We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar

The Wharf, Mapua 7005, New Zealand
+64 3-540 3381
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good33%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“seafood chowder” (22 reviews)
“zeppole” (8 reviews)
“salmon” (24 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Seafood, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Wharf, Mapua 7005, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

A wonderful evening with great meals and service by Matt. Thoroughly recommended if you are in the area. We shared 4 entrees so we can sample some of the dishes. No regrets whatsoever!

Thank JCF73
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

After reading a few reviews we decided we would check this place out as it sounded good. Unfortunatly it didn't live up to what we thought. Service was rushed at the start....they asked if we wanted drinks before we were even seated and hadn't seen...More

Thank Sonya Devon W
mapuagrannysmith, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Im sorry to hear this as we strive to please everyone that walks through our doors, even with it being such a crazy busy time of year. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the Seafood Chowder as this is one of our signature dishes people...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place, nice view of the harbour mouth, 20meters from the wharf, good food I got a chicken linguine which was beautiful, good fast service

Thank Matt S
mapuagrannysmith, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback and it is our pleasure to have you dine with us. We hope to see you back again one day soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Told the man when I was paying that service was really substandard. Flagging people down to order meal, then reorder drinks, albeit they seemed disinterested. As I sit her writing review, 15 mins after paying no one has cleared our table (what would be the...More

Thank Lisa D
mapuagrannysmith, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your concern. It is an extremely busy time of the year for us and we all do our best to ensure everyone has a pleasant dining experience here at The Apple Shed Cafe and are all served efficiently. However, i do recal...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you plan to take the Ferry (across the road) call in to the Apple Shed for Breakfast it was excellent and friendly NZ service. Upon your return from a boat excursion it’s a good place for an evening meal, but it is a popular...More

Thank Trenham Ian Weatherhead
mapuagrannysmith, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for you making the time, it is our pleasure to have you dine with us and we hope to see you return but be sure to book to avoid disappointment. And yes, the Ferry accross to the island is a great way to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Today was my 2nd visit and once again the food was fantastic. I've had the seafood chowder and today had the mussels entree (amazing) and the gurnard and fries. Highly recommend. Jake the young waiter was fantastic.

Thank Lisa255118
mapuagrannysmith, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you, Jake says 'it was a delight to have served you both' and we hope to see you back for your third visit..

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our homestay hosts recommended this restaurant, and made our dinner booking in their name. When we arrived we were offered a choice of table, so we sat by the window looking out over the little harbour. It was a really lovely meal: I had green-lipped...More

Thank DramaQueen55
mapuagrannysmith, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your amazing feedback, it is always a pleasure to hear and so lucky to be able to enjoy our beautiful sunsets. We do hope you return next time you are in Mapua. Safe travels from The Team.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I went on a wine tasting tour and for lunch we ate at The Apple Shed. The service was excellent and I felt very welcomed as my waitress started a lovely conversation. I ordered the mussle dish and I do not regret...More

1  Thank inthiramckenzie
mapuagrannysmith, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou very much 'inthiramckenzie' the team at the Shed are very glad you enjoyed your time with us and the kitchen are joyous to see someone is enjoying the mussel dish so much, we hope to see you back in the near future :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not fancy, but the food is exceptional and the servers are warm and attentive. I don't usually order fish and chips when there are so many other tempting dishes on the menu, but I decided to give the Apple Shed's F&C a try and I...More

Thank Janice B
mapuagrannysmith, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Janice we are overjoyed to see that you enjoyed the cider battered F&C and excited that you find us to have the best in New Zealand, hopefully we will see you return in the near future :)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place is great and food good. But we turned up expecting GF chips (as marked on the menu) only to find they are cooked in the normal fryer. Tomatoes are GF unless you cook them in a fryer with other gluten, so why say...More

Thank Toni W
mapuagrannysmith, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're sorry that there was an issue with the GF Fries Toni, hopefully another time we can meet your request's, as for the service im glad to hear that the lady that helped you was attentive and great. hopefully we will see you again :)

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Mapua Hotels
Parkside Motel
69 reviews
6.95 miles away
Oxford Court Motel
163 reviews
6.95 miles away
Gladstone Motel
47 reviews
6.95 miles away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
152 reviews
6.99 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar
541 reviews
.02 miles away
The Smokehouse
231 reviews
.02 miles away
Boat Shed
133 reviews
.34 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Rimu Grove Winery
34 reviews
1.58 miles away
Seifried Estate Winery & Vineyard
13 reviews
2.67 miles away
Mahana Estates
120 reviews
2.99 miles away
Animal Farm
48 reviews
2.81 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lauren C
December 11, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PatMacnz64 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Wharf, Mapua 7005, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Mapua
  • Phone Number: +64 3-540 3381
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing