We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Engine Room Restaurant

Peverell Avenue W | Poundbury Gardens, Dorchester DT1 3BY, England
+44 1305 257251
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good24%
  • Average19%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible22%
Apr 20, 2017
“Stopped for Coffee and Cake, average service and food”
Mar 9, 2017
“Not brilliant”
Closed Now
All hours
British, Cafe, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Peverell Avenue W | Poundbury Gardens, Dorchester DT1 3BY, England
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Awful please don't waste your money here, it was so bad it was almost comical , dreadful service, who serves salad on a warm plate, wilted leafy was not the idea, and ice cream in warm dishes,, no wonder the place was empty. This is...More

Thank Ruth L
Management response:Responded yesterday

Hello there Thank you for your feedback on both trip advisor and our internal feedback forms. I'm sorry you feel so strongly about your visit and I wish you had enjoyed your experience with us at the Engine Room. I am a little confused by...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Ordered 2 Vegetarian roasts option on Sunday lunch menu, No gravy available. what a let down. Only told when asked where gravy was ! absolutely no effort made to rectify this could not car less.... wont be going againMore

Thank millside109
Management response:Responded 2 days ago

Hello We are so sorry!! You are absolutely right, there usually is vegetarian gravy to go with your roast and you absolutely should have been advised at the time of ordering. I have made the team aware of your feedback when I looked into this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Friends suggested meeting here for lunch. I opted for ham, eggs & wedges, my wife the Mushroom omelette with wedges. The wedges were dry & tasteless as if they had been prepared in bulk several hours before service and then left to be warmed up...More

Thank keithpjenkins
Management response:Responded 2 days ago

Hi there Thanks for your feedback and I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your food. We have discussed the wedges internally and have changed the recipe because we too think they are not coping with the heat. Let me reassure you we do make them fresh...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Considering the location one was expecting better! The building once was new, tidy and interesting, it is now internally shabby - not in a good way, and in places dirty (seat covers, parts difficult to clean etc.) The food is average but OK for the...More

1  Thank L0GCH0PPER
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. You're right of course, our beautiful old building has been working hard for our busy restaurant for over ten years now and we are currently arranging plans for a facelift to bring it back up to standard. So please...More

Reviewed May 7, 2017

My colleague and I meet here for a drink and cake following meetings in Dorchester. The service is always good, the atmosphere is lovely and relaxed and the cake is fantastic.

Thank Jacqui C
Management response:Responded 2 days ago

Hi there Thank you for your response. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Engine Room Team

Reviewed April 20, 2017

We were staying in the area so went to do some shopping at Waitrose and fancied a coffee and snack, so went across the road to the Engine Room, service was a little slow, and the Coffee's and Lime and Zuccini cake was just average!!...More

1  Thank Kebuts
Management response:Responded yesterday

Hi there I think you have confused us with The Duchess of Cornwall (opposite The Engine Room). We have never served lime and zucchini cake - and we know that The Duchess serve it daily. Perhaps you would consider my offer: as we have now...More

Reviewed March 19, 2017

We came to the garden centre to stock up for spring, and took the opportunity of some lunch in the Engine Room. salmon, scrambled eggs, avocado, toast and some leaves. Very good - if a little unimaginably served. Service fine too - food arrived promptly....More

Thank OlderGuy1956
Management response:Responded 2 days ago

Hi there Thank you for your response. It is so lovely to read when our customers enjoy their stay. So many of our customers give positive feedback in person on a daily basis but rarely do they find the time to write it on trip...More

Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

Popped in here today with my husband for an impromptu sandwich at lunchtime. Our tea was served quickly, but we waited nearly half an hour for the sandwich. What was more frustrating was that we could see them waiting on the pass, but despite many...More

1  Thank Annie186262
Management response:Responded March 16, 2017

Hi there Thank you for leaving us feedback which triggered me into looking into this because I was confused by the thirty minute wait. I have spoken to the three people working that day in the front of house and they are just as confused...More

Reviewed March 7, 2017

My wife called in here for coffee and fancied soup from the menu. Ten minutes too early, she was told. This wasn't a request for a full roast dinner, it was soup. To make it worse the rejection was done in a surly don't give...More

Thank BigChiv
Management response:Responded March 16, 2017

Hi there Thank you for leaving us feedback and I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I would like to explain that the soup will have been still cooking on the hob having been freshly prepared that morning to be ready for lunch service at...More

Reviewed February 26, 2017 via mobile

Visited here with my sister and our two toddlers for lunch on Saturday. We parked our buggies well out of the way and sat on a table in the corner to try and minimise disruption to other diners. All was fine until our food arrived!!...More

Thank charliebriantevans
Management response:Responded March 16, 2017

Hi there I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Perhaps give me a direct email on erchef@thegardensgroup.co.uk and we can discuss it further. Many thanks The manager

Nearby Restaurants
The Poet Laureate
174 reviews
.55 miles away
Bramble Cafe & Deli
79 reviews
.20 miles away
54 reviews
.13 miles away
The Potting Shed
16 reviews
.26 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wolfeton House
7 reviews
1.15 miles away
Maiden Castle
279 reviews
1.31 miles away
Dorset County Museum
294 reviews
1.39 miles away
The Keep Military Museum
171 reviews
1.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Engine Room Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
10:30 am - 4:30 pm
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Peverell Avenue W | Poundbury Gardens, Dorchester DT1 3BY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Dorchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1305 257251
Close to the local Poundbury garden centre.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing