We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

The Port Bistro Pub

$$ - $$$
Bar, Canadian, Pub, Gastropub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
21 Front St, Trenton, Quinte West, Ontario K8V 4N3, Canada
+1 613-955-1409
11:30 am - 9:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Sun 11:30 am - 9:00 am
Tue - Wed 11:30 am - 10:00 am
Thu - Sat 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 142: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked the entire restaurant for our wedding rehearsal dinner. We worked with Shaun in the previous weeks to arrange the 3-course menu that was offered at a really reasonable price. The event itself ran smoothly and the food/service/venue were great. We particularly appreciated how well our special dietary requests were handled, with substantial vegan and gluten free options for... More 

Thank James S
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice food beautifully presented. Modern and clean bistro atmosphere and good attentive service. Who needs more?

Thank bob w
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family was staying at the nearby Trent Port Marina and this restaurant was only about a 10 minute walk away. As we have our dog on the boat with us, we figured this would be a good spot to eat since there's a patio. Unfortunately this was not the case. Even though there was no one else on the... More 

Thank edevm
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2016

Had lunch out side by the river. Very nice. My daughter and her friend had a lovely salad . I had a beef sandwich served on flat bread. It was good could have had a little more beef in it but was tasty. I'm not a fan of flat bread but I did enjoy the sandwich. Would go again but... More 

Thank debbie c
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

Very good! Excellent! Only one élément - the Lamb chop of my husband was not cooked or very little. Good service and Nice view!

Thank Forgeso
jens h, Owner at The Port Bistro Pub, responded to this review

Forgeso Thank you !! Sorry about the lambchop. we try to do them medium rare, but your request must over rule that. On espére a la prochain :) More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2016

While visiting Trenton a few friends, my husband & myself decided to go to the Port Bistro Bar for dinner. Our waitress was very attentive and helpful. I had mussels, which I found were not the best quality, and within a short time of leaving the restaurant I was violently ill. This lasted all night and on my trip home... More 

Thank Mary H
jens h, Owner at The Port Bistro Pub, responded to this review

mary Truly sorry about your experience. I can tell you we served 5 other orders of mussels that night, without any issues. Mussels tell you when they are ready to eat, in that they open for you. Perhaps there were a few on your bowl that did not open, but were eaten ? I am not doubting you about it... More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

Poor customer service by waitress. Took 1hour to get food. Gave it 3 chances. Three strikes. Never going back.

Thank J. S
jens h, Owner at The Port Bistro Pub, responded to this review

J.S. The review says this was reviewed Aug 21, Sunday. I can only guess you meant Saturday. Our exhaust fan motor seized Saturday evening and we had to turn our grills off. We finished what we had going as best we could and closed early. sorry if you were caught up in that. We were all upset with that night. More 

Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2016

Ate on the patio with a view of the water. Need more umbrellas as the sun was scorching. Good food with friendly service.

Thank Linda B
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
324 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2016

This wasn't our first choice, but we landed there. It was a good second option. Food is very good, but menu a little overpriced. Ambiance is great, a little noisy. U can eat inside or outside.

Thank Stephane M
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

Delicious but over priced. 4$ can of ice tea placed on table. Nice patio. Price not up to date on here. Service OK. If you got the coin go for it.

Thank Jerry S
jens h, Owner at The Port Bistro Pub, responded to this review

Jerry First, thank you for the compliment, glad you enjoyed the food. I'll look into the price of the Iced Tea, and other drinks. Honestly, I haven't looked at drink prices. Food prices are my normal concern. That is bad on me, sorry. I will look into it. More 

Travelers who viewed The Port Bistro Pub also viewed


Been to The Port Bistro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$5 - $24
Bar, Canadian, Pub, Gastropub
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Special occasions, Bar scene
Open Hours
11:30 am - 9:00 am
11:30 am - 10:00 am
11:30 am - 10:00 am
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 21 Front St, Trenton, Quinte West, Ontario K8V 4N3, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Quinte West  >  Trenton
  • Phone Number: +1 613-955-1409
Situated in the heart of Trenton, The Port Bistro Pub is located in a beautifully restored historical building overlooking the Trent waterway. In the summer season, there is a spacious patio where you can watch the boats pass. Inside we feature the work of local artists & live music on Friday nights. The Port features a menu of gourmet comfort foods made from the very best quality, local products. Everything is made in house including hand-cut frites, desserts, and all sauces and dressings. The menu changes seasonally. We are proud of our unique beer list featuring local, regional and international brews, a comprehensive wine list and a great selection of cocktails and martinis. Additionally, we offer warm, friendly customer service and a fun unpretentious atmosphere that is uniquely ours. We strive to go above and beyond our patron's expectations and make The Port something the community can be proud of. This is partially achieved through our Green Initiatives and by highlighting the area's finest produce, meat, beer and wine.The Port opened July 14th 2011, with new owners acquiring it on August 1st 2014. The Port is locally owned and operated. We invite you to join us for some shared plates with friends, a full course meal or just a drink on the patio.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Port Bistro Pub and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Port Bistro Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?