We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waterside Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Hastings Road | Hawkhurst Fish Farm, Hawkhurst TN18 4RT, England
1580754000
Website
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 126: English reviews
Northiam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Booked for afternoon tea on Mothers Day after having individual high tea at Waterside Cafe on several occasions. Extremely disappointed by the service and lunch, we arrived at 3pm and had our afternoon tea serviced to us whilst others were eating roast dinners, this mix of food should have been kept separate. We were served 3 scones which were lovely,... More 

Helpful?
Thank foodie9217
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our second visit and it definitely won't be the last. The welcome was warm, the food was lovely and the setting is superb with it being right next to the lakes.Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank John V
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Had tea at the cafe. Relaxing and pleasant experience. Good for meeting up with friends. Enjoyed people watching.

Helpful?
Thank maduracottage
Jasmin L, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Cafe, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely comment- we are glad you enjoy visiting our cafe! From the first of April we will be staying open until 5 (serving food until 4) so you will have even longer to relax with views of the lake. More 

Cranbrook, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have never been so disgusted as I was when I went to this establishment. Terrible service and food to match

Helpful?
Thank susanmorley78
Jasmin L, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Susan, I would be interested in hearing about what actually made your visit unpleasant. Please email us on info@hawkhurstfishfarm.co.uk so we can discuss this further. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited today with my daughter but was brush unhappy with the service I got. I wanted a bowl of chicken nuggets for my 1 year old and got told I could but I'd have to pay the price of a full meal! Thats £6 for some thing she wouldn't eat. On questioning this is got told I could of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruysch
Jasmin L, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Cafe, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with your visit. We have stopped serving the breakfast menu at 12 for almost a year now, and as this includes a bacon sandwich you would be correct in saying it isn't served after 12. However, from 12 we go on to serve our lunch menu which does currently include a BLT sandwich so... More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a wonderful, relaxing place to chillax. We enjoyed a pot of tea and a slice of cake. Sat outside on the decking overlooking the lake. Watching the ducks and birds and fish jumping out of the water. Staff are very helpful and happy. Quite busy today, but this shows how good it is here. There are different activities... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheNashers
Jasmin L, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. All our cakes as well as all the other items on the menu are home made and we use local ingredients where possible. We have a vast selection of wildfowl on site, and our swans have just started nesting on the island in front of the cafe! We look forward to seeing you again... More 

cefn coch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been using this cafe on and off for many years so we decided to have a run out and have a light lunch. Unfortunately there seems to have been some form of change as the service was really slow even though it was half empty, when the food arrived it was cold and undercooked, the waiter was indifferent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark P
Jasmin L, Public Relations Manager at Waterside Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the issues you had on your visit. I would be interested in hearing more about your visit, if you could email us at info@hawkhurstfishfarm.co.uk we would be happy to discuss this further with you. More 

Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2017

I have often gone to Hawkhurst Fish Farm to paint pottery at Slap 'n' Dash, and have frequently eaten at the Lakeside Cafe before, during or after a session. It's always a treat to go and sit in the cafe with food, or a drink, and watch all the activity of the ducks and swans on the lakes. There is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annelisa C
Dawn W, Owner at Waterside Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review of the café and our farm. I am very pleased that you enjoy your visits. The café is still under our management but over the past year we have employed a new Manageress and made some changes to our menu to improve the quality and standard of our food. The veggie burgers have not... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2017

My husband and i come here often for breakfast and cannot fault it. Had a lovely welcome by the staff when we went the day after they opened for New Year and the breakfast was (as always) delicious. Looking forward to warmer weather to enjoy eating outside again. We are both fishing fanatics but enjoy coming here for the tranquility... More 

Helpful?
Thank 55SPR
Dawn W, Owner at Waterside Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of our café. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again soon! More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2016

Good homemade Christmas meal very good value for £20.00 plus coffee and mince pie at the end of the meal and very friendly staff Wish they where open Christmas day Look no further as this is the place to go Great location

Helpful?
1 Thank deemanch
Dawn W, Owner at Waterside Cafe, responded to this review

Merry Christmas to you! Thank you for your kind review of our Christmas meal! We have a special Christmas Menu on until Christmas Eve and our food is all home cooked using quality produce by our in house chef and it certainly is wonderful and extremely good value! So pleased you enjoyed it and hope you will visit again soon! More 

Travelers who viewed Waterside Cafe also viewed

 
Hawkhurst, Kent
Hawkhurst, Kent
 

Been to Waterside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$19
Cuisine
British, Cafe
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hastings Road | Hawkhurst Fish Farm, Hawkhurst TN18 4RT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Hawkhurst
  • Phone Number: 1580754000
Description
Waterside Cafe is situated at Hawkhurst Fish Farm, a complex set in the perfectly quiet location between the Kent and Sussex border. It is a landscaped venue which includes planted gardens, scenic waterfalls and hosts a wide variety of wildfowl from assorted parts of the world making it an oasis of tranquility and an abundance of picturesque features. Our balconied cafe which overlooks the complex, offers a selection of Freshly cooked homemade food and deserts including all days breakfasts, cream teas, lunches & more! With beautiful surroundings, a relaxed atmosphere, free ample parking & open 7 days a week! Waterside Cafe is a favorite among locals and holiday makers alike. Waterside Cafe is currently open from 9am until 4pm daily (Serving food until 3:30pm) There are also three junior coarse ponds for Fun Fishing for children and adults! With rods & nets available for hire - No license required! Our water bailiff will be happy to give you some hints & tips to get you catching! (CLOSED until 13th February 2016) Kent Tackle - Kent's best stocked Tackle & Bait shop! All Things Aquatic - a friendly, family run aquatic shop, specialising in Marine, Tropical and Pond Fish! & Slap n Dash - Paint your own ceramics, Make a bear, clay imprints & more are also situated on our complex!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waterside Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?