We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tigh Na Mara Hotel

Main Street, Sandhead DG99JF, Scotland
+44 1776 830210
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good29%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (9 reviews)
“prawns” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Sandhead DG99JF, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 210 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Great place for a bar lunch by the open fire, well priced great food, wonderful staff warm and friendly

Thank Ian B
Reviewed 3 days ago

A lovely family run Hotel snug comfortable room pet friendly. Fantastic food and service . Opposite park and beach for the dogs loved the little village stayed there the night before we caught ferry to Ireland from Stranraer. Will definately will return

Thank SuzieQ32
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and son and I visited this lovely restaurant in an often forgotten corner of Scotland last weekend. We all ordered the slow cooked beef with all the traditional Sunday Roast trimmings and it was delicious. We were well looked after by the staff...More

Thank Colin S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our return visit to Sandhead after a gap of 30+ years and the owners have certainly improved and upgraded it in that time. We stopped there for Sunday lunch after a coastal walk and got a friendly welcome. Our request to move to...More

Thank Jane S
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were made very welcome and so were our 2 dogs. It was great to be able to eat in the bar instead of being banished to a beer garden. The staff took our order promptly and the meals arrived quickly. The lentil soup was...More

Thank Margaret W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this for a night last minute having stayed here twice previously. Having left it to the last minute we could only stay for a night as they were fully booked. Our home for the night was 'the end cottage' which was a wee...More

Thank MissLauraO
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

With having 4 children going out for lunch is a rare occurrence for us, we choose the tig as we had been here for food a few times as we have always felt the food was good and the service was normal on par too,but...More

3  Thank Wylie T
NIF29, Owner at Tigh Na Mara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

In response to your review, I can understand that finding a caterpillar in your salad leaves was a rather unwelcome added extra. Our salad leaves are bought in bulk, pre-prepared and pre-packed and are fresh and of the highest quality. Would you have preferred to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had the early bird dinner. Food ok, cod in batter very tasty, but no vegetables on the children's meals although they were clearly listed on the menu. They probably wouldn't have eaten them but we do like to offer them so as to at least...More

Thank Maccvisitor
NIF29, Owner at Tigh Na Mara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review, I'm very sorry your children didn't receive their vegetables , however if you had brought this to our attention then this issues could of been resolved in minutes. I do believe the waitress asked, however didn't get a clear answer, as...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Go every year for our Anniversary. Have been going for the last eight years. Always had good service and staff are very friendly. Food is always excellent and that is why we always travel from Kilmarnock. We have never been let down yet.

Thank Pat H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place really is a hidden gem. Set opposite the beach, inside it is really well set out, although if you are slightly claustrophobic see if you can book a window seat! Service was friendly and efficient. However the food is an absolute highlight. From...More

Thank Heather S
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Woodlea Tearoom
50 reviews
.09 miles away
Knockinaam Lodge
69 reviews
4.92 miles away
The old Colfin creamery
5 reviews
4.27 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Logan Botanic Garden
291 reviews
4.53 miles away
Glenwhan Gardens
96 reviews
6.13 miles away
Smugglers Cove Gift Shop
63 reviews
6.66 miles away
Castle Kennedy Gardens
228 reviews
6.92 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bevr99
April 30, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bluesboy52 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure
0
Votes
Michael S
August 19, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Junie0628 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, sorry have only eaten there, can certainly recommend the food, I'm sure they must have hairdryers as owner has been in hotel business for many years.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Sandhead DG99JF, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Mull of Galloway  >  Sandhead
  • Phone Number: +44 1776 830210
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing