it straight away. One of the good things about being an independent stand-alone restaurant is that the owners... More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great, fresh, tasty Japanese! There is a great selection on the train and a big menu too. We went for dinner and we greater and served very quickly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellebenjamin89
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking to trouble to write. The freshness of our food is thanks to our local farmers and fishermen, who deliver our fish from the South Coast, Japanese vegetables from Lewes, and our meat from just beyond the A27... Thank you! Nicky co-owner More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016 via mobile

The service was good and the food too good. Would have liked to have understood the menu better. Maybe pictures like 'Go Sushi' and servers offer assistance. The join the club deal £18 was a bargain, if I lived in Brighton would defiantly go there often.

Helpful?
Thank Tim R
MOSHIMO, Owner at Moshimo, responded to this review

Thank you, Tim. Good idea about the menu: I'm going to work on that next! Come again soon, Nicky co-owner More 

Travelers who viewed Moshimo also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Moshimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$16 - $33
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Gluten Free
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Delivery
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bartholomew Square | Bartholomew Square, Brighton BN1 1JS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 719195
Description
Moshimo is one of Brighton's most popular restaurants, with a fiercely loyal customer base: 35% of its customers dine at the restaurant at least once a week. They visit regularly because they know the staff, and know how good the food is.The restaurant's 50% MOSHIMO MONDAYS & TUESDAYS, where members receive 50% off their food, is a sell-out. Check the restaurant out in the summer, when the entire front of the restaurant dramatically slides open like a shoji screen.Moshimo is behind FISHLOVE, the global photographic campaign to end over-fishing, has received a PETA award for its promotion of restorative eating, and its homemade teriyaki sauce is a sensation.......but don't it from us - go to our Facebook page to see what our regulars have to say.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Moshimo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?