We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ship Inn

$$ - $$$
British, Pub, Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5 Shore Street, Drummore DG9 9PU, Scotland
+44 1776 840515
Website
Today
3:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri 3:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Sat 5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Rowlands Gill
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2016

Enjoyed good food and good hospitality here. Very traditional little pub, warm and cosy with a good logburner.

Helpful?
Thank ChriswRowlandsGill
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2016

Wholesome food, friendly service. Menu fairly small but varied, including vegetarian. Generous portions. Absolutely no complaints.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

Called into the local pub whilst on holiday. A quaint pub not spoilt and turned into one of these big chain souless all look the same pubs. Nice atmosphere, friendly greeting from all in pub. Ordered food , delivered quickly and lots of it. Well cooked and very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Berni M
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2016

Staying locally in Drummore we thought we'd eat at The Ship. Two of the recent TripAdvisor reviews were less than complimentary so we thought we would try it and decide for ourselves. And very pleased we were. There were locals around the bar - and why not? The clue is in the name - locals - and it is their... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeterT32
Jennifer S, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive feedback. We pride ourselves on our freshly prepared food and glad you enjoyed your meal. Look forward to seeing you again. More 

Northumberland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2016

Recent week's stay at Drummore. My wife and I had numerous meals at The Ship Inn all of which were excellent. Thanks to the owners and locals for being so friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Pypra
Jennifer S, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is appreciated and glad you enjoyed your meals. More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2016

Recent stay on Mull of Galloway, Wife and I were stuck for place to eat one evening at end of July. Decided to try the Ship Inn at Drummore. I can only say to any one contemplating going to this Pub, DONT. Ambiance nil. Service poor. Food awful. Locals and staff seemed to spend most of the time hogging the... More 

Helpful?
Thank GarrodScotland
Jennifer S, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the food. All food is made fresh to order and looking back to the time of your approximate visit I can see no complaints about poor service or poor quality food. We will be re-brief all staff on service procedures. The bar is quite small but unfortunately we can't tell people where... More 

1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Food burnt and undercooked no matter how busy it shouldn't have been served paid a lot for something I couldn't eat very disappointed usually good food unfortunately won't be back due too this.

Helpful?
Thank emma a
Jennifer S, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

We are disappointed with your comments. We have a policy of asking customers if everything is alright with their meal. If you had a problem we would have re-cooked your meal, exchanged it for something else or deducted it from your bill. We do not understand why you would not complain at the time and pay for something you did... More 

Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

The food was actually relatively good. However be prepared to be sat in the village bar while you eat. That brings all sorts into ear shot so your not going to get a private quiet meal unless the bar is empty.

Helpful?
Thank Dale R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2016

Lovely food,staff very nice,enjoyable evening.Cosy little pub near the harbour with a good range of soft drinks/coffee if your the designated driver!

Helpful?
Thank Janice B
HOLMFIRTH
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2016

Called into Drummore after visiting Mull of Galloway and by accident found the Ship Inn. Great friendly traditional pub with good food. Very pleasant place and we really enjoyed our visit. Will certainly call again when in this area. Goods beer as well , and dogs allowed in bar area.

Helpful?
Thank JOHN G
Jennifer S, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. More 

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Drummore, Mull of Galloway
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Drummore, Mull of Galloway
Sandhead, Mull of Galloway
 
Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$20
Cuisine
British, Pub, Bar
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
3:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Shore Street, Drummore DG9 9PU, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Mull of Galloway  >  Drummore
  • Phone Number: +44 1776 840515

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Ship Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?