We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart

2 Cheap Street, Sherborne DT9 3PX, England
+44 1935 817668
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“pie” (9 reviews)
“steak” (12 reviews)
“sunday roast” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Cheap Street, Sherborne DT9 3PX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff are fairly welcoming but it feels a bit cliquey as a stranger. Decor is nice, all looks clean enough but the gents needs sorting, 3rd time I've been there (in over 6 months) and each time it pongs badly. Good beers and wine...More

Thank Templegrafton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The White Hart was refurbished last year and has been very nicely decorated with interesting rooms and a lovely ambience. We (a part of 5) went for Sunday Lunch. We were offered a choice of two roasts of the day and a comprehensive regular menu...More

Thank SurreyHills99
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well, I have nothing to say other Wow, Thankyou so much for an awesome meal, and music night. You were fabulous to our group, who appreciated the extra mile you provided. Good food, service and a great band that gave all round entertainment to all....More

Thank Angela G
Reviewed December 17, 2017

Popped in for a quick drink. They were busy with food and so seating for just a drink was very limited, initially just the high cafe tables and stools to the rear. The main area is furnished as you'd expect of an old building, so...More

1  Thank Gypsy008
Reviewed December 15, 2017 via mobile

Booked the White Hart for dinner for a girls weekend. We had a good meal and unbeknown to us they also had karaoke and disco so we sang and danced till gone 1.15am. Great fun. Really like the refurbishment too, especially the room with all...More

Thank Patsy W
Reviewed December 12, 2017

We had our works', Christmas meal here on Sunday evening. It has recently re-opened after a refurbishment. The rooms are all decorated differently, with lots of personal touches, which makes it interesting. The owners and the staff were very warm and welcoming. Our table had...More

Thank Penny D
White-Hart-Sherb, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Thank you! It's great to hear that we were able to make your works Christmas meal truly special and memorable. We're so happy that you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and décor and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Reviewed November 27, 2017

Had a Sunday night dinner in here and it was fantastic. The pub has a lovely atmosphere and lots of cosy nooks and crannies, the service was welcoming and friendly and the food was reasonably priced and absolutely delicious. The whole pub was incredibly clean...More

Thank Liane G
White-Hart-Sherb, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Thanks for leaving such a fab review! It's great to hear how you enjoyed your meals and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed November 14, 2017

We were in Sherborne today and looking for somewhere to have lunch. Walking past the White Hart I spotted 'Liver and Onions on the menu and I was a lost cause. We are glad we went in. My wife had the Scampi and Chips. The...More

Thank KaneandJules
White-Hart-Sherb, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Thank you for such a great reviews. Ourselves and our team really appreciate it when we receive such great feedback about our food, service and other standards. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed October 8, 2017

Lunch for four on Saturday. Ok menu , probably too many things on it for them all to be any good. Chose baguettes and chips as in a hurry. And didn't think they could be messed up. The food is ok ish nothing special ,just...More

1  Thank s22dan
White-Hart-Sherb, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Firstly I'd like to thank you for leaving a review as feedback is always appreciated. I feel that your comments about our food are somewhat unjust, you haven't mentioned what baguette you had so I cannot comment on the filling but I can assure you...More

Reviewed October 5, 2017

My wife and I had a reservation elsewhere but unfortunately that restaurant had a problem in the kitchen so had to close which meant we had little time to find another so walked up the High street and came across the White Hart and entered...More

Thank RossendaleRed
White-Hart-Sherb, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review! We're so glad that we were able to not only salvage your potentially disastrous evening but also make it great. Your comments about our food our fantastic and we will make sure that...More

PreviousNext
12345621
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Sherborne Hotels
Half Moon Inn
254 reviews
.20 miles away
The Eastbury Hotel
708 reviews
.27 miles away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
562 reviews
1.50 miles away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
160 reviews
4.74 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Tamburino Gold
566 reviews
.24 miles away
The Green
456 reviews
.07 miles away
Vida Comida
267 reviews
.08 miles away
Digby Tap
167 reviews
.28 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sherborne Abbey
571 reviews
.19 miles away
Sherborne Castle
386 reviews
.50 miles away
Sherborne Walks
42 reviews
.30 miles away
Sherborne Old Castle
146 reviews
.51 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
NorthBeck25
October 8, 2015|
Answer
Response from White-Hart-Sherb | Property representative |
Hello, thank you for your enquiry. We have a wide range of traditional English meals on our menu available in the evening such as cod and chips, steak and stout pie, vegetarian chilli and much more. We also run a creative... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Cheap Street, Sherborne DT9 3PX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Sherborne
  • Phone Number: +44 1935 817668
  • E-mail
Description
Set in cosy surroundings, The White Hart is the perfect retreat for those celebrating a special occasion, wanting a leisurely lunch or those just wishing to quench their thirst with our fine selection of drinks. You will find a diverse menu offering high quality traditional British food. The creative special's board and our daily offers using fresh local and seasonal produce ensure our customers return to us time and again. With warm and friendly staff, the whole team look forward to welcoming you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing