We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pelican Grill

#28 of 2,174 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
$$
Seafood, Canadian, Soups
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
99-1500 Bank St | The Blue Heron mall, Ottawa, Ontario K1H 7Z2, Canada
613 526 5229
Website
Today
11:30 am - 8:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:30 am - 8:30 pm
Mon - Thu 11:30 am - 8:30 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 405: English reviews
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Every summer we would drive from our cottage just to eat at the Pelican Grill. This time around we were disappointed by the changes. No more lobster poutine on the menu. The lobster bisque used to have chunks of lobster in it but not anymore. The fish and chips had more batter than fish. I used to rate it 5... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
London, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stopped as I had a craving for lobster bisque and The Pelican came up in reviews. My wife and I had the lobster bisque, lobster roll and some oysters and all were excellent! The shop has a number of items I would have loved to have taken home if not for another night's stay and a day in the car.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jay S
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Excellent food and service! It's a casual place with fresh seafood store and restaurant in same space. We have tried many items from dinner menu and everything was super fresh and tastes amazing! Service is very good as well. Big thanks to everybody who works there 😀 Would definitely come back again.

Helpful?
Thank ILMCanada
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place was excellent - food is great but its pricey. They happily accommodated all my pickiness and again food was great i jist found it was a bit pricey. I had the maple glazed salmon as did my mom. My dad had the seafood stew which was like bouillibase But thinner i could have used a nice crusty bread... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheena C
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was a little thrown off by the location of this restaurant as it's located in a strip mall. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the menu and the quality of the food. I will definitaly be returning to try some more oysters in the future!

Helpful?
Thank mountainhamlereats
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've tried everything on the menu, and come here a lot, my favs: The chowder - excellent Crab cakes - really good and the sauce is great Moules et frites - one of my go to's Pan-seared scallops- yum fish and chips - beaus beer batter! And of course the maple crème brule for dessert which often runs out If... More 

Helpful?
Thank MikeFoodieguy002
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Do NOT ever order the coconut shrimp! I think they buy it from M&M, and then cook it to death! Their "bang-bang sauce" is at best a bit of mayo with some ketchup thrown in. The fish and chips are very good. (Too bad I didn't order them, but I didn't want a grease-fest) The service was poor. Tables of... More 

Helpful?
Thank eilefour
Jim F, Owner at Pelican Grill, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit eliefour. I would be happy to discuss our service and your disappointing meal if you would like to contact me jim@pelicanfisheryandgrill.com. For the record our Coconut shrimp are hand battered each day in our kitchen and cooked to order. If you waited an hour I sincerely apologize because that certainly isn't... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for a birthday lunch celebration with my mom and sister. The waiters overhead that it was mom's b-day and then surprised us with singing happy b-day and a delicious creme caramel for mom. The food is always excellent and the service is just what you (I) want, helpful, efficient and observant but not in your face. In the fish... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachel h h
Jim F, Owner at Pelican Grill, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to comment Rachel. The seafood pies in the seafood market are delicious! BTW thanks for mentioning the fish market it's the reason the fish in the restaurant is so fresh. We sell tons of wild caught and sustainably farmed fish, seafood & oysters since 1978. Do you need fresh fish, cooked Lobster for a party... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The selection here is fresh and delicious, particularly the oysters. The location is a little bit tacky, being located in a strip mall or sorts next to a grocery store. Service was a little slow but we eventually got our food.

Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
Jim F, Owner at Pelican Grill, responded to this review

Hi Jamie, glad that you enjoyed your oysters and sorry if the food was a little slow than you expected. We make everything "a la minute" to insure a great tasting meal. Depending on what you and everyone else orders the preparation time vary. Thanks for taking the time to visit us and we hope that you will be back.... More 

Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This gem is hidden in a strip mall, but it's 100% worth seeking out! It was packed on a Wed night but the service was excellent- quick, friendly, and efficient, and the food was incredible! Big portions and really great quality. We had the lobster, oysters, fish and chips and shrimp and chips and everyone was really happy with their... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naahlii
Jim F, Owner at Pelican Grill, responded to this review

Thanks Naahlii, we are thrilled that you liked your meal and enjoyed the experience. See you soon. keep us Shucking! Jim More 

Been to Pelican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$11 - $37
Cuisine
Seafood, Canadian, Soups
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Reservations
Good for
Families with children, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 am - 8:30 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 8:30 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 8:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 8:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 8:30 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 99-1500 Bank St | The Blue Heron mall, Ottawa, Ontario K1H 7Z2, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Ottawa
  • Phone Number: 613 526 5229
Description
A casual seafood bistro with a fresh fish market attached. We are only interested in serving the freshest fish and seafood we can get!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pelican Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?