We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Fish House Ely

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Fish House 5 Market Place, Ely CB7 4NU, England (Formerly Petrou Brothers)
+44 1353 662720
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 78: English reviews
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Takeaway or eat in, always well cooked and good value. Only downside is short opening hours, closed early evening.

Helpful?
Thank Jess E
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review, its nice to know you always enjoy your meal with us. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We tried the Haddock and the Cod and preferred the cod. Not spectacular, but very good. The chips were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Jacob K
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, hope you enjoyed your time in Ely. More 

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Sausages were barely cooked and batter looked anemic, chips were greasy and I was overcharged with no apology when I politely queried why the price didn't match the board. Not impressed, won't go back in a hurry.

Helpful?
Thank cstravel87
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this review

Sorry to read that you had a bad experience during your visit to The Fish House, Not sure if it was a typing error, because your review has just been published and you stated you visited in June. With regards to the pricing error, we have a takeaway price and a restaurant price, I can only think that the member... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the best fish and chips I have had in absolutely ages!! We visited at lunchtime. It was extremely busy, but the freshly cooked fish and chips arrived in to time. Everything about it was wonderful, even the tea!! The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had to sit in the back as it was so busy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie J
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review, so please you enjoyed your meal and time with us. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place evoked memories of Marino's in Rye (see my review of that place!) but where Marino's doesn't have to work hard for the catches it provides - being right on the coast - The Fish House deserves massive kudos for bringing the range of options to an inland city. With eat-in or take-away options, we made this our first... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeteHarris
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this review

It's always nice to read reviews from new customers and we are always pleased to hear we had been recommended from a family friend, thank you for your custom and for taking the time to write a review, we hope you have a wonderful life in Ely. More 

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

been using this chippy since i was based locally in the 80,s. Been taken over a few times over the years and to be truthful not very good ! Today chips Hard and tasteless,fish dry and batter soggy!must be because of its location that it seems busy (tourists no doubt). as my old teacher said "must improve" sorry

Helpful?
Thank ferryst
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this review

We are sorry that you never enjoyed your meal with us, but thank you for taking the time to write a review. More 

Ely England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only use take away, but always excellent service & fish & chips are excellent, just the right thing to start the weekend.

Helpful?
Thank Karen H
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your take away on Friday, thank you for taking the time to write a review. More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fish ships and mushy peas well cooked reasonable price.would use again if ever \\\\\\\\\\i was in that area.

Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your meal with us, thank you for taking the time to write a review. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Have lived around Ely for many years and have used this chip shop since it was called Lancaster s. I have to say that this evening when i unwrapped my meal i had to admit i had never seen such a poor offering. the chips appeared to have been cooked and then recooked, they were brown and had been deeply... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick B
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this review

First of all may I apologise for the quality of the chips you received on your last visit, I would have not been happy if they had been sold to me, I would appreciate it if you could let me know on which day they were purchased and at what time. More 

Waterbeach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Service has improved dramatically, tables all wiped clean after every meal served, staff all in uniform which was clean. 10 out of 10

Helpful?
Thank Peter J
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this review

Glad to read you enjoyed your visit to the Fish House Ely, I will inform the staff of your positive comments, many thanks for taking the time to write a review. More 

Travelers who viewed The Fish House Ely also viewed

Ely, Cambridgeshire
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 
Ely, Cambridgeshire
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 
Ely, Cambridgeshire
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Fish House Ely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7 - $9
Cuisine
Seafood, Fast Food, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Cash Only
Good for
Families with children, Dining on a budget
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Fish House 5 Market Place, Ely CB7 4NU, England (Formerly Petrou Brothers)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Ely
  • Phone Number: +44 1353 662720

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Fish House Ely and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Fish House Ely staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?