We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Swan Inn

$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Pillory Hill, Noss Mayo PL8 1EE, England
+44 1752 872392
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 129: English reviews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the Swan today with friends. Beautiful location, but Very disappointed in standard of food, frozen veg cold, tasteless burger, & the bread bap was so hard even the sea gulls rejected it, when commented, landlord refunded us £1 !! Unhappy with this, pursued it further, final offer of a free half of cider 😂 will not be returning!

Helpful?
Thank Lynniechinney
TMAone, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Unfortunately in this industry this type of customer is becoming all too common. The customer orders some food and then "finds" a problem with the dish. Rather that bring this to the attention of the staff straight away they consume the entire meal except the piece with the "issue" then expect a full refund. As in this example I fully... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic location. Friendly atmosphere. Landlady seems to do it all. Good unpretentious pub grub and decent beer.

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
TMAone, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind remarks, its really rewarding for us to know you have enjoyed youself with us in our pub. More 

Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

The landlady was lovely and when we ordered we were told 30 minutes wait for food. We were 2 families and one came after 1 hour 20 mins, and the other come 1 hour and 40 minutes. They were not busy either. To make matters worse it was simple pre-heated meals that were nothing special. £50 for a family of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trimby
TMAone, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Just what did this customer expect for £10 per head? The 2 families ordered separately so the tickets were prepared separately as they did not indicate that they wished to dine together. We advised customer of the wait for food because we were busy, we do not just randomly tell customers there will be a wait for food when we... More 

Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

Average meal in a beautiful location. I would stop here again to have a drink because of the estuary views.

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

The pub from the outside is a charming, shabby inn with a charming view of the estuary and steps right down to the shoreline. As soon as we walked in to the pub, the owner/bartender was there to merrily greet us (it was also a dog-friendly joint, which is a strong indication of a chilled out, family-friendly place), offer us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosie D
TMAone, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments. We have recently repainted the pub exterior so the shabby sheikh look has been replaced with beautiful new look. It was lovely to meet with you during your visit. More 

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016 via mobile

Honestly had one of the best nights ever in here. Sarah is just so lovely, great beers, hearty food, good music and we learnt loads about the local area. It is a truly stunning place, and having a great pub to sink a few was a real treat. Absolutely recommend to all.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
Aus
Level Contributor
120 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Had a couple of decent pints here, on a couple of occasions, while visiting friends in the area. Decent boozer in an awkward location. The Landlady is very friendly, and keeps well kept beers.

Helpful?
1 Thank fatbeetle
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

Fantastic spot but run down and sad little pub. Could fill a gap below the Ship's quality/price offer. Hopefully the new tenants will turn it around

Helpful?
Thank J2143X
TMAone, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Just thought I would wait a little time before responding to this "review". Firstly, we have had the exterior of the pub repainted for this season, Its a balancing act on when to invest our hard earned money back into the business. Sorry sir, that we were not quick enough for you. Secondly, what does "fill a gap below the... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015 via mobile

What a fabulous pub, very welcoming, lovely glass of Shiraz and pint of tribute. Very accommodating with children and pooches, Lots of treats for them both!! Haven't eaten here yet but the food that came out looked and smelled lovely with a generous portion size and very reasonable price. What a lovely Landlady, very warm and welcoming!! Locals very chatty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brookshaw
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

Arrived by boat and went to the Swan for lunch with my daughter. Wonderful location, but very shabby pub with awful toilets. I was eventually saved by a young woman with clearly zero customer service training, who admitted that she was new and didn't know what she was doing behind a bar. Waited far too long for a very simple... More 

Helpful?
Thank SJM48

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

Newton Ferrers, Devon
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7 - $20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television
Good for
Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pillory Hill, Noss Mayo PL8 1EE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Noss Mayo
  • Phone Number: +44 1752 872392
Description
The Swan Inn is a great British pub where you can get a bite to eat throughout the day. With fabulous views over the River Yealm estuary there is no better place to relax and enjoy a glass of your favorite tipple. Our menu is proper pub grub with a varied and seasonal offer. We are not a fine dining outlet with overpriced and undersized portions but offer good English grub at fair prices. We love to cater for family's and welcome man's best friend inside provided he is clean and well behaved. If you want your food and drink dropped into your mouth through a solid gold pipette then look elsewhere.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Swan Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?