We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Maid's Head

$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
12 High Street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
+44 1353 720727
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 139: English reviews
Bonsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food and friendly service. Food was very tasty and service impeccable. Good pint of Doom Bar. Interior was very welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I use the Maids Head whenever I can. I run a walking group and go there twice a year with them. I also go for birthdays, wedding anniversaries and any other time I can. It is only 45 minutes from my home.

Helpful?
Thank nicholaswalks
Wicken, Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016

Visited here for meal, starters were really good but unfortunately the mains let the meal down. My wife had sausages which had skins so rubbery they were really hard to cut, let alone chew and my burger was so full of herbs it had no other taste. Shame really - there are times the place does really good food, unfortunately... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pete H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service. I cannot commend highly enough the courtesy and thoughtfulness of the staff who looked after our disabled guest.

Helpful?
Thank Fenlander2012
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

Visited the Maids Head to meet an old family friend, initial impression were excellent until my food came out!!! I ordered a mixed grill that was supposed to have Steak, chicken Breast, sausage, gammon and the accompaniment My partner ordered the gammon what came out was a disappointment to say the least!!! My plate had HALF!! an undercooked chicken breast... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Hmcneil88
gillian2103, Owner at The Maid's Head, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with your food. I wish you had told me before I cleared your table that you were not happy with your food then I could have done something to correct it. We always try to please our customers with our food and are not happy on the odd occasion... More 

Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

This was our second visit, having visited a few years back. I think it has changed hands since the last time. Last time we were offered flavoured butters with our bread and we were really looking forward to having them again, however we were served normal butter. I had Pork Chop, which was huge, but delicious, it was served with... More 

Helpful?
Thank lesleyy
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

We popped in on our way for a walk, the pub was very busy and we had to sit in the bar area as the restaurant was fully booked, the bar area was very small and had a rowdy bunch of young men in there playing pool, the table took up half the room, we ordered chicken rolls. mine was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Delia B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

We have eaten here many times and never been disappointed. Consistently Great service, Good food and reasonably priced. Gets extremely busy on sunny days, would highly recommend to book on these day's!!

Helpful?
Thank Cambridgefood-critic
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

Friendly, efficient staff. Excellent food. Very reasonable prices, four of us, 2 had 3 courses, 2 had 2 for £25 per head. If you are anywhere near, it's well worth the journey. The only disappointment is that I can't find anything to improve!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

Booked a Saturday lunch in the restaurant of this characterful and attractive pub in the village of Wicken, about an hour's cycle from Ely. It's in the heart of the village and offers both a restaurant, bar and function facilities. The restaurant is nicely laid out and yet not too formal, so perfect for a group of cyclists. There are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica B

Travelers who viewed The Maid's Head also viewed

Stretham, Ely
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Maid's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$13 - $26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 High Street | Wicken, Ely CB7 5XR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Ely
  • Phone Number: +44 1353 720727

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Maid's Head and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Cambridge, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Maid's Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?