We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kitchen

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RQ, England
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tue - Wed 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tue - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Thu - Fri 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sat 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 420: English reviews
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A nice little place but it needs to find its own thing now with the new ownership. Will come back in the future but at the moment it is just slightly above average unfortunately.

Thank Malin Z
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went in without any expectations and were delighted , lovely food well presented and good value. Will definitely return when we come back to Cornwall

4 Thank mayMarlow
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can not express in words how delightful and friendly this little restaurant is, a proper gem of a find in Polperro and not too far from the main car park. My friends and I had a superb meal here on Wednesday evening and from starters to pudding, the food was 5*. Excellent service, excellent food made an excellent evening!... More 

4 Thank Deborah2410
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent food lovely staff. Quite small premises definitely need to book. Check opening times didn't open until the Thursday evening week we were there.

3 Thank Mel0253
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I booked this restaurant in advance of our visit to Polperro and I'm glad we did. The food was really top notch! An intimate restaurant with great service. I could see the chef working and I realised she was a class act they way she 'cleaned down' after each service. The food was delicious and well presented!... More 

4 Thank Nikky H
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staying in Polperro over our wedding anniversary, my wife and I chose to celebrate dinner at The Kitchen. It's a small restaurant (about 8 tables), located in a quiet spot on the main road and was perfect for the occasion. They have a small but interesting menu and service was friendly and efficient without being hurried. Their lamb shank was... More 

3 Thank Michael S
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stumbled upon The Kitchen after having our plans for dinner changed somewhat throughout the evening. We were late in arriving at about 8.45 but were well received and given a nice table near the door. As the night grew cooler, the waitress/owner asked us if we'd prefer the door closed which she did gladly for us. Not everything on... More 

5 Thank Rob Derbyshire 2
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had eaten out in Polperro every night for 1 week, we were looking forward to our meal in The Kitchen as on previous visits last year we had been unable to book. Unfortunately we were all dissapointed, the rib eye steaks were thin and over cooked and the veg was plain. The fish pie was (sorry) one of the... More 

3 Thank Jaynemlyons
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were the last group in on the night. Most of the mains arrived cold and the lamb shank was tasteless as if it had been boiled forever. This was the poorest meal we had in Polperro over the week. Others seemed to like it, perhaps we were just unlucky.

5 Thank Steve S
Debbi B, Owner at The Kitchen, responded to this review

I am disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your evening at The Kitchen. We make every effort to ensure that all of our food is well cooked, well presented and hot. We ask every table at both the beginning and end of their meal if everything was satisfactory. Had your party advised us at the time that you were... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

Passing by this charming little restaurant, my wife realised that they still had a table for the last day of our holiday, so we booked! We came along on our last day, were offered complimentary drinks on arrival, and settled for salmon and crab cakes for starters, monkfish and rib eye steak for mains and an apple galette to finish,... More 

4 Thank GeogieBrighton
Debbi B, Owner at The Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We do our best to make sure that your evening with us is enjoyable and it is lovely to hear when we have succeeded. Debbi. More 

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

Polperro, Cornwall

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 stars
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$16 - $46
British, European, Gluten Free
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Waitstaff
Good for
Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Open Hours
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Polperro
  • Phone Number: 441503272812
Beautiful building small and intimate interior suitable for couples and mainly adults wishing to enjoy freshly prepared food with friendly service

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Kitchen and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?