We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Essence Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
| Amaan Kendwa Beach, Kendwa, Tanzania
+255 682 613 534
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 75: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and a group of friends visited Zanzibar after climbing Kilimanjaro last September and often went to Essence for good value, tasty food! We were always happy with everything we ate and enjoyed the bread and oils that were given complimentary before we even ordered. I particularly would recommend the lobster tagliatelle that I still remember! The staff, particularly Tina,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather T
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

Awesome location, lounge style with great music, awesome cocktails.. only for that it is worth visiting. My meal was average (i had an appetizer and I seem to remember i had a fish curry) which was mediocre. Price wise in the same levels as in Europe. From all the meals i had in Zanzi, this was by far the one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sonia G
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

I stayed in Kendwa for a holiday with friends after climbing Kilimanjaro! We found Essence a really enjoyable place to eat and returned there several times during our visit. There was a large variety of reasonably priced and delicious meals. The restaurant itself is beautiful with a lovely calm atmosphere. The service was fantastic - a special mention must go... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachelmoar
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

We came here for dinner as a group of 9, looking for something to appeal to the tastes of the majority which at this time were inclined towards more Western offerings. The food was quite good although my choice of a Persian style dish that had chicken in it was average, bore no resemblance to any Persian food I ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kitbit151
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

Amazing!! Must visit. Great food and ambience. Great for a family meal or perfect for a cosy date! 5*

Helpful?
Thank Zahra M
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

Chewy meat and way overpriced.. By far the most expensive place we visited, and by far the worst food.. + they charge 10% on top of high prices. Good: Cozy atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Jesper M
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2016

This is the place to visit for indian food. The large menu offers a variety of other food from different kitchens but do not bother with them, the indian food is the best here. The service is good but somewhat theatrical something that some might like and some may not. Prices are reasonable. However, the toilets are not impressive at... More 

Helpful?
Thank matbit
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2016

Good restaurant with a wide range of dishes on the menu. However the Indian dishes are the best. Nice staff. Everyone in the group got their food at the same time which is rather unusual on Zanzibar. An extra star for that!

Helpful?
Thank Johannes H
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2016

"It is Amazing, It is delicious, It is uummwaaa" Words from a stuff called by name Abdul... fully name Abdulhamid. I´ve to tell you guys, that the starters, the food and the dessert was exactly as mr Abdul mentioned it ^^. The service was awesome, all stuff were so friendly even the Chief or restaurant manager and the vice manager... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John L
nirvanasha, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Essence Restaurant. Your review was relayed to all the staff mentioned and they are truly thankful. Hope to see you soon in Kendwa. Best wishes Shandy More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

very beautiful place. But Too much choice, Indian, Italian, Tanzanian...never a good sign. Large portion but still the food is ok. Staff is OK, except when they told us to change the table after 10 min because it was reserved, unacceptable. And the worst that was this little mousse witch crossed the restaurant, for me that was the end of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Youssef-Maria
nirvanasha, Guest Relations Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. However we do apologize on behalf of Management and staff for asking you to change tables, yes this is not acceptable. The Manager tells me that you did decide to come back the next day, and we thank you for giving us the pleasure to host you again.... More 

Travelers who viewed Essence Restaurant also viewed

Kendwa, Zanzibar Island
Michamvi, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$3 - $30
Cuisine
Indian, African, International, Seafood, Asian
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar
Good for
Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Amaan Kendwa Beach, Kendwa, Tanzania
  • Location: Africa  >  Tanzania  >  Zanzibar Archipelago  >  Zanzibar Island  >  Kendwa
  • Phone Number: +255 682 613 534
Description
ESSENCE IS LOCATED ON KENDWA BEACH NEXT TO KENDWA BEACH RESORT. FREE half hour WI-FI,large groups welcome

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Essence Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?