We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lavenders Tea Rooms

The Forge The Square | The Square, Thornton-Le-Dale YO18 7RN, England
+44 1751 475013
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good19%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“cakes” (23 reviews)
“tea cake” (8 reviews)
“clotted cream” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Forge The Square | The Square, Thornton-Le-Dale YO18 7RN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 208 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2017

Much improved on our last visit. The food was really good and lovely to have gluten free options if required. We were surprised to have a quite lunch however the tea room was normally closed on the day we visited. Lovely little village and lovely...More

Thank KFox24
Howard D, Owner at Lavenders Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Thank you for your review, your comments are greatly appreciated!

Reviewed October 19, 2017

Lunch here before leaving for home. Disappointingly despite it only being 1.30pm a number of menu items were unavailable. However, my eventual choice of Posh Cheese on Toast was lovely, if on the pricey side. It came with the gorgeous red onion relish and a...More

Thank Moonstone67
Howard D, Owner at Lavenders Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Hello Moonstone, thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated. We are sorry that some menu choices were unavailable at the time of your visit.

Reviewed October 9, 2017

We enjoyed our visit here, indeed so much so that we headed in twice in one day. The staff were very accommodating to our request and the food was really good. The specials menu was also very reasonably priced. I was surprised by how expensive...More

Thank WhosZach
Howard D, Owner at Lavenders Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Thank you for your review and your comments are greatly appreciated at the tea room!

Reviewed October 3, 2017

Always stop here for coffee and cake when visiting Thornton Le Dale. Nice welcoming atmosphere, lovely staff. Good food reasonably priced.

Thank atwoodcath
Howard D, Owner at Lavenders Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Hello and thank you very much for your review, your comments are greatly appreciated!

Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

This tea rooms was ok but not great. After a week of cream teas this was mid range. The scones were nice enough but the bacon sandwich was not great, the coffee awful. Tables were also sticky (my daughters notepad stuck so badly we had...More

Thank Katie M
Howard D, Owner at Lavenders Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Hello Katie, thank you for your review, sorry you were disappointed with your visit. If you had made us aware of the issues we would have resolved these for you straightaway.

Reviewed September 14, 2017

Beautiful tea room with plenty of charm and character. Exceptional service carried out by very friendly and courteous staff.

Thank Jackie H
Howard D, Owner at Lavenders Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Hi Jackie, thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated!

Reviewed September 2, 2017

Stopped here today for lunch and certainly not disappointed. I had the quiche with mixed salad and my husband the garden lunch - both orders were beautifully presented with the freshest of produce. Staff were very pleasant and all in all it was a lovely...More

Thank patrick d
Howard D, Owner at Lavenders Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Thank you Patrick, your comments are very much appreciated!

Reviewed August 31, 2017

A solo lunch for me - chose a table in the fragrant lavender garden. Ordered the quiche and salad and a pot of tea. Other options included sandwiches,platters, soup and a variety of cakes and sweet treats - the specialty being lavender scones. My order...More

Thank Moonstone67
Howard D, Owner at Lavenders Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Hello, and thank you for your review, your comments are greatly appreciated and taken on-board.

Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

We called for lunch today. It was busy. We were given a seat promptly in comfortable surroundings and advised that there was a wait for food, which we were quite happy to do. Our garden salad was truly worth the wait. Everything was fresh and...More

Thank Pam M
Howard D, Owner at Lavenders Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Hello Pam, your comments are greatly appreciated, thank you!

Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

The sun was shining so we sat outside. Our order was soon taken after much deliberation the scones with jam and butter was the choice with lovely lattes to drink. They were served warm and the jam look homemade. They were delicious and full of...More

Thank Christine C
Howard D, Owner at Lavenders Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Thank you Christine, your comments are greatly appreciated!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Brandysnap Bistro
184 reviews
.06 miles away
The New Inn
231 reviews
.03 miles away
Balderson's Ice Cream Parlour
68 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
North Yorkshire Moors Railway
3,265 reviews
2.43 miles away
Go Ape Dalby
337 reviews
3.36 miles away
Flamingo Land Resort
154 reviews
4.05 miles away
Thornton le Dale Motor Museum
44 reviews
.17 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Toots T
June 1, 2015|
Answer
Response from Howard D | Property representative |
Hi, yes outside on the forecourt no problem Thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Forge The Square | The Square, Thornton-Le-Dale YO18 7RN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Thornton-Le-Dale
  • Phone Number: +44 1751 475013
  • E-mail
Description
Tea room in the heart of Thornton Le Dale where you can choose from an array of tempting treats and surround yourself with the quaint charm of our 14th Century building. If you are enjoying a holiday here at Thornton Le Dale maybe you would like to consider a day out with one of our picnic hampers. We have a variety of hampers on offer for you to choose from. All we need is a date and a time and your freshly made up hamper will be waiting for you. You can also take advantage of our delivery service if you so wish.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing