We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Boatshed Cafe-Bar

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Wharf Road | The Harbour, Penzance TR18 4AS, England
+44 1736 368845
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 210: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

We were staying at the Hotel Penzance but they cldnt do supper because of an event. I'm delighted that this was the case . Ourselves and another couple came to you instead and we all enjoyed our evening greatly! They were Swedish and looking for local caught fish- they were not disappointed with the Cornish Trio. Very good value with... More 

Helpful?
Thank jacquie r
Nigel W, Manager at The Boatshed Cafe-Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, it is very much appreciated. We're glad that you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Goudhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2016

the food was good and it was hot wasn't kept waiting and staff was polite it wasn't that expensive a wide choice of menu

Helpful?
Thank annettewatts
Nigel W, Owner at The Boatshed Cafe-Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, it is very much appreciated. We're glad that you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile

Visited for lunch...everything seemed to contain lemongrass!! Even my olives!!...seafood drown in sauce and salad over dressed...food below average...found place to be in need of TLC...

Helpful?
Thank kier68
Nigel W, Owner at The Boatshed Cafe-Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your feedback. We hope that you will visit us again so that we can improve on your experience. More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

I went there yesterday wih my parents, wanted to grab a meal before we were off from cornwall and wanted to introduce my parents to all that cornwall had to offer. My selection was based on reviews of the place and oh I completely agree.. Excellent food with highest quality ingredients and friendly staff, we had salmon and cod- both... More 

Helpful?
Thank neha k
Nigel W, Owner at The Boatshed Cafe-Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, it is very much appreciated. We're glad that you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2016

Very good menu and lovely food. One of the staff even looked after my grandson whilst we ate. Service above and beyond the call of duty. Highly recommneded

Helpful?
Thank Andy L
Nigel W, Owner at The Boatshed Cafe-Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, it is very much appreciated. We're glad that you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2016

The boatshed looks very inviting and it is, I made a visit 2 years ago to the bar with family, I found it average but family rates it high. It could have changed hands or simply got better but all in all don't rule it out, it has some fab views over looking the beach, and for all you romantics,... More 

Helpful?
Thank sn0wwhite12
Nigel W, Owner at The Boatshed Cafe-Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, it is very much appreciated. We're glad that you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2016

Lots of places offer fish on the menu but disappoint. This place offers a wide range of tasty fresh fish dishes with flair. Well priced and totally unpretentious. Just good, well cooked fresh seafood.

Helpful?
Thank budcat
Nigel W, Owner at The Boatshed Cafe-Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, it is very much appreciated. We're glad that you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2016

We had often looked at this restaurant were put off by the look of it but this was only the cafe bit the restaurant was upstairs which was very rustic with little booths and some larger tables for bigger parties. We went on a recommendation and were so glad we did. The food was fantastic, we had seafood in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet S
Nigel W, Owner at The Boatshed Cafe-Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, it is very much appreciated. We're glad that you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2016

Walking the south west coast path I stopped for lunch here and has the most amazingly fresh and beautifully prepared grilled pilchards. Simple but great seafood. I wish I'd been able to come back in the evening for the specials and will do one day I hope.

Helpful?
Thank James B
Nigel W, Owner at The Boatshed Cafe-Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, it is very much appreciated. We're glad that you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to see you again soon. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

Popped in at lunch time, the waiting staff where so friendly and helpful. What I wanted wasn't on the lunch time menu so the lady taking our asked the kitchen if I could have a portion of fish and chips. Nothing was to much trouble. Our food was tasty, actually I'd say delicious. So much so we came back for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
Nigel W, Owner at The Boatshed Cafe-Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, it is very much appreciated. We're glad that you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed The Boatshed Cafe-Bar also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to The Boatshed Cafe-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$13 - $38
Cuisine
Seafood, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wharf Road | The Harbour, Penzance TR18 4AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Penzance
  • Phone Number: +44 1736 368845

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Boatshed Cafe-Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?