We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chaula's

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2-3 Little East Street, Brighton BN1 1HT, England
+44 1273 771661
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 314: English reviews
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

I really love this place in the middle of the Brighton Lanes. Really great vegetarian options, such fresh, perfectly spiced food and really friendly service. I took home lots of my meal because I ordered too much and am looking forward to eating it again tonight!

Helpful?
2 Thank Little Beach B
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've walked past the place 100's of times and never been in, a groupon popped up for a tali lunch and thought we'd try it, something different instead of the usual Italian restaurant which seem to be in every corner of Brighton now, so glad we did, very tasty tali lunch, great value with groupon, we ordered wine and a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleymarcos1
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and its great to hear you enjoyed the food whilst you dined with us, very much appreciated. Your comments will be passed on to the staff. Hope to see you again soon!!! Kind Regards Shallu Rai More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've just got home after lunch with my partner at Chaula's. We had been given a groupon voucher to use as a Christmas present and had decided that we would book a table for today. Easy to book online, although an acknowledgement that the booking had been made would be helpful. I was quite apprehensive having read some of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris0scott
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this review

Chaula's and team would like to thank you for your kind comments, it is very much appreciated!!! Our staff do work extremely hard to make every guest experience an enjoyable and customers feedback such as your make it all "Worthwhile" We are pleased you had a fantastic Lunch and looking forward to welcoming you back to Chaula's very soon!!! Kind... More 

London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2017

We dined here hoping for plenty of gluten free options. We were told the poppadoms were GF, so ate them. Unfortunately, it was either them or the other food being contaminated in the kitchen which had an almost immediate effect leaving me in quite a lot of discomfort. This restaurant clearly does not know what gluten free is. Apart from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Firemunchkin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

We decided to try out Chaulas after walking past the restaurant and taking delight in the smells from the kitchen. The staff were very attentive and made sure that we were happy with our meals. I had a sheek kebab starter followed by Hyderabadi Chicken, while my son has a Chicken Jalfrezi both with lemon rice. From the first bite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

The worst curry I have ever had! Totally over priced! Would never go back. One of the chicken curries tasted of BBQ it was very strange, everything was overly spiced. The quality of the prawns and meat was very poor.

Helpful?
Thank Jade G
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2017 via mobile

I was looking for something different as a takeaway after long journey back to Brighton And find Chaula's on deliveroo. I must stress that it's possible that the restaurant experience may be quite different but I found the takeaway food deeply disappointing. I ordered crispy fish, dal makhani and mutter paneer with some garlic rice. Crispy fish was smothered in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen L
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent experience with Take Away. Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the food experience you had with Chaula's. After carefully investigating the issue you mentioned in the review i am unable to find your order in our records. Moreover, i also checked with deliveroo we not found your order.... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2017

Went to this restaurant on Friday what a lovely reception we got very friendly and lovely and warm as it was freezing outside the food was beautiful really tasty we went with Groupon £14 for two people there was plenty to eat ,I would go again even if I had to pay full price great keep it up Anne Hoggy

Helpful?
Thank Anne H
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this review

Thanks for the super kind words! Really pleased you enjoyed our food and service. Your review will certainly be passed on to the team! Really appreciate you taking the time out to write this and hope to see you again soon!!!! Kind Regards Shallu Rai More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2017

Visited Friday 20th January, Group of four not one nice dish served between us, in fact Worst Indian I've ever had. Restaurant was almost full which made us think must be good as not local. Food resembled slops of which nothing tasted as it should have done, chicken Birani sent back to kitchen as smelt very bad and uneditable, sag... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank KLHH123
chaulap, Owner at Chaula's, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you didn't have an enjoyable experience at our restaurant, however we did take the biryani back and you were not charged for that meal and when asked if you'd like a replacement, you declined. Our staff approached on multiple occasions to ask if the food was alright after the biryani was taken back and there were... More 

Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

We had intended to go elsewhere for dinner on our overnight stay in Brighton but as we absolutely love curry, we decided on Chaulas after a quick Google search of Indian restaurants close to where we were having a drink. Chaulas was within walking distance. First impressions weren't great, the decor was bland and unappealing, the tables were bare wood... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kylie F
chaulap, Owner at Chaula's, responded to this review

As far as we know we have not had any customer who had a complaint or not eaten the food as you have described, all complaints are cross referenced between the staff working on that evening and with management to see where this type of problem has arisen, and this type of problem hasn't arisen. When food is untouched and/or... More 

Travelers who viewed Chaula's also viewed

Lewes, East Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Chaula's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$19 - $31
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Buffet
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2-3 Little East Street, Brighton BN1 1HT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 771661
Description
THE ULTIMATE EXPERIENCE IN TRADITIONAL HOME COOKED GUJARATI AND OTHER INDIAN REGIONAL FOOD.
We began selling our home cooked food from our grocery shop in Lewes. The reaction was so positive that it inspired us to sell fresh, as well as frozen food throughout shops in Sussex and Surrey. We expanded the business and moved to Station Street in Lewes.

Further success inspired us to open
CHAULA'S INDIAN RESTAURANT IN LEWES 2007 AND IN BRIGHTON 2012. We believe that Indian cuisine is a combination of subtle taste. Flavours are as varied as the climate and exotic as the people of India. The appreciation of spices and combination is an acquired art and can only be achieved after many, many years of studied blending, cooking and tasting.

At Chaula's, value our patron's opinions and concerns in the modern day world of health consciousness- our scrumptious food is prepared only with Sunflower Oil that is low cholesterol and freshly ground spices, without the use of artificial flavours and colourings.
WE ONLY USE FRESH CHICKEN AND MEAT. I have worked very hard to perfect this fine art without compromising on taste and authenticity.

We are confident that after sampling our culinary delights you would agree that there is nothing but the best at Chaula's. We take pride in welcoming you again and again.

WE ARE RENOWNED FOR OUR SIGNATURE DISHES.
"THE FOOD OF INDIA, NOT JUST INDIAN FOOD"
We hope you enjoy the experience.

-CHAULA & JANAK

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Chaula's and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Chaula's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?