We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Tremont Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
80 Simcoe St, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 1H8, Canada
+1 705-293-6000
Website
Tuesday
Closed
Hours:
Wed - Mon 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 174: English reviews
Wasaga Beach
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Came two weeks in a row for lunch, the unbelievable chicken liver mousse/ pâté brought us back! Service was attentive both times, even though quite busy. Fish tacos were yummy. Jerk chicken burrito a bit greasy. Lovely atmosphere. Will return!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina D
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We always dine here on special occasion and the food is always very good. And the head chef is always very nice and friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank respect_food12
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about the dinner we had there was perfect. Great service, good price, and amazing food. Each dish was tasty and unique and plentiful. We had wine, mains and a desert which were all great. A cheese board we had was particularly good for both quantity and quality. Not your average Toronto cheese board with 2 cubes for 20 bucks.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bravetoast
Isabeau K, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont Cafe, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! The pickled asparagus has been quite a hit this year with all sorts of folks, we're so glad you tried it. Hope to see you again soon! - The Tremont Team More 

Thornbury, ON
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I never give a 5 rating. The Tremont is one of the best restaurants in Collingwood. I had the mussels with Pernod they were exceptional! This is definitely a go-to-place. Food, service, location very hard to beat.

Helpful?
Thank SylviaV151
Isabeau K, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Sylvia! Thank you so much for sharing your experience - we are always honoured when people enjoy their time with us enough to review. We hope to see you again! - The Tremont Team More 

Baden, ON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Service and food were wonderful. The only complaint I would have is it was really noisy and hot. We were able to split both appetizers and mains. Wide selection of courses.

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
Isabeau K, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Mary, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! You're absolutely right, it has been an incredibly hot summer and old buildings such as our can have a tough time coping. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal though! We hope to see you again soon, - The Tremont Team More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've been to the Tremont twice now, once in the dead of winter and then recently in July 2016. Both times my partner and I arrived without reservations, the first time we showed up at 9:00 pm (which in Collingswood is like 2 in the morning) We were greeted warmly and welcomed without issue with no wait, even when it... More 

Helpful?
Thank KJBD05
Isabeau K, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are always so honoured to hear about our guests experiences! Our menu is put together by our kitchen with a lot of care and love and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed. We hope to see you again soon! - The Tremont Team More 

Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
177 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Currently I am living abroad and every time I come home this is one of the few places I always try to make it to when I am home. It is very consistent as it has always been a great experience every time I go back over the years. The menu is very well done and very creative. It has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Tremont is one of my favourite places in Collingwood - to eat, to relax and socialize, and it houses artists' studios on the second floor which are all worth checking out. The food is definitely higher end, with very skilled chefs at the helm. There is some modest adjustments made throughout the year to emphasize seasonal vegetables and dishes.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim K
Isabeau K, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Tim, Thank you so much for taking the time to review! We are always so glad to have guests enjoy their visit enough to want to share. Your feedback regarding dessert is much appreciated and we will make sure it's communicated with the team! Have a great day & we hope to see you again soon, The Tremont Team More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

The atmosphere was nice, the waitress was kind and everybody at our table enjoyed their food. Two of us asked for our steaks rare... they came out more like medium well... We were offered a new steak but had already been waiting a while.

Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth A
Isabeau K, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Elisabeth, Thank you for sharing your exprience! We are so sorry about the steak, but do please come back again soon so we can do things right :) Have a great day! The Tremont Team More 

Burlington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

We went to the tremont Cafe reading about their brunch menu , we were in for a disappointment coz they serve brunch only on weekends 😳 So we were contemplating whether to go somewhere else but decided against it since we'd paid for rate parking already ! And boy we got lucky !!! The beverages , the appetizers , mains... More 

Helpful?
Thank Highbrow905
Isabeau K, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont Cafe, responded to this review

Hi there! We are so sorry that we weren't able to share our brunch with you, but we hope to see you again soon on a weekend! It sounds like you had a great time with lunch though and we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience :) Have a great day and we hope to see... More 

Travelers who viewed The Tremont Cafe also viewed

 
Collingwood, Ontario
Collingwood, Ontario
 

Been to The Tremont Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Canadian, Gluten Free Options, French, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 80 Simcoe St, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 1H8, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Collingwood
  • Phone Number: +1 705-293-6000
Description
Join us for delicious French inspired dishes in a beautiful, cozy setting right in the heart of Collingwood in the restored Tremont building.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Tremont Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?