We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell

Dunstable Road | The Bell Inn, Studham LU6 2QG, England
+44 1582 872460
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good24%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“pizza” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dunstable Road | The Bell Inn, Studham LU6 2QG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to celebrate my wife's birthday with severn family members. Some of us had pies, some had steaks and one had ham, eggs and chips. All the meals were served hot and very nicely presented. All plates were cleared which is a good indicator of...More

Thank Keith H
Nikki F, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Keith, Delighted you all enjoyed your meals and a clean plate is what we love to see! Really appreciate you taking the time to give us this great review as it means such a lot to the team. Look forward to welcoming you again...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my friend went for a bike ride earlier today and we didn't ha e much cash on us so we looked at the menu for something cheap and filling and sure enough we found some chips, we sat down and waited for our...More

1  Thank Tommy W
Nikki F, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Really pleased you enjoyed our chips. We are often asked about the bags of potatoes we have stacked together and it's because we think you should be able to enjoy freshly prepared crispy chips, not something out of the freezer. Thanks for taking the time...More

Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

This has become a firm favourite for our family and friends! The service is always perfect and even when they are busy, they always have time to talk and recommend items on the menu. The pizza is always a winner for the children and they...More

1  Thank Tinks3
Nikki F, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Absolutely delighted that you love The Bell in Studham and took the time to write this great review. It means a lot to us and our team to hear your feedback and the dishes that you really enjoy. See you soon!

Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

My husband and i have driven past this pub for quite a while and we decided to pop in on Saturday for a drink we had our 2 kiddies with us and the staff were friendly and lovely with the kids. It was so nice...More

1  Thank beckyboo2507
Nikki F, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

What an absolutely lovely review Becky. It makes us so happy when you are happy. So thank you very much! So pleased you did pop in and that you enjoyed your visits over the weekend and great to hear that you will be recommending us.

Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

The Bell has been one of our favourite places to take the family to eat. The food has always had that 'home cooked' look and taste. But our meal today lacked all of that. Something had changed. Whether it's the quality of the food or...More

1  Thank Keelyimps
Nikki F, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to give us this feedback. I'm sorry that you seemed unhappy with your meal. Did you mention anything at the time as we would have done our up most to rectify any problems. Feel free to email me. Nothing...More

Reviewed July 17, 2017

A nice smiling welcome and guidance with ordering. Unfortunately my wife's steak was not as she would like. The chef came to our table to make sure everything was to our liking. Upon learning of my wife's dissatisfaction he insisted on an immediate upgrade which...More

1  Thank Richard G
Nikki F, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

It's great to hear that we were able to rectify a problem and that you left happy which is really important to us. Thank you very much for writing this review and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed July 15, 2017

Very friendly pub, great food will definitely return. Lovely setting would recommend Four of ate here we all enjoyed our food, generous portions, good selection to suit all. Proper home cooked meals made from scratch. Yummy!

Thank Mamamia077
Nikki F, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Delighted you all enjoyed your meals and will pass this lovely review onto my team. Really appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback and write a review. See you soon!

Reviewed July 9, 2017

Warm and friendly local village pub and restaurant. Lovely gardens to rear overlooking the fields, small,patio area at front perfect for after work drink on the sun and inside low beamed ceilings and rustic charm. Restaurant high quality and good service. Highly recommended.

Thank kimatkn
Nikki F, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Thank you Kim for taking the time to give us this lovely review, it really is appreciated! See you soon.

Reviewed June 30, 2017

We stumbled across this beautiful pub last night on our travels and i loved it. The attention to detail was unbelievable. From the fairly lights to the table numbers and more. I could of spent hours looking at the many pictures on the walls. I...More

1  Thank Louise2013loopy
Nikki F, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Thanks Louise for such a wonderful review! Delighted you liked the Bell as we much as we do. We love to have quirky things around and treats for sale as gifts or to keep for yourself, there's often something new to see! Look forward to...More

Reviewed June 25, 2017

Excellent service, made to feel welcome, opted for the Sunday Lunch and went for the Beef, food came promptly and waitress nice and helpful. The Beef however was very over done and tough, had to leave the thicker bits as they were so dry and...More

1  Thank nicola_davies903
Nikki F, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Hi Nicola, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, it really helps to hear what you think and your notes have been passed to the kitchen. We have a couple of types of cutlery and it does seem on this day, you perhaps...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Old Hunters Lodge
75 reviews
1.43 miles away
The Red Lion Dagnall
62 reviews
2.06 miles away
Markyate Spice
63 reviews
2.37 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Cricketers
5 reviews
3.36 miles away
ZSL Whipsnade Zoo
2,479 reviews
3.43 miles away
Frithsden Vineyard
73 reviews
3.77 miles away
Ivinghoe Beacon
104 reviews
3.86 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
IAMlauzjp
July 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Nikki F | Property representative |
Yes, the best thing to do is phone The Bell and ask what you may fancy and we'll certainly do what we can. 01582 872460
1
Vote
Kathleen666
April 16, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kate K | Reviewed this property |
Their website says they are open 12 noon until 1am.
1
Vote
Janet K
July 20, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Nikki F | Property representative |
Yes we have a back garden or seating at the front.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$16 - $34
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dunstable Road | The Bell Inn, Studham LU6 2QG, England (Formerly La Campana)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Studham
  • Phone Number: +44 1582 872460
  • E-mail
Description
Studham is the Southern most village in Bedfordshire & there you’ll find the highest lying village pub, a genuine freehold… ‘The Bell’. The Grade II listed, 500 year old sanctuary, is nestled quietly amidst some of Bedfordshire’s finest countryside. With panoramic views and an abundance of original character, the picture postcard haven can be found just 10 minutes from both Dunstable & Hemel Hempstead and 5 minutes from the Dunstable Downs and Whipsnade Zoo. We pride ourselves on providing ‘Food and Gifts we Love’ and together with our team aim to provide a warm welcome… Enjoy traditional food favourites…Home-made Pies, Sunday Roasts with all the trimmings, freshly beer battered Cod & triple cooked chips, to eat in or take-away and even a ‘99’ soft Ice cream!. As well as authentic pasta dishes, fresh fish & fine meats. Be enticed with the aroma of fresh dough Italian pizzas being cooked from the warmth of the stone clay pizza oven. Wines are often recommended and our Coffee Frappes are unique to The Bell. As you walk in, you’ll notice gifts and goodies around. If it’s got a price on it…then it’s for sale! From wine racks, clocks and signs to candles and novelty items – perfect as a gift but even better to keep for you!Whether you pop in for a’ Brew & Bakery Treat’, or simply rest a while with a snack at lunchtime with our ‘Cask 2 Glass Ale’ after a walk. Enjoy free Wi-Fi ‘n’ revive with our fresh ‘Bean to Cup’ Coffees or an evening sipping champagne by the glass. Holding a function or dining with family & friends.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing