We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lynher Buildings Queen Anne Battery | 1 Lynher Building, Plymouth PL4 0LP, England
01752 671100
Today
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Arrived mid morning for breakfast and coffee with my wife and 2 friends. The coffees arrived promptly and the waitresses were very friendly, which was excellent for a small and busy cafe. After a short wait our breakfasts arrived and they were delicious, we particularly liked how the tomatoes were fresh and not canned. Coffee was of good quality, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank David16758
SoundBitesCafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and your food and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Kirstin More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have visited twice in the last month. Once for a take away bacon sandwich on brown bread, delivered on white bread, the girl offered to change it and I asked if that was just a swap the bread exercise to which she replied "Yes". Second visit was for coffee and two bowls of chips, Coffee appeared after a short... More 

Helpful?
Thank d152599a
SoundBitesCafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

So sorry to hear you have had a bad experience with us .... I do remember offering to change your sandwich for you, but would certainly have made you a fresh sandwich and not just swapped the bread, I must have misunderstood what you said and for that I sincerely apologise. With regard to the coffee and chips, our chips... More 

Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a year to the day since I visited last. I was looking forward to the same great breakfast after 3 days of sailing over from Chichester, but unfortunately I was somewhat disappointed. The fried egg was overcooked, mushrooms dried up (actually crispy) and toast was burnt. I am not sure what has happened, but I didn't expect the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel_Havant
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. I'm really sorry that you were disappointed when you last came to us. We are trialling new cooks at the moment and it is possible that that was the reason why. Your breakfast should have been checked before it went out and if you had pointed it out then we would have replaced... More 

Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

The girl taking the order seemed very confused by our simple order of one Captains breakfast, one full English and a tea and a coffee. It was not helped by her not having a pen and having to borrow mine, which she then failed to return! She then had the problem of trying to calculate how much change to give... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisK303
SoundBitesCafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

So sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, at this time we were training a new Saturday girl and unfortunately new staff make mistakes and can be disorganised, while this is no excuse for your bad experience we hope that you will understand and that you will visit again to give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.... More 

Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2016 via mobile

Myself and a friend visited Sound Bites very friendly welcome Newspaper's to read great views of Plymouth Sound. We had a light Breakfast and a Coffee. And passed our time there with a Lovely Lady who served us well worth a visit. Enjoy your meal.

Helpful?
Thank Mal S
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed you visit and that the service you received was good as well as the food and drink. We hope to see you again soon Bob and his team More 

Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

Visited for breakfast after finishing the Fastnet with our crew. A rapidly served breakfast was the order of the day and enjoyed by all. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel_Havant
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Thank you Nigel for your kind review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast with us and look forward to welcoming you all again soon. Bob and his team More 

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

Stopped off here with my family for lunch, friendly staff and great service. Food was great and nothing was to much trouble. Great place with a great view. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe F
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Thank you Zoe F for your kind review and I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us. We have spent time improving the business but it is an ongoing project so we hope that you come and visit us in the future and hopefully be pleased with the result. Thank you again and all the best Bob and... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

I was really impressed with the updated cafe. Andy's food was lovely, well cooked and the service was really quick. Wonderful coffee and a lovely tucked away location. Perfect place to escape for a good breakfast in the peace and quiet.

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We have taken some time to improve things and whilst it's been a difficult journey I believe that we are nearly there. Thank you again and I hope we have the pleasure in serving you again in the future Bob and his team More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

The cafe has gone through a makeover and new management. Some of the staff are still there. The menu is much the same with all the old favourites and new items added. Still good value for money with easy parking and a great view. The cakes are make on site and always fresh.

Helpful?
1 Thank JJ_Dragon
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have undergone a bit of a refit and that has taken a bit of time. The menus will continue to change until we manage to hit a happy medium. Im pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon Sound Bites Cafe More 

UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Nice bacon sandwiches, waiting staff rather slow and lethargic, so if you're in a hurry it might annoy. I arrived 10 minutes before opening time and was briskly told they weren't open yet! Which was a bit bizarre, as I don't see the point of waiting until the dot of the hour before taking an order and getting on with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank miltonkoi
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding our cafe. We have undergone some changes recently and I think you'll agree that the cafe is now looking more spacious, cleaner and updated. The menu is a moveable feast and will always change. We at Soundbites will look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Travelers who viewed Sound Bites also viewed

 

Been to Sound Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$5 - $14
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Monday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lynher Buildings Queen Anne Battery | 1 Lynher Building, Plymouth PL4 0LP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Plymouth
  • Phone Number: 01752 671100
Description
Small, friendly waterside cafe offering Full English cooked breakfasts, lunches, sandwiches, cakes, and snacks, some Vegetarian and Gluten free options are available. We have outside seating with wonderful views across the Sound and 2 hours free parking is available. Children and dogs are very welcome.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sound Bites and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question
Devon
over a year ago
Plymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Plymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Devon
15 days ago
Plymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sound Bites staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?