We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

L'entrecote Saint-Jean

Certificate of Excellence
$
Downtown Quebec City
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1080, rue Saint-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S4, Canada
(418) 694-0234
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tue - Wed 11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Thu - Fri 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Sat 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 367 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 142
    Excellent
  • 128
    Very good
  • 66
    Average
  • 24
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Sweet little place

Mine was a quick dinner of steak with fries which was served in the classic French bistro style. It wasn't remarkable. It was exactly what I expected. The wait staff were kind, helpful, and completely hospitable.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 weeks ago
jcox40
,
Montgomery, Alabama
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portage, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The restaurant was attractive. The food was adequate. The waiter was without a doubt the most shockingly obnoxious member of his profession that I have ever encountered. He was so awful that I still marvel that I did not get up and leave after he took my order. I felt like a sandwich for lunch, so I asked for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
ReponseClient, Responsable relations publiques at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi Jayne, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this situation may have caused and we are sorry to hear that you do not wish to come back to our restaurant. Please accept our apologies and rest assured that it won't happen. We still hope we get the chance to have you again in... More 

Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Mine was a quick dinner of steak with fries which was served in the classic French bistro style. It wasn't remarkable. It was exactly what I expected. The wait staff were kind, helpful, and completely hospitable.

Helpful?
Thank jcox40
ReponseClient, Responsable relations publiques at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for this amazing review! We strive to provide our guests with an outstanding french cuisine experience in a friendly ambiance, and we are extremely glad to see that all those efforts paid off on your visit! Thanks again! More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

specialty is steak frites, which was not so at all. the 5oz we (3people) all ordered had no flavour whatsoever. tough with a line of gristle throughout. Very dissapointed to say the least for the $20odd cost. We rarely go out for steak and were really hoping for a delicious meal too. soup was good, salad lame, flavourless gravy. dessert... More 

Helpful?
Thank wongreizes
ReponseClient, Responsable relations publiques at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to read that dinner was not perfectly to your taste. It is always easier for us to solve any issue while you are still with us; next time, please do not hesitate to share your comments with our staff. We will always make sure... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

Good tasty food, fast and friendly service, and nice variety in the menu. It was a nice stop to get out of the cold and have a hot meal in a warm friendly atmosphere. Prices are reasonable - in line with everything else around here.

Helpful?
Thank andreoutdoors
ReponseClient, Responsable relations publiques at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are glad to read how much you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again very soon! More 

Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

The food at L'entrecote Saint-Jean is excellent to say the least. No only do the waiters know their menu back to front but they can also describe every wine on the menu, an often rare ability. It's a great restaurant and one I'll surely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Mpsaw
ReponseClient, Responsable relations publiques at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is always a great pleasure to read kind words about us! We hope you'll drop by on your next visit! More 

Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
349 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Being a busy time in Quebec, we purposely made dinner reservations ahead for time for each night that we were going to be in town. Yet again they did not care and we had to wait in line. When I asked if the people ahead of us had reservations they said no, I told them that I have reservations and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mindful_Travels
ReponseClient, Responsable relations publiques at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi, We're very sorry to hear that you did not fully appreciate your experience with us. We always do our best to offer our guests the best service. We still hope you'll give us a second chance to impress you! More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

We ordered the steak it came warm with the fries, not hot, the service was terrible, didn't offer any wine, didn't bring the lemon asked, didn't refill the bread, didn't refill the water. Found her to be rude and not caring, rushing us out. We were a family of 4. Our 2 children meals came really cold, reheated the same... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha M
ReponseClient, Responsable relations publiques at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi Samantha, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are sorry to read that you didn't totally enjoy your experience. We always want to make sure every single guest receives an outstanding customer service. As we are committed in nothing else but the best French experience in Beautiful Quebec, please be sure that we... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

We had a wonderful time at L'entrecote Saint-Jean. The atmosphere and service were top notch and the food was delicious. I highly recommend their special dish of steak and pommes frites with their special mustard sauce. It was spectacular. Prices are reasonable for such quality and the service was great, especially since we don't speak French.

Helpful?
Thank Matt B
ReponseClient, Responsable relations publiques at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi Matt, What a great pleasure for us to read such amazing comments! We are happy to know about the great experience you had. We hope to have you again very soon. More 

Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

I hadn't been back to this restaurant for over 10 years (went for diner), but I had fond memories of the food and service. This time I went there for lunch and we were a group of over 20 people. The food was great! There was a lot of fries and my steak was cooked perfectly. The service was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank sdegagne
ReponseClient, Responsable relations publiques at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review

Hi, First of all, let us wish you a welcome back! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your excellent review with us. See you again very soon! More 

Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

I found the waitresses to come across as very snooty and stuck up. I have a peanut allergy and usually I would not bother to mention it for something like steak and fries which I had ordered. But for some reason I did mention it and she informed me they cook their fries in peanut oil. I was fine with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B

Travelers who viewed L'entrecote Saint-Jean also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to L'entrecote Saint-Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1080, rue Saint-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S4, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Quebec  >  Quebec City>  > Downtown Quebec City
  • Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
  • Phone Number: (418) 694-0234

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: French, Steakhouse

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from L'entrecote Saint-Jean staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?