We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Il Focolaio

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Neighborhood:
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1223 Square-Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3E9, Canada
514-879-1045
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Il Focolaio and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 438 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 228
    Excellent
  • 170
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Really good pizza!

There is a lot of different options for pizza. The ones we ordered were really delicious. The service is nice. Be sure to make a reservation before going there. If you like pizza, you should definitely give it a try there.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 days ago
Sertel K
,
Ankara, Turkey
Add Photo Write a Review

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There is a lot of different options for pizza. The ones we ordered were really delicious. The service is nice. Be sure to make a reservation before going there. If you like pizza, you should definitely give it a try there.

Helpful?
Thank Sertel K
Sergio G, Manager at Il Focolaio, responded to this review

Hi Sertel, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and coming by Il Focolaio's, we appreciate your business. Indeed, we do have quite a few options with 75 pizza choices, 5 salad variations, 5 calzones, 3 sausage and submarine options! We definitely have something for all taste buds. Looking forward to serving you again Sertel! Be... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Two of us ordered puzza and I ordered the sausage plate. Sausage very tasting and cooked well (split in half and fried). Excellent plain salad with oil and olives. Probably 60+ pizza variations to try and my companions enjoyed them. Would return ... after trying some of the many other restaurants around downtown.

Helpful?
Thank John H
Sergio G, Manager at Il Focolaio, responded to this review

Hi John, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and coming by Il Focolaio's for lunch, we appreciate your business. Indeed, we have 75 pizza choices, 5 salad variations, 5 calzones, 3 sausage and submarine options! We definitely have choices for all taste buds. Looking forward to serving you again John! Be well and as always,... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Where do I start? This is by far the best pizza in Montreal, hands down, no argument. First of all you have all the choices you could ever ask for (my personal favorite is the #27)! The crust is delicious and the enumerable options make it so that whatever you are craving they probably have it on the menu. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex T
Sergio G, Manager at Il Focolaio, responded to this review

WOW, WOW and WOW thank you Alex!! We cannot ask for a better review, I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your experience at Il Focolaio. We are very much looking forward to having you back and serving you! Did you know, we also offer submarines, salads and calzoni? - some "food for thought"! See you soon and buon appetito! More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

A little crowded, but the staff do everything they can to make it easier. They have an huge selection of pizza, though there did not seem to be anything very unusual. They have very good beer on tap, which you can get by the pitcher. I tried one of the anchovy pizzas and quite enjoyed it.

Helpful?
Thank Dan468
Sergio G, Manager at Il Focolaio, responded to this review

Hi Dan468, Thank you for taking the time to write us! We appreciate your business. I am happy to see you enjoyed your meal. The Il Focolaio team would be thrilled to serve you again. Be well and as always, buon appetito! More 

Saint Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you like wood fired pizza, this place can be your choice and it was good for my family. I personally didn't like the taste of dough because it was too plain. And I made reservation but they didn't save our seats. Those are the points that I give 3 star. The portion were big for individual size so we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yunju2011
Sergio G, Manager at Il Focolaio, responded to this review

Hi Alyce, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for your business! I am please to see you enjoyed your experience and meal. It would be out pleasure to serve you again :) Have a wonderful day! More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great pizza, fresh ingredients...we ordered so many (8) for our large group they added some freebies. Hot and fresh from the oven when we arrived.

Helpful?
Thank Alyce G
Sergio G, Manager at Il Focolaio, responded to this review

Hi Alyce, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for your business! I am please to see you enjoyed your experience and meal. It would be out pleasure to serve you again :) Have a wonderful day! More 

Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying in the hotel next door and visited this restaurant one night for dinner as we noticed it was constantly busy. The pizza dough was fresh, the toppings were great, and the ambience was buzzing. They also have English menus for us Australian's that can't read French. Only problem was there was too much to choose from on... More 

Helpful?
Thank alines
Sergio G, Manager at Il Focolaio, responded to this review

Hi Alines, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for trying us out while in Montreal. I am happy to see you enjoyed the food, we definitely have options for all dietary restrictions and taste buds! Hope to see you back on your next visit. Safe travels! More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there after a long day of family fun. We were cold and tired and the restaurant was packed. We didn't have a reservation, but a table was getting up so we were seated right away. The tables are so close together, you will feel cramped. The pizza menu is extensive, you will feel overwhelmed. So, we ordered a beer... More 

Helpful?
Thank HelenAKord
Sergio G, Manager at Il Focolaio, responded to this review

Hi HelenAKord, Thank you for taking the time to write to us and for having tried Il Focolaio with your family. We are glad you enjoy the food, there are options for all taste buds, that's for sure! It would be a pleasure to serve you and your family again. Be well and as always, buon appetito! More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been 4 times now and never disappointed! Although it is thin crust pizza they put on plenty of very tasty toppings. The pizza will fill you up and likely you will end up taking a 1/4 or 1/2 home. With 75 to choose from, you will find something you will love! They range in price from $12-15.75 ***if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
Sergio G, Manager at Il Focolaio, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, WOW, what a fantastic review - Thank you for your support and repeat business, we cannot ask for anything more. It seems like you have done the tour of the menu!! We also have some interesting calzone and submarine options you might want to take a look at. It would be our pleasure to serve you again. Be... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for late afternoon lunch on a Saturday with my boyfriend. The restaurant was fairly busy, but we had no problem getting seated. The staff were very friendly, quickly realising we were English and offered us the translated menu. There was a vast array of choices (over 70 different combinations). Although slightly overwhelming, there is something to satisfy every dietary... More 

Helpful?
Thank LaraRachel
Sergio G, Manager at Il Focolaio, responded to this review

Hi LaraRachel, Thank you for taking the time to write us a commentary! I am happy to see you enjoyed your experience at Il Focolaio and appreciated the variety we offer. We try our best to accommodate our clients' preferences and dietary restrictions, as you mentioned. We surely hope to serve you again! Buon appetito :) More 

Travelers who viewed Il Focolaio also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Il Focolaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1223 Square-Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3E9, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Quebec  >  Montreal>  > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
  • Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
  • Phone Number: 514-879-1045

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 30
  • Cuisine: Italian, Pizza

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Il Focolaio and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Il Focolaio staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighborhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
#