We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Fistral Chef

Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Beacon Road, Newquay TR7 1HH, England
01637 850718
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 177: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was going to visit this cafe later in the day as we were spending the day at Newquay, I popped in to try and get some change for parking earlier on in the day but the attitude of the lady in the cafe was very rude and blank. Mistake on their behalf as my party of eight did not return.... More 

Thank Citytravellersuk
Antdurks, Owner at Fistral Chef, responded to this review

We have literally loads of people who ask for change every day. We are not a bank. We are a cafe. The fact that you have given us a "review" when you haven't even eaten at the cafe is a Joke. There is a polite sign on the front door that states we do not give change for the car... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

My family and I stumbled across Fistral Cafe as we returned to the car from Fistral Beach. Despite being 13:00 the place was empty. I ordered the crispy bacon cheese burger which was delicious and well worth the short wait. Prices were very reasonable, especially for a handmade burgers with lovely salad/pickle combo. There was a party in my mouth,... More 

Thank Ian W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016

Worst fish and chips I have ever had. Really awful. I asked the lady serving if the fish was fresh and she said it was. I took it away to eat at home. As soon as I looked at it, I could see it was frozen and it did not taste good. It was bad.

Thank John V
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

Happened across this place after visiting Fistral beach. The staff were polite and everything was very quick! Food tasted wonderful and we could tell it was homemade, especially the burgers! Would definitely eat here again.

Thank Georgia P
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

We visited this cafe for breakfast on our weekend away. The waitress taking the orders seemed really flustered and the other waitress that was serving food had a face like thunder. My breakfast was nothing special for the price! Over cooked bacon, my egg was hard and crispy on the bottom, beans had just been slapped on the plate and... More 

Thank Lolipop2010
Hook Norton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

Slow and rude service, wouldn't go again. Visited today (2nd Aug) at about 3:00pm with our 5 kids, ordered 2 ice creams some hot drinks and smoothie. Was given most drinks at counter and told smoothie would be brought over. Asked after 10 minutes, told "It's just coming", after 20 mins "I'm just getting to it" and it finally arrived... More 

Thank NeilVoce78
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

I found myself in Newquay again today and decided to visit an old haunt on beacon rd, the fistral chef, I have been eating there for years usually just nipping in for a breakfast but today I had more time to spare so I chose to sit down for an actual meal. I went for the rack of ribs with... More 

2 Thank zakalwe2
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

Visited this cafe today with my family of 4 and was told they don't have a WC which is a legal requirement if serving food from a premises and was told to use toilets in pub across road when I questioned this I was told the reason is the local health inspector advised them to closed it to the public... More 

1 Thank mark6864
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

As a family of 6 we called in here for lunch. I ordered the chicken Thai wrap but was advised this wasn't available so would Cajun chicken do, to which we replied yes. When it arrived it was plain chicken so we questioned it and was told that the chef had done a plain one so would I have this... More 

1 Thank Jane W
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

As a party of 7 we decided to try Fistral Cafe for a quick bite, no such luck on the quick part. First off, 2 of our party ordered eggs benedict and following being charged we were informed that they had run out (of eggs Benedict?!!) this seemed strange however we accepted apologies and ordered sandwiches instead. It has to... More 

3 Thank KathleenMaria88

Travelers who viewed Fistral Chef also viewed


Been to Fistral Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$5 - $14
Cafe, British
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Beacon Road, Newquay TR7 1HH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Newquay
  • Phone Number: 01637 850718
Situate 5 mins from the famous Fistral beach.. the Fistral Chef is a vibrant contemporary cafe that's maintained a great reputation for quality food since 1981. Recently refitted and offering a varied menu based on fresh homemade produce. During peak season serving quality steaks and grills and Thai influenced dishes in a very relaxed ambiance and during the day serving quality breakfast and cafe styled dishes. come in and try a fresh juice with your breakfast whist watching MTV or surf DVDs, before your head down to Fistral for a surf 0)

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fistral Chef staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?