We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Blessed with gorgeous vistas, The New Forest, Ashurst offers a true taste of the good life via our extensive menu of locally-sourced dishes and a bar full of new tipples and Fullers’ favourites. Truly, we’re the perfect starting-point, stop or destination for New Forest walkers.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Playgrounds
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveler rating
161
107
59
56
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
161
107
59
56
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast new forest the pub play area great garden railway station large garden food was lovely car park staff were very friendly an evening meal hsb lyndhurst app measures dogs october
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 26, 2020 via mobile

Cold beer nice fire ! lively waitresses just a lovely experience! Nice to sit in a pub with great beer on fraught order in phone just perfect ! One day mode good

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 23, 2020 via mobile

Unplanned lunchtime visit. Warmly greeted by staff and good covid awareness ensuring app QR scanned etc. We used the pub app to order from table. Very efficient and quick. We both had a light lunch option of scampi and chips and sausage and mash. Sounds...basic but was cooked beautifully. Arrived quickly and we both commented on how tasty our meals were. Staff young and very helpful. Would recommend and revisit if in the area.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AnnettePNewForest, General Manager at The New Forest, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2020

Good evening Tim, Thanks for leaving such a fantastic review, it's always lovely to hear that our guests have had a lovely time in our New Forest pub. We do hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards James Wilson and The New...More

Reviewed October 10, 2020 via mobile

Had a lovely birthday lunch here yesterday (9th October). The track and trace and mask situation was very well adopted. The ordering from the app was easy. The service and food was excellent. Would recommend!

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 4, 2020

We popped in for lunch, on a drive to the New Forest. This place was friendly and clean. We felt very safe with the procedures in place, due to COVID. We had a drink and lunch, order via the APP and the food was very...good and the drinks were cold. We can't fault the service here and would go back, if we were in the area again.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
NewForestPub, General Manager at The New Forest, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2020

Hi, Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Annette

Reviewed September 30, 2020

Whilst staying in the New Forest for a long weekend we chose The New Forest at Ashurst for our Sunday meal, based solely on the fact the website was offering Sunday Roasts up until 8 pm and the reviews were mostly positive. As we do...not live in the area we wanted to spend as much time as possible visiting local places before eating so pre-booked a table for 5 people at 5pm. After checking in with the QR code for Track & Trace and being shown the sanitiser we were pointed to a table. After 5 minutes we noticed the sign on the table asking us to download the food and drinks menu onto a phone, which wasn’t a problem, but it would have been nice if that had been pointed out to us. We ordered 5 x roasts, noticing that at least one type was already sold out, but when we tried to checkout we got an error. On starting again, we discovered all the roasts were sold out. Very disappointed but we re-ordered other meals. Again we got an error and this time a chicken dish we had chosen was sold out. Third time lucky we managed to order burgers and lasagne. Not quite the Sunday roast we were looking forward to but basic pub food we could have got anywhere. None of the dishes were particularly hot, just warm. In normal circumstances we probably would have gone elsewhere but you need to pre-book in most places now so we stayed put. If you are going to advertise food and especially Sunday Roasts until 8pm at night then you need to make sure you have enough supplies in to provide the food. We were there 3 hours before food was stopped serving. I understand Covid-19 has changed life for us all but if you are not going to have enough food in to last the serving hours then you should change the times on your website or put a notice on to say Sunday Roasts and other food is likely to sell out early. There is actually less excuse nowadays as people are encouraged to book tables in advance so you know how many covers you are likely to have (although obviously not what they are going to choose to eat!). The pub did not seem that busy whilst we were there but again this might be due to Covid. There was no interaction from the lady who booked us in to explain how to order food and drinks (or even to check if we had a smart phone between us). However, the waiters/waitresses who bought us our food and drinks were polite, although one of them did bring over a bottle of wine that we had not ordered because a previous order on our table had not been ripped up! Covid measures were in place and perfectly acceptable. This experience was in stark contrast to the meal we had at the Cartwheel, near Fordingbridge, on Friday night which we cannot review highly enough.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
NewForestPub, General Manager at The New Forest, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and I am so sorry that we had run out of roasts. I have spoken with the team on that evening and made sure this does not happen again. We sadly cannot guarantee that we...More

Reviewed September 22, 2020

We visited the pub at the weekend, they had good COVID measures in place with distancing being enforced, several sanitiser stations, and table/phone ordering in place. We were advised to chose our own table in the garden which was great. The garden is great for...a sunny day and although we didn’t have kids with us it would have been brilliant for them too. Most of the staff were really friendly and helpful and were working hard to keep up with how busy it was. The bit that let it down for us was the food. We ordered a Greek sharing platter for £15 and was very disappointed with what was served. There was one skewer of halloumi, one round flat bread, a very small pile of olives, chopped peppers, and a dollop of tzatziki. It really wasn’t a sharing platter at all and for that price I would have expected more. We ordered chips on the side and they came slightly warm and soft. Overall it was a lovely day but let down by the food. However I would try again to see if it was a one off because the atmosphere and setting there was really nice.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
NewForestPub, General Manager at The New Forest, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2020

Hi Stacey, Thank you for your comments. I have fed this back to the chef and the team on at the time and I agree with the size of the platter. We have made adjustments and the new menu is due to launch on the...More

Reviewed September 21, 2020

Our son has a brain injury and is autistic and we are very limited in the places we can go and there are very few welcoming places in the area. We arrived yesterday for the first time probably this year due to COVID and we...were instantly recognised by the manager which really surprised us! She then asked us if we would like our usual table (a quieter table tucked away for our son). I cannot begin to explain how much little things like this mean to us! You made him feel comfortable and us feel relaxed and welcome from the moment we walked through the door! This is rare to find when usually we get funny looks or are made to feel like he’s too noisy or unwelcome so THANK YOU! Also the food was lovely, service was friendly as always and the measures you have put in place for covid are excellent. We will back again soon :)More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
NewForestPub, General Manager at The New Forest, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2020

Hi, It is always so lovely to see you all, and thank you for your lovely comments. See you all again soon. Stay Safe Annette x

Reviewed September 15, 2020

Happy with the initial check in via mobile phone on arrival. However, after that it was downhill all the way and we nearly gave up and walked out. We appreciate that tighter restrictions need to be in place to ensure pubs can remain open, but...Fullers have taken this way too far. We only wanted 2 teas - total cost £5.00 - but we had to find a table and then order and pay on-line beforehand. When my card provider then wanted me to confirm that I'd ordered 2 teas and needed my phone number for them then to send a confirmation number for me to proceed I lost the will to Live. Having then gone back to the bar to say we'd cancelled the order and were off to find our tea somewhere less technologically restrictive (as we have lots of times over the last few weeks) the server said she'd take our tiny order and I could then just "tap" my card in the usual way. She also hinted that pubs would not be staying open very much longer if numbers of cases continued to escalate as they have done for the last week - hence the draconian measures now in place. We will go back eventually as it's a favourite haunt of ours, but it obviously won't be for a while yet!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
NewForestPub, General Manager at The New Forest, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2020

Hi, Thank you for your comments, I don't think that Fuller's have taken it too far, I think that Fuller's are trying to keep their pubs open for as long as possible, within the strict guidelines given to us by the government. The way that...More

Reviewed September 8, 2020 via mobile

On a day out to the New Forest, decided to grab a bite to eat before heading out on my walk, this nice, cosy pub was conveniently situated right next to where I parked my car. The staff were nice, friendly and very welcoming. I...ordered the rump steak, medium rare which was cooked perfectly, exactly how I like it. All in all I was happy with my visit and will definitely return again the next time I’m in the area.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
NewForestPub, General Manager at The New Forest, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2020

Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased to see you enjoyed your time here with us and hope to welcome you back when you visit again. Kind regards Annette

Reviewed September 5, 2020

Ate here in August on eat out deal. Online booking was simple, welcome friendly, and ordering system (app) worked well. Food was fine for a chain, but could be better. They did bring out the wrong dish, but quickly replaced it with the correct one....Garden is large with nice views. Shame the play area was closed (perfectly understandable) as it looked very good.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
NewForestPub, General Manager at The New Forest, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2020

Hi, Thank you for your kind words, and I am so pleased to see that we rectified the dish immediately. We do hope that you will return again and we look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards Annette

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
859 reviews
1.15 miles away
Ormonde House Hotel
679 reviews
2.10 miles away
Lime Wood Hotel
1,707 reviews
2.30 miles away
The White Rabbit
774 reviews
2.41 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Merritts Coffee Lounge
57 reviews
.22 miles away
Asha Bangladeshi Cuisine
164 reviews
.22 miles away
The Happy Cheese
611 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Longdown Activity Farm
675 reviews
.93 miles away
New Forest National Park
1,807 reviews
2.37 miles away
Eling Tide Mill Experience
94 reviews
2.41 miles away
New Forest Wildlife Park
1,372 reviews
1.27 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
dionne c
May 25, 2015|
Answer
Response from New Forest A | Property representative |
Yes we do have a play area situated in the garden area
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing