We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Foresters Arms

) #21 of 51 Restaurants in Loughton $$ - $$$ , British,
15 Baldwins Hill, Loughton IG10 1SF, England
+44 20 8602 5087
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible14%
Travelers talk about
Open Now
12:00 pm - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
15 Baldwins Hill, Loughton IG10 1SF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Five of us stopped here for Sunday Lunch together with our dog. The staff were really efficient, the food was excellent and the position opposite the forest was ideal. They even had my favourite, steak and kidney pudding, properly made, brilliant. The place is really...More

Thank Tristate99
Reviewed 1 week ago

We eat here a lot on a sunday or stop of for a pint after a walk in the forest with the kids. the manager is always friendly, sometimes need to charm the barstaff - but still all friendly - and the kitchen produces the...More

Thank staycationer2013
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lovely evening in the Foresters Arms on Friday. Such a lovely pub in a beautiful setting. The only down side is the some of the staff are a little rude. Even though work gets busy always room for a little smile😊. Would try...More

Thank Geraldine R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called here last Saturday night for a few drinks and was very pleasantly surprised, great atmosphere, served quickly, brilliant music ( 1980's ) well done place was packed.

Thank Lovaz
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not sure why a pub serving food can't cope with walk up guests. To be told they need to go and check if they can take an order, and then wait 5 mins to be told YES, but you need to order now, isn't really...More

Thank MrsGiroud
Malchar, Owner at Foresters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello MrsGiroud Let me start by saying that on the hottest day of the year the kitchen does reach alarming temperatures & we had been talking about shutting the kitchen due to it hitting 42 C. I am sorry you found it such an inconvenience...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I first ate here at the beginning of May. I have now eaten here at least once a week since and I have to say I really like this place. All the food - from pub standards like burgers and fries, to salads and to...More

Thank ScottS1965
Malchar, Owner at Foresters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello ScottS1965 Thank you for this lovely review, its nice to have a new regular customer that enjoys what we are trying to do here! We are pleased you enjoy our specials too as I am the chef (only for another week as we have...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Expect a LONG WAIT for food. Lovely place, but the kitchen cannot handle food demand. Waited 90mins for food. Waste of a Saturday. GMore

1  Thank depspateat
Malchar, Owner at Foresters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello depspateat I am sorry you felt you wasted a Saturday sitting in a beautiful pub with amazing views but each to their own. I am very confused by the 90 mins wait as it was very busy Saturday and we did have a mix...More

Reviewed June 10, 2017

This is a great pub, dog friendly and the Sunday roast is to die for remember to book in advance though. The staff are polite and professional and I am always greeted with a smile . It's great in the summer and the winter great...More

Thank dollydealer2017
Reviewed May 29, 2017

This was the second time we attempted to visit the Foresters Arms. We won't be trying a third. The first time we left because the pub smelled appalling. This time we left because the staff were rude! Be warned - if you just want a...More

1  Thank IlfordEls
Malchar, Owner at Foresters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

Hello IlfordEls I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your time with us. I am unsure what this APPALLING smell must have been the 1st time you visited us???? Was it maybe the smell of food?? Maybe someone had ordered a smoked haddock which I...More

A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife used to go to the foresters quite regularly and have usually always had a good experience. This time wasn't the same. I asked one of the girls if we could sit and order a roast and she told us we couldn't...More

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Malchar, Owner at Foresters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

WOW! I am quite shocked to have received this review after I called & spoke to you yesterday offering to seat you at once but lets do this anyway........ Let me explain once again. To start I am very sorry as I told you yesterday...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Loughton Golf Club Pan-Asian Restaurant
218 reviews
.43 miles away
The Olive Tree
437 reviews
.72 miles away
Wo Fat
180 reviews
.70 miles away
Loch Fyne
312 reviews
.66 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Gardeners Arms
23 reviews
.34 miles away
Epping Forest
55 reviews
1.63 miles away
Topgolf Chigwell
531 reviews
1.83 miles away
Quality and Excellence
8 reviews
1.89 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Foresters Arms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Waitstaff, Parking Available
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 Baldwins Hill, Loughton IG10 1SF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Loughton
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8602 5087
  • E-mail
Description
A very panoramic and popular Loughton pub overlooking the forest. It serves lunch daily and evening meals on a Wednesday and Thursday night. Events and live music take place through out the year. Caters to all functions.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing