We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Maid's Head

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
12 High Street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
+44 1353 720727
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 157: English reviews
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This is the first time I have reviewed a restaurant but I felt that I needed to after the awful meal I had last week which is a shame the maids head used to be so good but now The menu is very boring not much to choose from what happened it used to be fresh and seasonal but now... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ilovefoodmojo
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This was my first visit to the Maids Head and I would thoroughly recommend it. The service was excellent the quality and presentation of the food was first class. The portion size was spot on and it was great value for money. Look forward to returning.

Helpful?
Thank gojomojo33
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your first to the Maids Head. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Had heard so much about this pub so thought we would try a Sunday Lunch..Meals came out very quick on a stone cold plate...Burnt roast potatoes and cauliflower cheese...Beef cooked medium was like leather...The meal wasn't hot when it came out you can imagine how quickly...As title says very disappointed

Helpful?
2 Thank Christine_B_12186386
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a disappointing visit to us for your Sunday lunch. Our Sunday meals are normally very well receive with many customers returning on a regular basis. I am not sure how your meals went out cold and below our normal standard as, unfortunately, we were on a short break last weekend. We will certainly be looking... More 

Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for a drink and lunch after a long muddy walk at wicken fen. Warm welcome, lovely fire in centre of pub, husband had fish and French fries and mushy peas and I had the whitebait starter. Both excellent and served fairly quickly. Fish was delightful and batter light and crisp, fries great...I pinched quite a few as generous... More 

Helpful?
Thank lushrider
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again when you visit Wicken Fen. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2017 via mobile

Came for a quick lunch with my wife after walking in wicken fen - would defo recommend. The seafood sauce that comes with the fish cake main is delicious - I want the recipe!!!

Helpful?
Thank Bicey
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your nice review, I am please you enjoyed meal and especially the sauce with the fishcake. More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2017

Unpretentious, lovely log fire, excellent sausages and mash & beef stew and dumplings. Just what was needed after a beautiful, bracing walk around Wicken Fen. Well done- very pleasant service.

Helpful?
1 Thank johnwalker1954
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2017

I ordered the fish and chips and it was fantastic! Large portions and great service! I can't wait to go back and try the rest of the menu.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review. We look forward to seeing you again More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2017

I loved how warm and cozy the restaurant felt when I was away from home for Christmas. Everyone who works there is lovely and the food is superb. I would definitely recommend The Maid's Head to anyone looking for a pleasurable meal.

Helpful?
Thank Liv P
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoy your time with us, we hope you will visit us again soon More 

Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2017

Overall I had a great experience at The Maid's Head. Some friends and myself stopped in over the holidays, and the staff makes every effort to have you feeling at home. A warm and inviting fireplace, paired with good drinks and even better food, led to a great evening. I will definitely be back again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Savannahjen
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2017

A small group of us went including someone who can only eat a small amount. The staff were very helpful, even cutting down the cost of the person with small amount eating. Cuisine was local produce plus some other British modern cuisine and it was very well cooked, very well seasoned and served piping hot. Would recommend this restaurant to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fred W
Stuart H, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we are always pleased to meet the requirements of our customers, be it smaller portions or allergy issues. As all of our food is cooked to order we can make adjustments as required. More 

Travelers who viewed The Maid's Head also viewed

 
Stretham, Ely
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Maid's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$12 - $25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 High Street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Ely
  • Phone Number: +44 1353 720727

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Maid's Head and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 months ago
3 months ago
Cambridge, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Maid's Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?