We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Trooper

$$ - $$$, British,
Watling Street, Wall WS14 0AN, England
+44 1543 480413
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good20%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (156 reviews)
“pizza” (51 reviews)
Opens in 20 min
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Watling Street, Wall WS14 0AN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 100 of 686 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2017 via mobile

My husband and me visited for lunch today with our dog. We were greeted and shown to our table in the bar/lounge. Our dog was brought a bowl for of water and we were served drinks. We had starters followed by our main course and...More

Thank JimH543
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile

A few years ago me and my husband stopped going here due to bad quality food and the past 6 months started going ago after it A renovation and different menu as well as good food. Myself and family went here last week and everyone...More

3  Thank Roberts1308
Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile

The other half took me here for my birthday. This place was amazing, service was great the food was fantastic. We ordered lamb kofta & pork belly skewers for starters very tasty! For mains we had a fillet steak and a rump steak! Wow the...More

Thank Cute_as_a_button85
Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile

We visited here for an evening meal. The staff are very friendly & welcoming - great service. There is a nice atmosphere. We had 2 sirloin steaks which were cooked to perfection, good quality cuts of meat. Will definitely be returning in the next few...More

Thank Andy N
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile

I went to The Trooper with my husband and 3year old. We were first told there was no rump, flat iron steaks, lobster or scotch eggs so it wasn't the best start. Ordered our drinks and they came out wrong. We ordered a side of...More

Thank Marie W
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile

Visited the nearby roman ruins and decided to have some lunch.We opted for the surf and turf platter and some before dripping chips.We then found out that there was no pork ribs left so opted to have extra Calamari. When our platter came the portions...More

4  Thank Terence M
Reviewed April 26, 2017

last saturday, myself and my wife went to this great place, wonderful service, great manager and staff. We had the bottomless lunch, which was great value for money and really good food. I can really recommend this place, we will be going again soon.

Thank Andy Y
Reviewed April 26, 2017 via mobile

We visited here with some friends. The setting was pleasant and the restaurant was relatively quiet. We experienced dirty table with dried on food. Two of the party had steak whereby one had to be sent back. These are cooked in a pizza oven which...More

2  Thank Tkw8
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile

Lovely 2 hours .. food wonderful and drinks a plenty.. the manger Paul was very helpful and on the ball ! Food fantastic good portions and fantastic quality ... excellent value for money will be returning .. thank you

Thank Jo Y
Reviewed April 21, 2017

A party of 7 adults and three small children attended on a Sunday lunchtime. Someone had recommended the bottomless lunch which myself and one other tried to order, but the waitress informed us that everyone had to order off that menu or it could not...More

Thank kkh238
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hadrian Hotel
7 reviews
.27 miles away
The Plough
365 reviews
1.26 miles away
The Boat Inn
112 reviews
1.50 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Oak Tree Farm
8 reviews
2.52 miles away
Lichfield Cathedral
1,466 reviews
2.22 miles away
Beacon Park
249 reviews
2.04 miles away
Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum
253 reviews
2.18 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
clare85lee
August 30, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from KTR57 | Reviewed this property |
About as poor as the quality of the service a party of 8 had when eating there for the FINAL time.
1
Vote
Jenxjenx
June 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Jamesvp | Reviewed this property |
Not lousy, just not to the same standard as cooking. Staff seemed uninterested and given high levels of service in industry these days my experience was very average
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$16 - $54
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Watling Street, Wall WS14 0AN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Wall
  • Phone Number: +44 1543 480413
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing