We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Mills

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Mills Square, Chora 840 01, Greece
00302286091284
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 115: English reviews
Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

They let me have a seat in a very busy and hot night in a kind of a square under a mill (nice location). The restaurant was busy so I had to wait for a while to order. The food was ok. I had dolmades which I usually like a lot... unfortunately they put a sauce on them which I... More 

Helpful?
Thank RegA509
pancevo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The best restaurant in Ios. The food is delicious and stuff is very kind. The portions are very big and tasty. You can sit inside or outside. Mills has the best food on the island.

Helpful?
Thank Tatjana T
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Truly a nice, familial type, taverna. The menu is diverse, the speciality being the grill on pit. Beware, the plates are enormous. And it is full of taste Bread is coming without order. This is by far the best value meal I had so far during my time in Greece. For your own info...the name "the Mills" should suggest to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beaucarp
Bahrain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant is located at the top of the Chora (Town) next to the derelict Mills hence the name. There is plenty of space so no need to book but it does get very busy and for good reason as the food is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had food here twice on recent holiday. It's a great restaurant. The food is delicious and very reasonably price. Beautiful location too, with a great view.

Helpful?
Thank DarraghMcS
Athens
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was pretty average. The ios salad was extremely salty and when we mentioned that to the owner he said that this is the way they do it ... Grilled calamari was good but frozen not fresh. French fries were very good.

Helpful?
Thank Kostas_jp120
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you want to wait 2 hours just get served bread then go here and waste your time. We hard prebooked this place in advance for dinner. The setting was OK but service and food were pathetic and staff really unfriendly and in a mode fight. They really did not care. It took almost 30 minutes for the waiter to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sonal A
aristea87, Ιδιοκτήτης at The Mills, responded to this review

Dear Madam, thanks for writing but as you can remember the restaurant was totally crowed and everyone order on his row! It does not matter if you had prebooked, we serve our customers on same way, nobody has priority! Then you never waited such a lot time! All our dishes are fresh and are cooked the time when you order,... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Turistic. If you know a little about greek cuisine, you'll never come a second time. Price are a little cheaper then other places, but definitely not worth, since in holidays we want to eat well, right?

Helpful?
Thank Piero D
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice atmosphere, good food, especially the salad and the saganaki cheese. Very helpful stuff and good prices.

Helpful?
Thank danaekar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I ate here last night, it was a great experience. The owner and his staff are extremely courteous, professional and efficient. There was a great atmosphere at the restaurant and everyone was sitting outside. Beautiful view of Ios and the food was top class. I'll certainly be going back and I have to say the price was very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Catherine A

Travelers who viewed The Mills also viewed

 

Been to The Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$14 - $28
Cuisine
Mediterranean, Greek
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mills Square, Chora 840 01, Greece
  • Location: Europe  >  Greece  >  South Aegean  >  Cyclades  >  Ios  >  Chora
  • Phone Number: 00302286091284

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Mills staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?