We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Malt House Harvester

7 Haven Road, Exeter EX2 8BP, England
+44 1392 490555
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good16%
  • Average16%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible35%
Oct 6, 2017
“Needs to put the heating on!”
Sep 3, 2017
“Would have been one star if wasn't for the nice staff”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Haven Road, Exeter EX2 8BP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Took ages to get served and food terrible. Both hubby and I hated it. Staff ok but so slow. Free salad bar was a disgrace and salad with main meal was just limp gone off rocket!

Thank Samantha F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the malt house for my wife’s birthday and all together there were 7 of us in total.We sat on a nice table with plenty of room for all of us and where quickly served for our drinks ordered which were served nice...More

Thank Nick B
General Manager A, Manager at The Malt House Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nick, we're sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent visit to us. We use all feedback constructively towards on-going team training. I would like to speak directly with you. Please give me a call at a time convenient to yourself Regards...More

A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been to the Harvester on two occasions (Summer and Winter) with my girlfriend and both times the service and food has been outstanding. The first we ordered freakshakes and the second time we had “the original combo” (a quarter rotisserie chicken with a...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at The Malt House Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Great to read you enjoy your visit with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon Becky GM

Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

Lovely breakfast today all freshly cooked and well presented. Continental breakfast bar clean and well stocked. Staff very friendly. Only criticism is the new menu card, way too small to read !!!

Thank REH67
General Manager A, Manager at The Malt House Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Hi Great to read you enjoy your visit with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon Becky GM

Reviewed October 6, 2017

We visited with a Groupon voucher, we had ribs which came with fries and corn, included was the salad bar and a drink. Good value with Groupon but don't think I would have been so happy if we'd paid full price. Fries were poor quality...More

Thank tinkerbell9
General Manager A, Manager at The Malt House Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Hi Tinkerbell9 Sorry to see that you did not enjoy your visit with us. We take all feedback seriously and try to use it constructively with the team, I would very much like to speak to you directly to get a bit more information? Please...More

Reviewed September 23, 2017

We parked at the Malt house knowing we would be refunded when eating at the later - fair enough.We returned following a river walk & visiting The Quays at 2.30. The restaurant was fairly quiet, but not enough to spoil the atmosphere. Service was friendly...More

Thank Robert M
General Manager A, Manager at The Malt House Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Hi Robert Thankyou for your feedback, we are pleased to read you enjoyed your visit with us here atThe Malthouse and Thankyou for taking the time to share your experience with others. We look forward to seeing you again Kind regards Stacey AM

Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner ate here this evening, the staff were attentive and friendly. We ordered our drinks first, then meals then went and got the unlimited bread and salad. The bread was quite nice (how can you go wrong) but the salad was dry...More

Thank Alice-aloce
General Manager A, Manager at The Malt House Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Hi Alice I'm sorry to read you did not enjoy your visit with us on this occasion. We take all of our feedback and use it constructively with our team. I would like speak with you directly and find out some more information. Please give...More

Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

Menu appeared to offer slightly free choices than on our previous visit, but this did not deter from real enjoyment. I usually have chicken and salad but this time had a small steak. I was determined to have a sundae dessert but just couldn't.... absolutely...More

Thank Barbarakmartin
General Manager A, Manager at The Malt House Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

Hi Barbara Great to read you enjoyed your visit with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others Myself and the team look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards Becky GM

Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

We visited this Harvester in Exeter yesterday for dinner. The main courses (both burgers) were delicious but the salad bar was lacking in options, especially the absence of pasta (our favourite)! Portion sizes were generous and service was excellent, as you would expect from a...More

Thank JoshArnold1
General Manager A, Manager at The Malt House Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

Hi Josh Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review, glad to read that you enjoyed your visit, sorry that we did not have the pasta in stock for you, this is a pre-pared item that we get delivered and on this occasion...More

Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

Came here for a meal on Saturday, booked on the phone about an hour before. Service from start to finish was really good, we was served by a tall blonde lad with glasses and nothing was to much trouble. (Sorry can't remember his name) but...More

Thank jasminpatterson
General Manager A, Manager at The Malt House Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Hi Jasmin Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review, glad you read you enjoyed your visit. All feedback is used constructively with the team Myself and the team look forward to seeing you again soon Becky GM

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mango's Cafe & Bar
140 reviews
.20 miles away
On The Waterfront
1,182 reviews
.20 miles away
The Prospect Inn
195 reviews
.19 miles away
@Angela's
225 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Exeter Quay
1,126 reviews
.17 miles away
The Quay Climbing Centre
64 reviews
.14 miles away
The Medieval Exe Bridge
17 reviews
.18 miles away
Tucker's Hall. The Guild of Weavers, Fullers and Shearman
20 reviews
.26 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Malt House Harvester staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$4 - $20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Haven Road, Exeter EX2 8BP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Exeter
  • Phone Number: +44 1392 490555
Description
At The Malt House Harvester in Exeter food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Exeter, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to St Thomas, Heavitree and Stoke Hill, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing