We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bordeaux Quay

Canons Way | V-Shed, Bristol BS1 5UH, England
+44 117 943 1200
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good33%
  • Average19%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“fish stew” (12 reviews)
“pudding” (28 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Canons Way | V-Shed, Bristol BS1 5UH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 320 of 928 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2015

Delicious food, and amazing interior!! We have dined here with family, friends, etc and every time, its yummy! The interior upstairs always amazes me. I love the exposed metal work as it really emphasises the link with the harbourside, and Bristol's history! I also love...More

1  Thank Vlb2806
B Q, Manager at Bordeaux Quay, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2015

Wow, what a great review - thank you so much! The upstairs space is one of Bristol's well kept secrets, but it shouldn't be! The building itself has a great history too, and as you say the renovation is spectacular. Thank you too for the...More

Reviewed July 14, 2015

When this lace opened it was a beacon of light for good food in area served by boring chains. But over he past year the food and service has really deteriorated. Food was ok service ok, but nothing great.More

1  Thank pkmbatt1
B Q, Manager at Bordeaux Quay, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015

I'm sorry you feel that over the years we have deteriorated in both the food and service departments. We try and use tripadvisor as positively as possible, so it would be good to know how you feel the service and the food has gone down...More

Reviewed July 12, 2015

Booked Early Bird at 5.30 as we were with young children and an hours journey home afterwards. Watched others arrive, eat and leave for over 2 hours while we waited for our main course. We complained politely but the staff were unapologetic, rude and seemingly...More

1  Thank eddietalland
B Q, Manager at Bordeaux Quay, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2015

Dear Jackie, I write further to Susie’s email to you and your experience last weekend here with us in the restaurant. I have been away this week, hence why I am replying so late on. I am the restaurant manager – Tom, I was present...More

Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

Yesterday we had a fun afternoon doing the pattiserie course. We learnt about salted caramel, eclairs and macaroons. The two staff leading the course were knowledgable and happy to help out were our progress wasn't quite to plan... G&Ts a good idea, but maybe it...More

Thank Fran A
B Q, Manager at Bordeaux Quay, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015

Thank you so much for your review about your afternoon in the cookery school. Kelly and her team consistently seem to do a fantastic job in the school and it is always a pleasure to receive great feedback such as yours. So glad you managed...More

Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday evening in June. We were seated right by the table which was lovely next to the river. The service was good but there was no enthusiasm, the staff weren't very attentive...checking if we needed more drinks etc. The food was...More

Thank shelldawg1987
B Q, Manager at Bordeaux Quay, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015

Thank you for your review. As the restaurant manager it is very disheartening to read of the lacklustre service you received - as you describe it. We take all elements of the service very seriously, especially the food service. I believe the night you visited...More

Reviewed July 11, 2015 via mobile

Was there to have a meal before show at hippodrome. Ordered drinks took 30mins to arrive after several prompts. Starters then took another 30mins to arrive. Then we ran out of time, so left and only paid for drinks and starters. Gave them plenty of...More

2  Thank Howard B
B Q, Manager at Bordeaux Quay, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015

I'm so sorry that we let you down with timings ahead of your theater visit. Though I was not present in the brasserie on the day in question and thus cannot comment on the specifics of the delay, I can only assume that we were...More

Reviewed July 9, 2015

I was in a large party of Fairtrade delegates from many countries. The chips were heavily 'pre-salted' and for some of us uneatable without wiping. Since there were also salt cellars on the table this was unnecessary. Given the health concerns about salt in our...More

Thank Dave M
B Q, Manager at Bordeaux Quay, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015

I'm sorry that you found the chips too salty. This type of complaint is not a regular occurrence and I believe it to be a simple error in accidentally over-seasoning the chips as they came out of the fryer ahead of being served to you....More

Reviewed July 8, 2015

My wife, adult son and I went there for a pre theatre meal, with extended family. We were told what a great reputation the bistro and restaurant had, especially as they run a cookery school. Fish stew was a medium sized bowl of what can...More

Thank ejcegc
B Q, Manager at Bordeaux Quay, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015

Despite the title of your review, I would like to say in the interests of fairness, we can cook well and do, everyday. There are a great many reviews within these pages that testify to that. Customers are more than welcome to try next door...More

Reviewed July 7, 2015

My husband & I ate here at 3.30pm for a late lunch. We sat outside and were waited on by polite & efficient staff. I had the mezze plate which was very tasty & plenty for a lunch. My husband has the roast aubergine which...More

Thank AngieRose
B Q, Manager at Bordeaux Quay, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015

I'm so glad you had such a nice time here and thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. The terrace in the sun is indeed a real gem, it's a lovely harborside! Thank you for the positive comments on the food, the specific...More

Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

I've mostly only had success here with bread and cake. I've now been in here for a third time and my order was wrong again , 3/3 not good enough and I won't waste my time any more. I never have anything more than a...More

Thank SueTett
B Q, Manager at Bordeaux Quay, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015

I'm glad to here that you have enjoyed our bread and cake. I'm sorry that you have had so many issues with what it seems are basic orders - according to your review. It is difficult for me to address your issue(s) on the information...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Las Iguanas
820 reviews
.07 miles away
Graze Bar & Chop House
543 reviews
.15 miles away
The Stable
822 reviews
.12 miles away
The River Grille
395 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
At-Bristol
1,284 reviews
.09 miles away
Bristol City Docks
821 reviews
.13 miles away
M Shed
1,216 reviews
.15 miles away
Queen Square
263 reviews
.17 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
TraceyKE
September 28, 2015|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Debbra M | Reviewed this property |
Sorry but we stayed at the Marriott Royal in Bristol which was just perfect. The suite looking out to the green hills was stunning. The location, near the Aquarium & the floating harbour was just right. Great stay! To top it... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$20 - $196
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
8:30 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
8:30 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
8:30 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
8:30 am - 10:30 pm
Friday
8:30 am - 10:30 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Canons Way | V-Shed, Bristol BS1 5UH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bristol
  • Phone Number: +44 117 943 1200
  • E-mail
Description
Situated on Bristol's Picturesque Harbourside, Bordeaux Quay is an award-winning venue with a reputation for great food and service, stylish décor and a stunning waterside location in Bristol's city centre.A restaurant, deli, brasserie, wine bar, bakery and cookery school under one roof.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing