We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Essence Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
| Amaan Kendwa Beach, Kendwa, Tanzania
+255 682 613 534
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2014

Few nights ago, I been with a coworker to eat at Essence Restaurant. it's a while that I live and work in Kendwa and I was really missing eating pizza. so I asked a friend if he knew a place where I could get a good one and he suggested me this restaurant. for sure, my expectation didn't been deluded... More 

Thank Fabio B
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2014

I experienced Essence Restaurant in Kendwa last August. The location is very romantic, perfect for couples and honeymoon trips. You can eat looking the wonderful beach of Kendwa and the Indian Ocean in front of you. Excellent and fresh the fish, I suggest the mix of grilled fish and the lobster. The restaurant offers a good level of white wines... More 

1 Thank Ursula_CCuneo
nirvanasha, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ursula, It was our pleasure to have made your dining experience in our Essence Restaurant, Kendwa a memorable one. We (Essence Chef and Servers) always try our best to make that experience last, whether it be your first or as a frequent visitor during your stay in Kendwa. Best wishes, Merry Christmas and a happy new Year More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

Ate here twice the food was so good. We went for the 25 euro menu on both occasions. The tuna carpaccio was okay but the lobster tagliatelle was incredible, my boyfriend is a chef and has worked and eaten in Michelin star restaurants and says it's the best pasta he's ever eaten. The sea food platter that then followed was... More 

1 Thank triptop3
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2014

Was visiting Zanzibar and stayed at Kendwa Beach and stumbled across this gem while walking on the beach with my wife and decided to try it. We shared the seafood platter as it was a fairly large portion. Strongly recommend this restaurant if you are in the area. The food is great and the staff takes it the extra mile.

Thank John S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2014

We came at 22:30 when all the restaurants were closed, including this one. When we asked if they were open, they said no but the chef overheard us and insisted on making us dinner even though they were closed. He said it's his job to feed people. We had the burger. And it was better than anything I've had in... More 

Thank Arnon R
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2014

It was a dinner we had and met the Indian Chef. The Biriyani we tried was nice, but they could not offer us the accompaniment of Raita as chef said, the yoghurt was not available. However We found the place good. Nice attentive Staff and good ambiance. The quality of food was also good.

Thank Koustoov M
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

We ventured out one night with our rather large tour group to this restaurant which was two resorts over from where we were staying. Our group of 20 wandered into this seemingly empty restaurant. Service: Considering our group (and a smaller group of 6) was THE only groups in this restaurant I was shocked by the lack of service. We... More 

1 Thank MrsKnicki
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We dined at Essence twice this month when staying at another resort on the island. Another group of travellers recommended it and we weren't disappointed. Decor was beautiful (especially at night when the outside beach seats were lit up), seafood was divine and the service was second to none. Would highly recommend the Coconut Seafood dish!

1 Thank Carolyn S
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Our group of 23 dined at Essence whilst on an overland tour of Africa in October. Firstly let me say that we were the only people in the restaurant apart from perhaps 2 or 3 other tables. The service we received was terrible. At one point the waiter brought out one too many drinks to our table. When we advised... More 

Thank Skye F
nirvanasha, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this review

First of all let me apologize for the inconvenience caused during your visit to our Essence Restaurant in October 2013. We do our best to please our guests, such as by offering to re order the meal at no extra charge or offer a discount. (upon inquiring with the Restaurant Manager you were offered both). Hope you will give us... More 

Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Essence is great. The food is awesome. I ate their 4 times during my stay! I was lured in by the free wifi but went back 3 more times (with all my friends) because the service was great and food was good. Let me tell you.. Good service in Africa is hard to find. The servers just don't really seem... More 

Thank Lauren M

Travelers who viewed Essence Restaurant also viewed

Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
Kendwa, Zanzibar Island

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$3 - $30
Indian, International, African, Seafood, Asian
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Amaan Kendwa Beach, Kendwa, Tanzania
  • Location: Africa  >  Tanzania  >  Zanzibar Archipelago  >  Zanzibar Island  >  Kendwa
  • Phone Number: +255 682 613 534

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Essence Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?