We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Crook Road, Crook, Kendal LA8 8LA, England
+44 1539 821351
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat - Sun 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 255: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Sun Inn last night, as we were camping at Pound Farm, which was about a mile walk. The food here was excellent, we both had the Jerk Chicken which I would be more than happy to recommend. There was one slight downside, the wine was expensive for what it was, but then it was the heart of... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarthaAH
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to your next visit. I would always recommend buying a bottle of wine than by the glass, you can always take it away with you. Regards Team at The Sun Inn More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So says the sign outside. This is a lovely, welcoming, little pub. We stopped for a drink, on our way back from Lake Windemere and stayed for dinner. The menu was very tempting, we went for the Thursday Curry Night deal - 2 curries (Chicken Korma, Beef Madras or Thai Green) and 2 bottles of Tiger beer for £20. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Virginia M
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Great and thank you for your review. Monday to Friday we always have a food special offer on, along side our main menu. See you again soon Regards The team at the Sun Inn More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped on our way back to Kendal from a day out and about in the Lakes. We received a warm welcome and despite not booking we were quickly found a table. The food was excellent, we were really impressed with the menu which was much more varied than the normal pub grub.

Helpful?
Thank SuKe1701
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our main menu throughout the Summer months is quite extensive, then from September through Autumn the top ten dishes remain on the menu with seasonal specials to compliment it. Regards The team at The Sun Inn More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The meal was superb, we had soup, mussels, tuna and cheese pie between the two of us. All 4 dishes were amazing, really good food, with additional extras to compliment the meal. The mussels were with chili, never had that before and I am now a fan. The soup was homemade and not a packet mix with something thrown in.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Poosan D
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. Our mussels and king prawns are both very popular mainly down to the lovely chilli sauce our Chef produces. Regards The team at The Sun Inn More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stopped at this wonderful, old coaching Inn for an impromptu Sunday lunch. They accommodated me readily, even though it was already well after 3 pm. The pate starter was tangy and delicious, served with a generous salad and some proper, thick toast. This was followed by a wonderful plate of roast lamb, veg and some superb cauliflower cheese. All... More 

Helpful?
Thank Howi58
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, much appreciated. Sunday roasts served from Midday until 7pm. (subject to availability) The team at The Sun Inn More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff, even though the second time there were no tables managed to squeeze us in. The fish pie is awesome, great soup, fish and chips...have tried various things on the menu and not been disappointed. Very popular so you need to book, we saw quite a few turned away.

Helpful?
Thank MeninaCarolina
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, for your review. We always recommend booking to ensure a table as its only a small pub, you can do this online. Regards The team at The Sun Inn More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here overnight as it was listed as a Brit stop in the directory and we were not disappointed. This is probably one of the best Brit Stops we have stayed at, the owner & staff couldn't have been any more accommodating if they tried. We had a 3 course meal which was absolutely superb, you could tell that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mdwilson40
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, hopefully see you next time your around this area. Regards The team at The Sun Inn More 

North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic brit pub food. The mussels were great in a really creamy sauce and the black pudding lovely. Coming back again for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Great review thank you and we will see you soon The team at the Sun Inn More 

Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were here with our camper, a good spot for a overnight stay, and a good dinner to! Pleasant and friendly, helpful.

Helpful?
Thank MariaWvdV
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you glad you enjoyed your overnight stay with us, works wells for us as well no bed changing park up, enjoy a meal and a drink stay overnight and continue your travels the next day, hope to see you when your passing next. Regards Sun Inn team More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Returning from a fabulous day in the Lake District national park came across The Sun Inn what a find, upon entering the venue we were met with such a friendly and welcoming staff. Nothing was to much trouble even when we suggested that we had a little dog with us he was made welcome too. A very good, not to... More 

Helpful?
Thank John K
Pauline H, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Lovely review, thank you very much. Regards The team at The Sun Inn at Crook More 

Travelers who viewed Sun Inn also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$4 - $22
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Crook Road, Crook, Kendal LA8 8LA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Kendal  >  Crook
  • Phone Number: +44 1539 821351
Description
Recently refurbished country pub, with two open fires,real ales, extra cold Heineken served from glasses straight from the freezer, locally produced spirits. Selection of Ciders and a seasonal wine list to match the menu.

Seasonal menu with a weekly changing specials board.

All sauces are gluten free, we also use sour dough bread.

Vegetarian choices available.

Children more than welcome

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sun Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?