We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Turks Head

Certificate of Excellence
Bar, European, British, Pub, Seafood, Grill
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Chapel Street, Penzance TR18 4AF, England
01736 363093
Website
Today
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 11:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 485: English reviews
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Good choice of well kept beer and a menu with something for everyone... Didn't notice if they had vegan... Masterchef chef working well up to standard.. Better to book but fitted us in well as a late arrival.. Will be returning..

Helpful?
Thank Petepresto
Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We really enjoyed the food but found the service poor. The waiting were very pleasant but clearly overly stretched and in need of organisation. Would be better to have been advised to order our own drinks from the bar. This was the fifth night on the coastal path and definitely the slowest which is a shame as a nice pub... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank barn68
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
517 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Being six foot one, I was reminded of the stairs in HMS Victory when going into the basement - careful does it! The food was very good, the service friendly. It's a good idea to book in the high season. Recommendable.

Helpful?
Thank IgelEye
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here on Saturday, easy to get a table didn't require pre booking. Friendly and efficient service, food was lovely however did hear another customer complaining about his meat being dry but our meal was fine. Good value for money. Be warned the ceilings are very low and the flooring is uneven in places so watch your step.

Helpful?
Thank Emelie J
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You can judge a lot from a place by how they treat a single diner at a busy time. I was made welcome, served promptly with simple but excellent food. The pub was busy but the publican had time to keep the lid on some boisterous lads, welcome tourists who had trouble making themselves understood, and keep the drink flowing.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertCampion
Honolulu
Level Contributor
183 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ended up here for dinner and it was a good choice...I had pork belly with pak choy...delicious...the dessert as summer berries with strawberry ice cream...yummy... Kudos to chef Lee G....

Helpful?
Thank travelerlyle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came here on the recommendation of the B&B I was staying in. I ordered the turbot special and had sticky toffee pud after and both were delicious. Had a pint of good cornish ale to wash it down with too and the service was excellent. Highly recommend this place. Only reason this isn't a five star review is the... More 

Helpful?
Thank David K
Dartford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Probably the best steak I have ever had in a restaurant. My wife's fish pie was very good too and served up unusually in a shell - nice touch. Wine was reasonably priced. Beer was poor quality - the Betty Stoggs was definitely past its best leaving a metallic after taste. The Turks Head own brew was not much better.... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidmU4802OO
turkshead40, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meals. As regards the beer,we have won awards for the quality of our beer and the state of our cellar. We go through a lot of ales and we are recognised as a big real ale pub. I can only assume that the Betty Stoggs was at the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This the oldest pub in Penzance was recommended to us. Service was very slow, over 30 mins to take our order and another 30 for our food to arrive which was tasty, but by then we were very hungry.

Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterTwo
turkshead40, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. I apologise that you felt the service was slow . I do ask if people are in a hurry when they arrive so we can try to get them fed, but on most occasions people are there for a night out and to just enjoy the atmosphere and the company they are with. You did... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staying just round the corner so visited twice the week we were there. A previous master chef finalist the chef is certainly talented. The menu was varied local fish and meat. Very enjoyable meals. Staff very good though overworked as the place was full to the very ancient beams! Have also been asked to mention the excellent beer!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbit Val
turkshead40, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. We do pride ourselves on the abilities of the staff and they do work extremely hard at the this time of year.. More 

Travelers who viewed The Turks Head also viewed

 

Been to The Turks Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, European, British, Pub, Seafood, Grill
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chapel Street, Penzance TR18 4AF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Penzance
  • Phone Number: 01736 363093

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Turks Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?