We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Slug & Lettuce

$$ - $$$, British,
44 Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1NQ, England
+44 1244 319873
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good24%
  • Average15%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible16%
Travelers talk about
“garlic bread” (11 reviews)
“hen do” (6 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 am - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
44 Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1NQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 140 of 567 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2016

Visited here early Friday evening, shown to a nice table, and the waiter was most attentive, pleasant and nothing was a problem, best one of this chain we have used.

Thank Wall2wall
Management response:Responded November 5, 2016

Hi Wall2wall, Thank you for your kind review, We do take pride in our customer service. We hope you can visit us again soon!

Reviewed October 26, 2016

Called in for a drink and a bit of lunch. It was very busy with a good atmosphere. The food was nice enough for what we paid.

Thank Kevin H
Management response:Responded November 5, 2016

Hi Kevin H, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit its always nice to hear! hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

Took the family out. Recommended for Monday two for one cocktails and half price food. Nice food - would be expensive if you were paying full price. Cocktails nice but couldn't taste any alcohol. Service ok - had to wait a bit but imagine Monday's...More

Thank Jo S
Management response:Responded November 5, 2016

Hi Jo S, We're glad you enjoyed your recent visit, Mondays are very busy and we do our very best to ensure everyone has an enjoyable visit. I hope you can come and see us after our refurb - early December.

Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

I had a chicken and avocado wrap. The wrap itself was tasteless and needed lots of ketchup. The chicken in the wrap was very watery and didn't taste like chicken. My girlfriend had vegetable ramen and it was also pretty tasteless and needed more salt...More

Thank Luke J
Management response:Responded November 5, 2016

Hi Luke J, Thank you for leaving a review, Could you contact us on Slugandlettuce.chester@stonegatepubs.com. We can discuss the issues raised in more detail. Hopefully we can restore your faith in the brand and the team here at Slug an Lettuce Chester. We look forward...More

Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

If your on a budget half price food is brilliant on a Monday. They also have a good selection on the menu. I never go when it's full price as there are nicer places to eat for the same price in Chester. However, ive always...More

Thank Katie R
Management response:Responded November 5, 2016

Hi Katie R, Thank you for your kind words of praise. We do pride ourselves on giving the customer a great experience. I do hope you can join us again.

Reviewed October 20, 2016

Great place, lovely atmosphere and a great location in Chester. Every staff member we spoke to was very welcoming and friendly. Will definitely be going back!

Thank Tom C
Management response:Responded November 5, 2016

Hi Tom C, Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to see you after our refub. If you would like more Information on this please contact us at Slugandlettuce.chester@stonegatepubs.com

Reviewed October 18, 2016

Not much to choose between this one and the oe in York. 2 for 1 cocktail was a bit disappointing as it lacked favour of any alcohol. Lunch was ok although found the fries lukewarm and soggy. However, the deli burger was good. Chicken gout...More

Thank Brian O
Management response:Responded November 5, 2016

Hi Brian O, Thank you for leaving a review, I'm sorry that your recent visit was less than satisfactory. If you wish to discuss this further can you email us on Slugandlettuce.chester@stonegatepubs.com. Hopefully we can restore your faith in the brand and the team here...More

Reviewed October 18, 2016

Good atmospere, buzzing place although drinks a bit on the pricey side. We didn't eat here but food looked good.

Thank Claire N Phil M
Management response:Responded November 5, 2016

Hi Claire N Phil M, Thank you for leaving us a review, we're glad you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully we will see you after our refurb which will be complete at the end of November.

Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Came in here for food last week with family visiting! The staff were friendly and the food was fantastic! I'll be recommending it to friends!

Thank Chris F
Management response:Responded November 5, 2016

HI Chris F, Thank you for your great feedback, and taking the time to leave us a review. Its very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed October 18, 2016

It started badly when we sat down. The wallpaper was worn out, the table was sticky and the menus were dirty. We ordered cocktails and dinner, asking to be left with our cocktails for a while. The cocktails eventually arrived, alonmg with dinner not more...More

Thank steve m
Management response:Responded November 5, 2016

HI Steve m, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, We welcome all feedback as it helps us improve. I can only apologise for the less than satisfactory visit you had recently. I can assure you it isn't the norm. We...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
La P'tite France
618 reviews
.03 miles away
Hanky Panky Pancakes
655 reviews
.06 miles away
Cote Brasserie - Chester
143 reviews
.02 miles away
Urbano 32
502 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Chester Rows
912 reviews
.09 miles away
Grosvenor Museum
603 reviews
.12 miles away
Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre
109 reviews
.10 miles away
Booth Mansion
94 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Slug & Lettuce staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 44 Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1NQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 319873
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing