We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
FEATURES
Takeout
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
19
11
10
6
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
19
11
10
6
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice cream salad sandwiches sea filling
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 4, 2022

Visited here twice during our holiday and on both occasions had ice cream which was lovely, place was clean and the staff were friendly

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lindsey E, Owner at The Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2022

Thank you Chris for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your ice cream.

Reviewed September 16, 2022 via mobile

Worst customer service ever We popped in for a hot drink and some hot food as we had just arrived after a 6 hour drive to start our holiday the time was about 3.15 pm and was told that the food was off and when...I asked about getting a hot drink to sit in the member of staff had to check it was ok and asked obviously the owner and she then looked at her watch to see what time it was Now forgive me but you are in the hospitality trade and good customer service goes a huge way I should know because I have spent the last 35 years in the same trade It felt that you didn’t want our money Obviously the owner must be loaded and doesn’t need the money of holiday makersMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 8, 2022 via mobile

We popped into the Beach Cafe on a blustery day swinging between heavy showers and quick blasts of sunshine. I had a bacon and egg roll, shared portion of chips and a cup of tea. Everything was freshly cooked just how I like it and...the staff were so friendly and helpful. There's not much seating but we timed it right and sat on stools looking out to sea. Spot on!!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lindsey E, Owner at The Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write your lovely review. We really do appreciate it.

Reviewed July 16, 2022

A nicely located cafe, q right by East Looe beach. Quite a good menu, and a wide range of ice creams/milkshakes.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 12, 2022

This is the place to go if you want a fantastic ice cream. We bought two vanilla ice creams they were delicious. Just what was needed on a very hot and sunny day.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lindsey E, Owner at The Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2022

Delighted that you enjoyed your ice cream! Our ice cream is made here in Looe using Cornish Milk and cream. Minimum food miles and providing employment for local people! Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Reviewed June 11, 2022

Asking a member of staff for a strong white coffee you would hope was a reasonable request, unfortunately for the stroppy female member of staff, this was a difficult request which resulted in the worst coffee and service we've experienced in Looe .... just imagine...if we were paying customers....ohh we were!More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lindsey E, Owner at The Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2022

I'm really sorry that you were unhappy with the coffee you purchased from us. I have talked to our staff and the young lady who served you remembered you well. She offered you a refund or a replacement and felt that she wasn't treated in...More

Reviewed May 28, 2022

My husband had a bacon and egg burger, and I had a sausage and egg burger. We ate them over looking the beach and they were absolutely delicious. Will definitely return. Would recommend.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lindsey E, Owner at The Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2022

Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your breakfast!

Reviewed April 27, 2022 via mobile

Whilst the staff were very pleasant and polite, it was without doubt the worst fish and chips ever tasted in a cafe. Tiny piece of fish covered in oil soaked batter with pre cooked hard oven chips.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 24, 2021

The cafe is still operating as a take out which means at any one time there is a long queue cluttering up the promenade. This is OK I guess if you are actually in the queue! We bought drinks and ice creams every day of...our 2 week holiday which was fine (if not a bit overpriced but that is Looe in general). One day I decided to try the fish and chips that claimed to be fresh haddock from Little Nippers on the harbour. At £7.20 this was not the cheapest and in all honesty no where near worth it. A tail end thin piece with barely any flavour and what I would consider a ‘small’ portion. Very very disappointing and not worth the wait.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 4, 2021

My wife treated me to a blackcurrant flavoured ice cream knowing I liked blackcurrant, my own fault for eating it, the colour was the deepest purple colour I have ever seen, it did not taste much like blackcurrant and stained everything it came in contact...with. If that was not bad enough, it kept me up half the night, it was so full of nasty e numbers, I have never experienced anything like it. PLEASE DO NOT FEED IT TO ANYONE, NOT EVEN THE SEAGULLS.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 25, 2021

I an really sorry to say - This was so poor for both food and service. It must only survive based on the prime position ! It really does itself and the Town no favours at all.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 21, 2021

We ordered two cheese and salad sandwiches and a bottle of orange juice. They were prepared quickly. They were very filling, lots of cheese and salad.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 9, 2021

We had fancied fish and chips for a couple of days and saw that there was,nt much of a queue here so ordered the long awaited meal , OH DEAR ! big mistake unusually, for a seaside cafe the food from here was awful the...chips were like warmed up cardboard and the fish was hiding in the batter and we never did find it.AVOID THIS PLACE.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 22, 2021

Myself and my daughter popped over to Looe for an afternoon out. We bought a kids portion of fish and chips and a portion of chips and cheese. The chips were the cheap nasty French fry type ones, not what you would expect from what...is sold as a fish and chip shop, very pale and tasteless, even the salt and vinegar didn't improve them. The cheese on top, well, how it was called cheese was beyond me as it had no taste whatsoever, it did not melt on the chips, it was rubbery, it was like it had been forced through a mincer it was that highly processed. It was awful. My daughters fish portion was something you would pick up in a bargain basement supermarket, dry and overcooked. Not what you would expect from an area that boasts so many local fishing ports. This was lazy, and nasty food. Despite being famished we tried to eat it, but threw it away, I was so annoyed, I knew if I had taken it back I would have spoilt our afternoon out and for the sake of what it costs we moved on. But considering we regularly pop over, will stick to the other places! Definitely one to avoid. I understand everyone has lost money through covid, we have too, but selling that rubbish, at those prices, will not do you any favours!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 16, 2021

we had fish and chips it tasted off sausage and chips x2 where was the batter ??? my god spent $£35.00 !!! went in bin because even the seagulls wouldnt eat it ????

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hannafore Point Hotel & Spa
605 reviews
.20 miles away
Portbyhan Hotel
829 reviews
.22 miles away
The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
178 reviews
.33 miles away
Talland Bay Hotel
1,512 reviews
2.09 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Daisy's Cafe Looe
1,171 reviews
.08 miles away
The Lookout
153 reviews
.08 miles away
Pepe's Tex-Mex Kitchen
252 reviews
.06 miles away
Sarah's Pasty Shop
1,215 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Looe to Polperro walk
1,043 reviews
.15 miles away
East Looe Beach
415 reviews
.02 miles away
Old Guildhall Museum & Gaol
151 reviews
.08 miles away
Looe Harbour Heritage Centre & Coffee Shop
56 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ross v
February 18, 2020|
Answer
Response from Lindsey E | Property representative |
No, sorry no one called Anna works here.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BEACH CAFE, Looe - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Beach Cafe

Yes, The Beach Cafe offers takeout services.

The Beach Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3