We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$12 - $54
CUISINES
European, French, Cafe
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Sponsored by: Duc de Lorraine

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. The view
1. The view
"an amazing view, then Duc is the way to go!"
alalisainfo
See reviews that mention parisian cafe
2. The pastries
2. The pastries
"OMG their mille-feuille is seriously the best."
Nicolas E
See reviews that mention mille feuille
3. The bistro
3. The bistro
"Visiting Duc de Lorraine was like taking a step into a Parisian cafe "
alalisainfo
See reviews that mention parisian cafe
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
161
56
20
15
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
161
56
20
15
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch croissants salad saint joseph pastry shop latte butter servers mtl
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing food ! Excelent menu options for breakfast, brunch and dinner . Nice staff , wonderful coffe and oh my God ! French pastries ! Definitely recommend. Honest price

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Restaurant's Favorite
Reviewed November 7, 2021 via mobile

Our granddaughter chose this restaurant for brunch on her birthday. We have been here before. We, 4 of us, chose different dishes from the extensive menu. They all were superb, well prepared, appetizing and beautifully presented and all tasted delicious. The service was quite prompt...and maître de was most professional and charming. He brought complimentary pastry with sparklers for the birthday girl and him and few of his coworkers sang happy birthday. It was a most pleasant brunch and that would not be our last one. I highly recommend it. And by the way it is best known in Montreal for French pastries and specialty cakes.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?5  
Victoria Sorensen, Owner at Duc de Lorraine, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2022

Hello 639iqbalp, We're humbled by your beautiful review! It's so wonderful to read, thank you for all your compliments. This year we celebrate 70 years of business, we have many loyal customers like yourself to thank! We look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed our brunch here. Positives - great to eat outside. Our server was attentive and helpful. Most of the food was delicious. Coffee - very good. Negatives - I had a Benedictine St Joseph which comes with some fruit - the pear was rock...solid / unripe and inedible. It’s also fairly expensive - we paid £100 for two - a brunch dish each and two coffees plus one pastry.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a long trip to St Joseph’s this was the perfect place to sit and enjoy the gorgeous weather and delicious food. We had gorgeous salads with the most tender grilled chicken ever! There were two breasts, not one. The greens were the freshest, and...the salad was delightfully varied with buttered almonds, chick peas, yellow peas, all marinated. It had a few beets, along with cucumbers, tomatoes, red cabbage, and a house-made vinaigrette. Pricey, but delicious!!!!More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Victoria Sorensen, Owner at Duc de Lorraine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Tina for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We celebrate 70 years of business this year, proudly as Montreal's oldest French patisserie! We are very passionate about what we do, our Chef meticulously uses the best of ingredients to...More

Reviewed May 9, 2022

The outdoor setting is lovely. It is a good thing that the ambiance was so pleasant while as we had to wait almost one hour for our food. The service was so bad that it was almost laughable. Let’s start with the coffee. My sister...waited until her coffee was cold until the cream she had requested came. My friend order the avocado toast but there was no avocado at early lunchtime. So she selected an Eggs Benedict instead. She wanted it served on a croissant instead of bagel. The waiter flat out refused. She then asked for two poached eggs and a croissant. The croissant came (without the jam and butter she asked for). Then finally two watery, tepid eggs appeared. She said they were awful. The restaurant charged $10 for the two eggs! My selection came after another long wait. A croissant sandwich with ham and cheese. How can that be tasteless? I don’t know but it was. My sister ordered a Croque Monsieur with a salad. It came with fries, no salad. Finally after a long wait, the salad came too. The Croque Monsieur was cold! The waiter (who turned out to be the manager) was unresponsive to our concerns, his attitude verging on rudenesss. We were flabbergasted by the lousy food and the incredibly bad service. The bill was an exorbitant $107 and we left upset and hungry. Even the offer of free dessert did not diminish our sense of having been royally ripped off.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?4  
Victoria Sorensen, Owner at Duc de Lorraine, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2022

Good afternoon MoniqueW502, We thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We would love a chance to speak with you, so we may learn more about your visit and how so many errors were made with your table. We pride ourselves...More

Reviewed April 25, 2022 via mobile

Very disappointing. Was a favourite will never return. Don’t treat customers with respect. They sit you and take no care of you are satisfied. Tables on top of each other, would think COVID doesn’t exist. Staff wearing flimsy non-recommended hospital masks not N 95 safety...masks. Not enough servers. Lost 2 1/2 hours went for late breakfast. Turned out to be early supper. Kept having to put more money in the meter. Some Menu items do not include exact description and NO substitutions are given, 2022-never heard of that -not the place for people with special dietary needs. They don’t want our business. Had a problem with an order, waited and waited and waited for another order, waitress said the orders go in as given, not right. If there was a mistake order should’ve been put in front of the line not to wait for MANY NEW TABLES to get their meals. MENU PRICES- more expensive than when I ate in Paris at Hotel Georges V.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?4  
Victoria Sorensen, Owner at Duc de Lorraine, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2022

Hello Sandy, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Covid has had a great impact, and I do understand your frustrations as a result. On the 12th of March the Quebec government announced our capacity could go back to 100%, with...More

Reviewed April 17, 2022

Be very cautious when you buy cakes and tarts from them. Their packaging is not made for transportation, cakes and tarts are not properly stored. By the time you bring it home they’ve melted or collapsed, the cream fruit tarts fall apart when you take...them out of the box. I am very disappointed in their service and quality.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Victoria Sorensen, Owner at Duc de Lorraine, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2022

Hi Kindersly, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. This is certainly not the experience we wish to offer to our wonderful customers, would you please contact us today at info@ducdelorraine.ca ? We have special boxes that are designed for 2,...More

Reviewed January 9, 2022

Excellent pastries and tea! I had a plain and almond croissant with a latte. The croissants were heavenly flaky and you taste the butter inside. Staff are always very polite and treated the customer with warmth 😊 Its kinda like a place in Montreal where...you can spot local celebrities; hockey team owner, quebecois filmmakers, singers, politicians! Ive spotted the premiers wife there with her bodyguard! Love brunch on the patio, cocktails in the afternoon with the ladies! Its so many different things always changing and getting even better! Love dinner with a view of Saint Joseph! After my first visit I made the mistake of eating at a regular chain coffee and croissant, regretted it, and going back to Duc for some takeaway! 😁 I live for their patio in the summer time - feels like in Europe!More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?3  
Victoria Sorensen, Owner at Duc de Lorraine, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2022

Dear Anna, Thank you for your wonderful five-star review! We were so pleased to read your review, it has been shared with our staff. This year we celebrate 70 years of business, we look forward to celebrating with you and your family. Your satisfaction is...More

Reviewed January 9, 2022

usually im not a soup person i try all different soup in different restaurent but every time i try them i dont like it, but this time at DUC DE LORRAINE the french soup was incrdible

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?3  
Victoria Sorensen, Owner at Duc de Lorraine, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2022

Thank you Anthony, On behalf of everyone at Duc de Lorraine, thank you for your kind review.

Reviewed November 25, 2021 via mobile

The food was good. Expensive but good. I gave 2 stars because of it. I would have given 0 stars though for the following reasons : No distance among tables and patrons. No disinfectant at the entrance. No demand for proof of vaccination. Anybody not...vaccinated can walk in. Just a reminder to the owner : proof of vaccination is REQUIRED.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?3  
Victoria Sorensen, Owner at Duc de Lorraine, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Unfortunately, there are many points that are incorrect. Outside of the store we have a disinfectant which is held up in a metal stand - this has been outside of the restaurant since the beginning...More

Reviewed November 13, 2021

i wanted to surprise my brother and his partner with a nice breakfast. They had the poached eggs with crab cakes. Problem was the crab cake smelled really bed like the crab had gone bad. We called the waitress over and she came back telling...us the chef had made them that morning. I answered and said yes he may have made them this morning but I am telling you the crab has gone bad i asked her to smell it. We were not offered another dish, and we did not eat our dishes and were charged all he same. Total for 3 people breakfast $163.00 I would NOT recommend this place. Save your money .More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?6  
Victoria Sorensen, Owner at Duc de Lorraine, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2022

Hello Jaja , thank you very much for taking the time to alert us. This kind of experience does not represent our values here at Duc de Lorraine. Sometimes mistakes happen and we want to rectify the situation. Can you write to us at info@ducdelorraine.com

Reviewed October 18, 2021

Got host 5 min after we got a seat it ok. order the bearkfast for 6 member of my family. we got Coffee 5 min later, and plate after 40 min of waiting, no one coming to say sorry or we appologize for the delay,...they place the plates randomly without attention and one wasn`t what we order which make the delay longer for my kid. For the high price we pay, it not the service we expect, so Baaaaadd and so disappointed. The worst french restaurant experience. be aware. there is a couple of nice restaurant in the area, avoid this one if you look for a good mean with your familly.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?8  
Reviewed October 7, 2021

Coming from St Joseph Oratory, we decided to eat dinner here. Gave us patio seating, but a new or inexperienced server was attending to us and she spoke broken English but was attentive to our questions and answered them with confidence. Their filet mignon was...cooked perfectly and my wife also enjoyed her carbonara. We had to wait close to an hour to receive our orders too. Ordered some pastries to go, however for 3 items in the bag, we paid over $20. Dinner for two over $100, the food was good, it's the price. Go somewhere else.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?2  
Victoria Sorensen, Owner at Duc de Lorraine, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2022

We are disappointed to receive such a poor rating. Our filet mignon is one of our signature dishes, thank you for the compliment. This year we celebrate 70 years as Montreal's oldest French patisserie -- all our pastries are created with the best of ingredients...More

Reviewed September 10, 2021 via mobile

The waiter was inexperienced and rude we had ordered for starter crossent with cheese and my friend ordered an onion soup. And for the main we ordered calamari and avocado toast thé crossent came alone i asked fir the cheese they said you have to...wait till the soup comes in we waited for 35 min then I go to the manager and tell him what is going on he tells me we usually don’t give crossent with cheese cause it is a side dish and he was doing me a favour , i told him we ordered a main meal. So he was surprised cause the waiter didn’t punch our main meal in so I called the waiter and asked to cancel after a whole hour of waiting so I asked for the bill he Nevers asked me if it is one or 2 when I told him to give me one bill he had a terrible attitude after I asked him to get one bill ….never again they have a msg ment problem and bad attitude and no service experienceMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?6  
Victoria Sorensen, Owner at Duc de Lorraine, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2022

We are disappointed to receive such a poor rating. We would’ve loved for you to have a great experience. Thank you for sharing your experience, we will share your remarks amongst our front of house staff. We sincerely apologize. Please, rest assured it was a...More

Reviewed September 6, 2021 via mobile

Loved the food the pancakes were so soft and delicious the staff was super friendly and really amazing i am definitely going to visit this place again

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?3  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Parc du Mont-Royal
Montreal was named for this hilly highland, where the
tallest spot in the city overlooks its most extensive
parkland. The greenspace of Parc du Mont-Royal is an
outdoorsman's dream, with hiking trails and nature
walks that cater to every season and level of athlete.
In the winter, cross-country skiers, tobogganers, and
ice skaters don their equipment by Beaver Lake and its
pavilion, while the warmer months bring families and
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Terrasse Royale
196 reviews
.16 miles away
Residence Lalemant College Brebeuf
9 reviews
.48 miles away
Zum Hotel
94 reviews
.85 miles away
Universite de Montreal Residence
18 reviews
.89 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Restaurant Ermitage
67 reviews
.01 miles away
Boulangerie Premiere Moisson
83 reviews
.14 miles away
La Caverne
51 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Montreal Holocaust Memorial Centre
188 reviews
.95 miles away
Saint Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal
5,298 reviews
.20 miles away
Rue Ste.-Catherine
3,333 reviews
.85 miles away
Notre-Dame-des-Neiges Cemetery
59 reviews
.48 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Benvenutta101
June 9, 2017|
Answer
Response from ducdelorrainevic | Property representative |
Thank you Dr. Magda Botez! We hope to welcome you back soon! Victoria Sorensen
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Duc de Lorraine

Yes, Duc de Lorraine offers takeout services.

Yes, Duc de Lorraine offers delivery services.

Duc de Lorraine is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4