We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Boehmer

$$$$
Neighborhood:
Downtown
Canadian, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
93 Ossington Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M6J 2Z2, Canada (Queen St. West)
+1 416-531-3800
Today
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Wed 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Thu 5:30 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2016

Food was mediocre, service terrible. Lobster mac and cheese was full of lemon. Oysters and veal were ok. Staff seemed to be more concerned with serving bigger parties. Won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank CCIU
Gordon A, General Manager at Boehmer, responded to this review

We are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your experience with us and please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations. Please know that if you find any part of your experience with us sub-standard notify us at the time and we will make things right asap. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2016 via mobile

A group of 10 of us went to Boehmer yesterday, on a Tuesday, and were treated to excellent food, brilliant wine and exemplary service. The staff graciously put up with our indecisiveness and overall disorganization and made great suggestions to help us along. Given that oysters, lobster and wine are on special on Tuesdays, our bill was ridiculously reasonable. And... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karine É
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2016

Not one of us enjoyed our meal. The grilled octopus had absolutely no "grill" to it although it was tender. The salad was missing ingredients that were in the description. Out main dishes were on the verge of inedible. I had the halibut which had absolutely no flavour! My companions had the steak, which I was told was terrible quality... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandyp2004
Gordon A, General Manager at Boehmer, responded to this review

Hi Sandy, Thank you for the feedback and we are terribly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Please know that if you ever find any aspect of your experience with us unsatisfactory, let us know at the time and we will do anything we can to rectify the situation. Sincerely Gordon ps. We do... More 

Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2016

We were looking forward to a great meal at this place. It was not the experience we were expecting. The waiter was indifferent. The wine we ordered was off. An appetizer ordered never appeared. The steak was very tough. Totally over rated restaurant. Would never go back.

Helpful?
Thank Lenore B
Gordon A, General Manager at Boehmer, responded to this review

Hi Lenore, Thank you for the feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the missing appetizer. As for the steak, if you let us know you are dissatisfied before you eat the entire steak, we will happily replace it with another steak or another dish. I'll alert the offending winery asap at your displeasure with the corked bottle............. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2016

Happened to go on a night when lobster was on the menu and on special. It was phenomenal. I'm still thinking about it over a month later. The service was great, the atmosphere pleasant (high ceilings make it a tad loud but gave it a bustling feel), and the food was wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank ParksideMac
Gordon A, General Manager at Boehmer, responded to this review

Hi Mac, Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

Excellent attention to detail both in decor and service. Outstanding menu. Highly recommend Chef Boehmer and his crew! Thank you chef for making it such a memorable evening. We WILL be back!

Helpful?
Thank Alexander 'Sasc... T
Gordon A, General Manager at Boehmer, responded to this review

Hi Alexander, Thank you for the kind words. We loved hosting your group and hope to see you again soon Sincerely Gordon More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2016

We loved the interior decoration in the restaurant and the service was fine (nothing above and beyond, though). However, value of the meal was just not there for us. The proportions were large and fair but the quality of the food for those prices was very poor. We ended up packing up the food and feeding it to our dog... More 

Helpful?
Thank avarto
Gordon A, General Manager at Boehmer, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meals. If you any find any part of your experience with us not up to par please let us know at the time and we will make everything right asap. More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2016

This was my second time (first time, I'd give four stars). I wanted to write a review so other diners do not have the same experience so take this as a warning. DO NOT order the Full Harvest Menu. It's the worst charcuterie board I've EVER had. The meats were store-bought (Loblaws?) and the olives were crap. There was nothing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne W
Gordon A, General Manager at Boehmer, responded to this review

Hi Daphne (again) Seeing as you insist on posting this review on three different sites, I have cut and pasted the response we sent to you on yelp and google. "Hi Daphne, Thank you for the feedback and we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your harvest platter. All of our cured meats are either produced... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Overall great food, service and beautiful decor. I highly recommend this spot for date nights, family dinners, girls night and any occasion. Hard to host big groups as its a small restaurant. Max 8-10 guests but you need to book a reservation. Walk ins are tough. Some nights get super busy like Tuesday's so service is slightly slower. This is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa W
Gordon A, General Manager at Boehmer, responded to this review

Hi Marisa, Thank you for the kind words. We are very happy you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you again soon. ps. check out our private dining room for groups of up to 20 guests. ;) More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2016

Service was a terrible experience for my group. Right from the start of the evening, we were rudely advised that we did not seek 'permission' to bring balloons. While I understand every establishment is entitled to their own rules, when you have unique conditions such as 'no balloons', I recommend advising people when they make a group booking. I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina Y
Gordon A, General Manager at Boehmer, responded to this review

Hi Sabrina, Thank you for the feedback and the compliments to the kitchen. Please accept our sincerest apologies again for the hair that appeared in your appetizer and the delay you perceived between first and second courses. We work very hard to make sure our guests are served in a timely fashion, but sometimes delays happen that we are not... More 

Travelers who viewed Boehmer also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Boehmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$31 - $50
Cuisine
Canadian, Contemporary
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Open Hours
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 Ossington Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M6J 2Z2, Canada
    (Queen St. West)
  • Public Transportation: Ossington 63 bus to Argyle St - walk just South on Ossington to 93. Queen Streetcar to Ossington Ave walk North on Ossington to 93. Dundas Streetcar to Ossington Ave walk South on Ossington to 93.
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Toronto>  > Downtown
  • Neighborhood: Downtown
  • Phone Number: +1 416-531-3800
Description
Located in downtown Toronto on popular dining and culture destination Ossington Avenue, Boehmer is an exciting place to be. We bring local food, chefs and artists to the table in a modern & comfortable setting. For groups of 10 and over please contact the restaurant directly.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Boehmer staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Downtown

Neighborhood Profile
Downtown
At the heart of Toronto, Downtown is the destination for cheap eats and fast fashion. Cut through by hip and trendy Yonge Street, the vibe here is young, with a strong student influence from the Ryerson University Campus. As a result, the Downtown area is always in flux: undergoing the construction of new facilities, with fresh retail spaces and pop-up cafes. Home to Toronto's largest indoor shopping mall, a number of vintage cinemas, and a healthy nightlife centered on the area's Distillery District bar and clubs near the East End, it's both an easygoing daytime spot and a popular party place after sunset. It also features some of Toronto's best outdoor landmarks, including Yonge-Dundas Square and the Nathan Phillips Square: perfect for a concert, a skate, or a relaxing sit-down.
Explore this neighborhood