We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Neighborhood:
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada (Sherbrooke and Peel)
+1 514-788-3038
Website
Today
6:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 227: English reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This restaurant has not lost a beat since it launched, and it is always delivering in spite of the changes of chefs and personnel. Some of the waiters are not perfectly bilingual, but we never had any communication problems. The table d'hôte menu is somewhat pricey and small, however relative to its size it is extremely varied and catering to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MALTAG16
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As we were staying at this hotel, we decided to try the in-house restaurant on a Sunday night. We were not impressed. The menu is small and very pricey. Staff seemed a little "out to lunch" (pun intended), and not at all enthused about their restaurant or tasks. Peculiarly, some of our staff seemed to have limited English. How could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim H
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear Tim H, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our team regarding your recent visit in our Restaurant. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you were disappointed by our Restaurant. To follow up on your comment regarding our desserts, please note that all our desserts without exception... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice environment, high ceiling, bright & spacious. Server was helpful & friendly. Food choices are not many, I ordered soup & duck. Soup was tasty but the duck was not tender. There are better bargains in the neighborhood but I think this is a classy & quiet place to get together with friends.

Helpful?
Thank worldclasstraveller4
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear worldclasstraveller4, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so sorry to hear that you did not experience the high level of satisfaction that the majority of our guests enjoy when visiting our Restaurant. We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again in the future. Regards, Marc Pichot General Manager More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a late lunch at its terrace in a hot summer day. It's a new experience to share the nicely prepared French cuisine with bees and birds, literally. We enjoyed the colorful and well balanced dishes, particularly the salmon steak, meticulously done. It's pastry is obviously created by a Master, not too sweet yet soft as melting in your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Irwin M
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to the Renoir for brunch based on excellent Tripadvisor reviews. Decor and atmosphere: the restaurant is divided into three sections: the bar area, the outdoor terrace and the restaurant. The tables are large and nicely spaced apart, the chairs are very comfortable. Although the restaurant was full, it was pretty quiet. The cutlery is very nice. Service: three... More 

Helpful?
Thank carolilas
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear carolilas, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your experience at Le Renoir. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provides a memorable experience to our valued guests. Your detailed comments have certainly helped us identify... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I searched Open Table for restaurants with Foie Gras on the menu in the $$ level. I found this menu with most meals at $25 CAN or less. I ordered the Foie Gras, but somehow that got us on the Prix Fixe menu when I was only planning on ordering 1 order and we got 2. Also the meals were... More 

Helpful?
Thank jjhmolbio
SofitelMontreal, Manager at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review

Bonjour, Thank you very much for writing a review following your recent stay with us. I am so glad to read how much you enjoyed the service and the amenities we offer, and that you got to experience Chef Olivier Perret's succulent cuisine at Renoir. I have reviewed your comments and concerns, and I want to assure you that I... More 

Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was just what we hoped for when we made reservations for our final night of dining in Montreal. The menu offered a nice blend of eclectic and anticipated items. The atmosphere, while not intimate, was at least refined. The staff we encountered, from greeting to au revoir, was professional and gracious. Our server was Justina and she made our... More 

Helpful?
Thank upthehudson
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear upthehudson, Thank you very much for the recommendation. I am pleased that you had a pleasurable experience with us and that the team and especially Justine were able to make your stay so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Marc Pichot General Manager More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On the positive side, it was nice to sit outside in the Montreal summer, and the maitre 'd was extremely helpful.....alas, it was downhill from there. Service was disinterested and given the small number of diners, inexcusable in this type of resto. small salad was best dish while hamburger special was dry and overcooked, melon/smoked duck entree was minuscule and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CMT-JWT
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear CMT-JWT, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience at the Renoir Restaurant. We are committed to making our guests' experience as pleasant as possible and we are always disappointed when we do not succeed. I truly apologize for the series of incidents you mentioned and can assure you that we are... More 

Hutchinson Island, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent service with delicious food. We ate both in and outdoors and felt very relaxed in the way we were treated

Helpful?
Thank danielN164EN
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear danielN164EN, Thank you very much for reviewing our restaurant. We are happy to hear you were able to relax and enjoy our terrace as well. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Marc Pichot General Manager More 

New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
472 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying at the Novatel hotel where this restaurant is located. We tried breakfast one morning and it was very average and very expensive compared to our other two mornings elsewhere. Cold toast, practically frozen butter that we had to ask for for the cold toast. Eggs cooked wrong. Terrible bacon. And water came at the end of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Hoser
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear Canadian_Hoser, Thank you so much for your feedback and for bringing these issues to my attention. I am truly sorry to hear that we failed to provide you with the exceptional service that we are known for and that you were disappointed in our breakfast. Your detailed comments have certainly helped us identify areas that require additional training for... More 

Travelers who viewed Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$8 - $39
Cuisine
French, Canadian, Gluten Free Options, International
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
6:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
6:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
6:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
6:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
6:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
6:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
    (Sherbrooke and Peel)
  • Public Transportation: One block from Peel Metro station
  • Location: Canada  >  Quebec  >  Montreal>  > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
  • Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
  • Phone Number: +1 514-788-3038
  • This restaurant is at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Description
Located on Sherbrooke Street West, steps away from the Fine Arts Museum and McGill University. Our Executive Chef, Olivier Perret and Restaurant Director Stefano Raggi are glad to present you ’Renoir’. Jean-Talon market local products mixed with the chef Burgundy culture, create The Montreal's gastronomic modern and De-Light experience for you and your guest to experiment. Be Magnifique, Be our Guest and became a Renoir Ambassador. Situé sur Sherbrooke Ouest, à deux pas du musée des Beaux-Arts et de l'université McGill. Notre Chef Executif, Olivier Perret ainsi que notre directeur du restaurant Stefano Raggi sont heureux de vous présenter ‘Renoir’. Les produits locaux du marché Jean-Talon mixé avec la culture bourguignonne du Chef crée L'Experience gastronomique moderne et De-Light de Montréal pour vous et vous invités. Be Magnifique, soyez notre invité, devenez un ambassadeur du Renoir.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighborhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.