We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar

199 Kings Road Arches | The Fishing Quarter Brighton Beach, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
+44 1273 958242
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good18%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“shellfish” (44 reviews)
“cockles” (32 reviews)
“fresh seafood” (22 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast Food, British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
DETAILS
199 Kings Road Arches | The Fishing Quarter Brighton Beach, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 30 of 232 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2016

Upon recommendations I stopped by the stall for lunch, I had a prawn sandwich, mixed seafood and shell on prawns. The prawns were delicious, very fresh and lovely to relax with the simple sea view surroundings. The prices were very reasonable considering how much some...More

Thank Emma F
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. Please come back soon Regards Cliff

Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

This fishstand is something above the ordinary. We bought a bottle of Court Garden Sparkling wine from Ten Green Bottles and went down to this beach "restaurant". Its like a small stand with counters with a variaty of seafood, squids, lobster, crayfish, prawns etc specially...More

1  Thank Per F
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

I remember you very well. Thank you for leaving such a great review. Please , do come back to see us very soon Regards Cliff

Reviewed September 7, 2016

Lovely little fresh seafood hut with the freshest and most delicious seafood bites going. The fresh local lobster is simply awesome. Enjoy stopping by to this friendly little find whilst strolling the beach front lower promenade, you won't regret it (if you love seafood)! P.S....More

Thank DiveSailSkiTrek
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review & for mentioning some of the delicious items we offer. The local lobster is always prepared by me personally. I am glad you liked it. Regards Cliff

Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

Visited this stall on my first day of my first ever trip to Brighton. Tried the crab and prawn mix which, served with a small melba toast, was really yummy. Am going back again tomorrow for a larger portion! All manner of seafood on the...More

Thank Irenepmi
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to visit us. I am so pleased you liked our crab & prawn mayo. We will be very pleased to see you again & again Regards Cliff

Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

Shared half a dozen gorgeous Jersey oysters (with homemade lime and chilli sauce) and some extremely tasty fresh crabmeat with the hubby. Utterly perfect!

Thank Georgina C
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We love great reviews Regards Cliff

Reviewed August 31, 2016

Nice location, great and fresh seafood, homemade sauces. Really surprised, everything was delicious and I'm not a raw seafood fan! I will come back.

1  Thank Fiamma33
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a try. We love new customers Regards Cliff

Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

Brilliant oysters,seafood and beach position the place is well worth a visit although it is just a stall on the seafront at the end of the day but the tables and chairs round the back for customers make it fantastic

Thank sharky1999
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

The table & chairs were this years new addition. I am glad you like them. Please come & see us again very soon Regards Cliff

Reviewed August 29, 2016

Nice little seafood booth by the sea offering plenty of choices. The seafood looked fresh and delicious. The service was quick and friendly. Ordered 4 oysters (2 different types) and a lobster tail. The oysters were delicious, yum, however the imitation lobster tail was a...More

Thank pinkysnowflake
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. I am sorry about the imitation lobster tail, but it is what it is & as you say we also offer Fresh lobster portions as well. Maybe next time ! We cook & pick the lobster ourselves & I must...More

Reviewed August 28, 2016

I went to The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar because of the TripAdvisor reviews , but I have to say I was very disappointed. I got a mix , which was tasteless.More

Thank George S
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with your purchase. It would have been nice if you had come back to us , so we could offer you something else in exchange or a refund. We are very nice people & would have been happy to...More

Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

Lovely warm day, cycle along the prom, sat on the beach eating perfectly cooked and fresh seafood. Baby octopus, juicy prawns and crab buns. Pretty much perfect other than the braying idiot on the next table trying to impress his new girlfriend. Still can't have...More

Thank andyt1993
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Love your review, Thank you. I can offer what we hope is always great seafood. Sorry the entertainment on other tables is beyond our control sometimes . Thanks again Cliff

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pho
891 reviews
.10 miles away
Lucky Beach
485 reviews
.03 miles away
Jack and Linda Mills Traditional Fish Smokers
121 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Mechanical Memories Museum
63 reviews
.04 miles away
Artists' Quarter
16 reviews
.04 miles away
Two Kats And A Cow Gallery
6 reviews
.07 miles away
Vivid Palette
6 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
HannahMarie93
Hello, when do you shut for winter please and what are your opening hours?
August 16, 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Cliffbrighton | Property representative |
We are open usually days a week from 10am until 6ish.We close at the end of October until mid February . Sometimes rain stops play . We will tell you on the front page of our website if this occurs. Regards Cliff
1
Vote
Wid36
We are planning a quick half-day day-trip to Brighton from Gatwick airport in mid Dec. Are you open 7 days a week? Would love to try the dressed crab! Thanks
November 7, 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Cliffbrighton | Property representative |
Thanks for getting in touch.but sorry we are now closed for the winter .we return mid February
1
Vote
MacM874
Is the seafoo/fish that you sell caught locally and from sustainable sources?
July 22, 2015|
Answer
Response from Cliffbrighton | Property representative |
We have both local and food from far away places.all are from sustainable sources. I hope this helps Regards Cliff
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 199 Kings Road Arches | The Fishing Quarter Brighton Beach, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 958242
  • E-mail
Description
We are back & going strong already , with reviews flowing. Its the 2017 season & we have added a new product again this year. Come on down to try our excellent fresh filled bread rolls. Favourites, yes we have 2 already: Fresh local lobster with mayo, gherkin with a dusting of cayenne pepper, WOW. Our very own Crab mayo bread roll & a fresh prawn topping is also at the top of the charts.
We have also added more tables on the beach.
Come on down , grab yourself some delicious shellfish & relax overlooking the big blue sea...