We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pool Room at Oak Valley

Oak Valley Estate | Oak Avenue, Elgin 7180, South Africa
+27 21 859 4111
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (24 reviews)
“pork” (15 reviews)
“salad” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
French, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Oak Valley Estate | Oak Avenue, Elgin 7180, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 184 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2017

A local contact told me that the Pool Room at Oak Valley winery is very good for lunch - I completely agree. Many of the people having lunch were using it to sample the wines made at the winery. I had a couple and can...More

Thank MrBok
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2017

Dear Mr Bok, Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed it!! We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed April 30, 2017

Beautiful setting and the food was wonderful. Absolutly faultless! The restaurant is laid back, lovely decor and so relaxing! The winelist is extensive, a bit pricey. Overall the food and wine and atmosphere just blended and made it a wonderful lunch venue. Expensive, would only...More

Thank Spiake
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Dear Spiake, Thank you for the lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed it and so look forward to inviting you back! Thank you

Reviewed April 16, 2017

We were being shown around some wine estates and we stopped for lunch at The Pool Room. What a fabulous setting. It was just a very short walk from the car park through a really attractive area to the Pool Room. We arrived a little...More

Thank akay07
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind words! It makes our day to receive such fantastic feedback - Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

A TripAdvisor Member
312
Reviewed March 21, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful setting, no swimming in the pool. It looks so very inviting especially with such hot weather being experienced at the moment. Efficient staff. Breakfast delicious

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2017

Thank you! We are so pleased you enjoyed it!

Reviewed March 21, 2017 via mobile

Great restaurant after an exhilarating morning cycling.Views superb...drive to get there very scenic. Cape seed bread...to die for..

Thank DianeZiets
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2017

Thank you Diane, we are so pleased you enjoyed it!

Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

I was taken there for lunch on my Birthday and I was pleasantly surprised on the tranquil setting. Once the lovely waitress explained how basically everything on the menu comes the farm - I was excited. Food was fantastic and well presented. Been back again...More

Thank Extravagant_12
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017

Dear Extravagant_12, Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed it! We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards

Reviewed February 23, 2017 via mobile

Thank you team Oak Valley always happy returns, friendly smiles and intimate service with a host that sees a face and remembers, makes you feel comfortable, good chatting and banter and very very good food, exceptional baguette!

Thank Shanaaz H
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2017

Dear Shanaaz, Thank you for the lovely review! it was great to see you both again, we are so pleased you continue to enjoy it, Baguettes and all ;-)

Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile

From the excellent wines, to the exemplary food and service, this had to be one of most delightful stops on our vacation. You simply must go, savour the setting and food. u won't be disappointed

Thank Somerton1968
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2017

Thank you Somerton for your lovely review - we are so pleased you joined us on your holiday and we could add to your experience! Kind regards Emma and Gordon

Reviewed February 13, 2017

The best part of this restaurant is the beautiful setting alongside a long swimming pool, all set in an enormous old garden. The food was overpriced and really quite average, even though the chef was trying to talk it up at the table next to...More

2  Thank Challan3
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

Thank you Challan for your review, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal, as owner operators we take all reviews to heart. Please bare in mind that it is the food and beverage spend that maintains the beautiful pool and gardens...More

Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

Lovely venue and very friendly and welcoming manager. The breakfast menu is very limited with not many exiting options. There was another party of people who were busy having the picnic brunch option which looked very nice. When we asked if it would be possible...More

1  Thank ELBIE V
PoolRoomRest, Owner at The Pool Room at Oak Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2017

Thank you Elbie for your review, it was good to see you again! Unfortunately we do not serve picnic items in the restaurant. Thank you

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Peregrine Farm Stall
218 reviews
1.07 miles away
Fresh at Paul Cluver
164 reviews
2.02 miles away
Bon Appetit Keam
11 reviews
2.49 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Peregrine Farm Stall
128 reviews
1.08 miles away
Cape Canopy Tour
415 reviews
6.07 miles away
Honingklip Brewery
45 reviews
10.33 miles away
Vergelegen Estate
626 reviews
10.81 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Tania d
January 18, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Caroline T | Reviewed this property |
I was recently at the Pool Room for lunch and there was a table of people who had a small dog with them so I don't foresee it being a problem.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $20
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 am
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:00 am
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 am
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:00 am
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:00 am
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 am
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Oak Valley Estate | Oak Avenue, Elgin 7180, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Elgin
  • Phone Number: +27 21 859 4111
  • E-mail
Description
Relax on The Pool Room terrace, relishing country inspired cuisine, with ingredients sourced from the farm where possible. Feast on free range grass-fed beef, acorn-fed pork, charcuterie, naturally grown vegetables and freshly baked artisanal breads from the wood-burning oven. Wagyu, the famous cattle breed from Japan, where it is better known as Kobe beef, will be on offer from time-to-time depending on availability. Wagyu is a delicacy famous for its incredible marbling and flavour.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing