We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe

$$ - $$$, , European
75-79 Tamaki Drive | Mission Bay, Auckland 1071, New Zealand
+64 9-578 3327
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good23%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible18%
Travelers talk about
“mussels” (92 reviews)
“ribs” (19 reviews)
“cakes” (4 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Belgian, Bar, European, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
75-79 Tamaki Drive | Mission Bay, Auckland 1071, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

4th trip to see my family got off plane last Friday and requested straight toDe fontein for green lip mussels in wine and garlic this is my 3rd visit on this holiday. excellent staff serving with a smile great food and beer. we do not...More

Thank busterwigley
HospoGroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your feedback Buster. This is great to hear and we look forward to seeing you next year!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unbelievable food, atmosphere, and BEER! Hands down! Fantastic food, friendly service, and BEER. Pub food at highest quality NO disappointments what's so ever! A chill family night just perfect with 10 or just for 2. Highly recommend.

Thank Martin D
HospoGroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

This is awesome to hear, thanks for your feedback Martin!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited over the Easter period and it was extremely busy. We were told there would be a 20 min wait & we were ok with that. We actually waited about 50 minutes in the end but we understood as they were rushed off their...More

Thank Jillian W
HospoGroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks very much for your review Jillian. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and thank you for your patience and understanding around the wait times that we sometimes experience during busy periods. We hope we'll be able to welcome you back again...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Belgian bar is a nice spot for a drink and feed and located just across the beach in busy Mission Bay. If a nice day see if you can grab a seat upstairs on the balcony worth booking for the view. They have a...More

Thank cgkjourneys
HospoGroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went in for a drink to this very busy bar/cafe on Easter Sunday for a drink but had to ppurchse full meals due to Easter trading laws. Got a table upstairs on the balcony which I recommend. Our waitress was on hand quickly and quite...More

Thank Henare H
HospoGroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your evening at De Fontein

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

View: ok Service: ok Food: terrible, never coming back. Tasteless, mussels had no flavor at all, the fries where nothing close tu “Belgium” and the meat was hard to cut. The only good thing where the variety of the beers.

Thank Camila A
HospoGroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Camila, we apologise that you did not enjoy the food as this certainly is not the standard we aim for. Thank you for letting us know so we can follow up with the kitchen team

Reviewed March 20, 2018

This place used to be one of my favourites a while back. Now the food tastes different in a not so good way. The food: Usually I get the seafood chowder and open chicken sandwich which used to be to die for. Now the seafood...More

Thank NoweatK
HospoGroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Noweatk, thanks for your review and we are sorry that we have let you down. We will certainly take your comments on board and address them with the appropriate teams. Thank you for your comprehensive feedback.

Reviewed March 8, 2018

Went to Mission Bay to spend the day. Most places for lunch along the strip were either for fast food or pizza. Thought we would try this also because we could sit upstairs. Had the seafood chowder and the calamari. Both were OK at best....More

Thank leightayl0r
HospoGroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry that the service was not up to scratch and we will look into why the staff were disorganised. Thank you for letting us know so that we can follow up on this

Reviewed March 6, 2018 via mobile

Our elderly friends brought us into the city and we decided to have lunch. We went to Mission Bay which was beautiful on a beautiful sunny day. We hadn't been here for a number of years but the umbrellas and outside dining looked inviting. It...More

Thank TLCAUCKLAND
HospoGroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed the view and were seated at a good table. Thank you too for your feedback about the food. We are very sorry that the platter was not up to scratch and we will certainly...More

Reviewed March 4, 2018

Recently me and my friends were discussing options where to go after a city event ("Round the Bays"). One option was De Fontein. I quite like the place, kitchen is pretty nice, I was there about three weeks ago, in February, with my overseas friends...More

Thank Dmitry G
HospoGroup, General Manager at De Fontein Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Thanks for your review Dmitry, we are very sorry that this has been your experience and we will certainly look into our glass washing processes and talk tot he staff members involved. Thanks for letting us know

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 187 hotels in Auckland
Aarangi Motel
57 reviews
.58 miles away
Devonport Motel
14 reviews
2.23 miles away
The Esplanade Hotel
270 reviews
2.26 miles away
Quality Hotel Parnell
774 reviews
2.55 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bar Comida
74 reviews
.02 miles away
Mamma Mia Pizzeria Restaurant
115 reviews
.05 miles away
The Cove
9 reviews
.04 miles away
The Coffee Club
47 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bastion Point
24 reviews
.50 miles away
Cycle Auckland
76 reviews
.82 miles away
Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium
2,434 reviews
.83 miles away
MJ Savage Memorial Park
143 reviews
.51 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joanna R
April 27, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from HospoGroup | Property representative |
Yes absolutely and we have colouring in sets available to help keep them occupied.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$14 - $28
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Monday
8:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75-79 Tamaki Drive | Mission Bay, Auckland 1071, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland
  • Phone Number: +64 9-578 3327
  • E-mail
Description
De Fontein is located in the heart of Mission Bay, just 8 minutes drive from Auckland's CBD, and is the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, especially from the sun drenched balcony overlooking the bay. We proudly serve authentic Belgian cuisine complimented by an extensive selection of fine Belgian beers & some of the best wines from NZ and Australia. We recommend you try our signature steaming mussel pots, or our famous mussel platters.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing