We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Snug Bar

$$ - $$$
Bar, Pub, American, British, Contemporary, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
67 Lensfield Road, Cambridge CB2 1EN, England (Formerly The Snug)
+44 1223 367684
Website
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon - Wed 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thu - Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 87: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I admit I'm biased, I have fond memories of the Snug from when I was at uni 5 years ago now, but little has changed and it was absolutely delicious. Extremely friendly young staff, great music, "snug" environment. When we went in at around 5pm on a Wed it was nearly empty so it may not be surprising that our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2017

I booked a table with a friend for 7pm and arrived on time as we were going to the cinema for around 8pm. We were pointed to our seats by the only member of staff serving the bar and the food and told he would be over soon. We waited 25 minutes before I went up to the bar to... More 

Helpful?
Thank HollColl
Kaylee I, Public Relations Manager at The Snug Bar, responded to this review

Hi HollColl, I am very disappointed to hear about your negative experience with us. It is unacceptable and not our usual standard of service at all. We will be looking into this as a matter of urgency, could I ask that you email me with a few more details so we can investigate properly. If you could send the date,... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

Waited for 45mins and my fish and chips wasn't here. Paid n left w/o the food to catch the train. Not a lot of customers. Fewer than 10

Helpful?
Thank secretcheungh
Kaylee I, Public Relations Manager at The Snug Bar, responded to this review

Hi Secretcheungh, I'm very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with us. We completely agree that a 45 minute wait is beyond excessive and is not in line with our procedures at all. I apologise profusely and hope that this did not ruin your evening. We are looking into the incident for you, could I ask that you email... More 

St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2016

We popped in here for cocktails before a meal at a local restaurant. It was buy one get one free on all cocktails, including mocktails for our drivers. There is an extensive range and they were very tasty. We did have a problem with the ladies behind the bar forgetting an order but they soon made it when reminded.

Helpful?
Thank mayatree
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2016

Visited The Snug as our hotel bar was dire. Found ourselves a little gem. Arrived during happy hour, staff were friendly and made some excellent recommendations on the cocktails. Fully recommend the Snuggish which was so good we had two. Food looked good, although we didn't try it. The bar is small, but there's a nice atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Lesley-teacher
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

Took a chance on this place based on recent reviews. Overall relatively pleasing. Despite not having buns for burgers, no nuggets from child's menu and always wanting to cover chips in their special seasoning - without telling us beforehand or asking us - we did enjoy our meal. They accommodated our request for plainer food. The barman was patient and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gavagcla
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Lovely 2 guys behind the bar, ever so friendly and made our visit a memorable one. Tasty (buy 1 get one free happy hour) cocktails, well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank LauraJane1986
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2016

Walked in for a late lunch and enjoyed a delicious share plate. Best of all a Norwegian choir came in and while enjoying a pint or two sang a lively wedding march. The kind of quirky thing I love about visiting England.

Helpful?
Thank Rose2011085
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2016

This has to be one of the worst meals I've ever had. It was the night before our wedding and we were meeting friends as it was my husband to be's birthday. The food was absolutely appalling, I can't believe so much can go wrong with steak and chips, both overcooked. The manager did give us a discount but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank CambridgeSandra22
Kaylee I, Public Relations Manager at The Snug Bar, responded to this review

Hi Sandra, I am very sorry to hear about your poor experience, especially as it was such a special occasion. I would like to apologise that the food you received wasn't up to our usual high standards and I would like to assure you that we will be looking into this as a matter of urgency. Could I please ask... More 

Beadnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2016

Visited The Snug the evening before a friends wedding for a relaxed gathering. We were informed that there was a new menu this week that was very exciting. We ordered 5 X flat steaks and 1 burger. The waitress then advised us that they only had 3 steaks left. When the food arrived the 3 times cooked chips with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison K
Kaylee I, Public Relations Manager at The Snug Bar, responded to this review

Hi Alison, I am very sorry to hear about your poor experience. I would like to apologise that the food you received wasn't up to our usual high standards and I would like to assure you that we will be looking into this as a matter of urgency. Could I please ask that you drop me an email with a... More 

Travelers who viewed The Snug Bar also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Snug Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, American, British, Contemporary, Gastropub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Full Bar, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 67 Lensfield Road, Cambridge CB2 1EN, England (Formerly The Snug)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Cambridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1223 367684
Description
Welcome to our Lensfield Road Snug Bar, where we offer quality service alongside an eclectic offering of cocktails, food and real ales. Whether a self-confessed foodie, cocktail enthusiast or ale drinker we have something for you. During the day we're the perfect comfy retreat from the office or studying, providing quality coffee and food served all day - whether you fancy a light bite, the best breakfast in town, classic fish and chips or our famous homemade burgers, our menu will see you through the day. Come the evening we are transformed to a cocktail and beer lovers dream. Drop in to enjoy our generous happy hour whilst being be looked after by our friendly team and provided with a selection of quality cocktails, premium lagers - and now a fine range of real ales and cask cider - in what is probably the cosiest bar in town.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Snug Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?