We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rox

#641 of 2,280 Restaurants in Ottawa
$$ - $$$
123 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9, Canada
+1 613-216-2909
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good33%
  • Average27%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“burger” (9 reviews)
Open Now
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Canadian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
123 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An unassuming decor in The Metcalf Hotel, dropped in only once during a 3 day stay. Pretty much sums up my impression but, don't judge it too harshly. I had a couple of local pilsners which were delicious an cold just like God intended. Our...More

Thank George A
MetcalfeGM, General Manager at The Rox, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Rox George A. We are sorry we did not inspire you to give us a higher rating however we are delighted you found the service to be great and the cold local beers delicious! We look forward...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, but maybe because we were part of the plant nite, the service was a little lackluster. Also my small Caesar was not very good and over $10. The room we were in looked more like a cafeteria, but I think the other areas...More

Thank K D
MetcalfeGM, General Manager at The Rox, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for attending Paint Night at The Rox and for sharing your experience K D. Please accept my sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory experience you had. Our goal is to deliver an inspired stay experience and I am disappointed this was not...More

Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

Hubby and I were in town for business and staying at the hotel next door. The weather was cold and wet so we didnt want to walk/cab and get too far away from the hotel, and the receptionist had mentioned The Rox when we checked...More

Thank cross2bear
MetcalfeGM, General Manager at The Rox, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at The Rox and for the 4 star review cross2bear!! We are delighted you enjoyed your experiences with us from the decor to the service to the quality of the food. Your feedback has been shared with...More

Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

A quiet location with incredible food. If MJ is in the kitchen be sure to order the trout - she does a fantastic seared trout meal, cooked to perfection. Tara was my server and she was attentive and recommended an in-house chocolate cake and roasted...More

Thank Kim P
MetcalfeGM, General Manager at The Rox, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Thank you for your 5 Star Review of The Rox Kim P! We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. Your comments have been shared with Tara, MJ & Tom as well as the rest of the team. We hope to see you back...More

Reviewed December 18, 2017

Ate a couple of meals while staying in attached hotel. The food is good, but isn't anything special. The prices are fair and it was never very busy when we visited. They do have some good beers on tap, but limited selection.More

Thank Michael D
MetcalfeGM, General Manager at The Rox, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Thank you for your review of The Rox Michael D. We appreciate the feedback we receive as it allows us to continuously improve upon our product and service. We hope to see you back at The Rox the next time you visit The Metcalfe. Best,...More

Reviewed August 14, 2017

There were very few people there when we arrived. We were seated by a friendly server who brought our drinks quickly. We ordered and were served slices of baguette with olive oil and pre-packaged pats of butter. My husband had the steak. He found it...More

Thank SweetD
Reviewed July 10, 2017

It was Canada Day so we knew most restaurants in the market and near the Hill would be busy. I used Trip Advisor to find another nearby choice and saw the Rox. After checking the menu, we decided to give it a try. Surprisingly, it...More

Thank excobra_driver
Lee H, Manager at The Rox, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you for your wonderful feedback of The Rox. We are thrilled that you enjoy your meal and that you had great service. We hope that you will come back to downtown Ottawa and enjoy more events Ottawa is putting on for Canada's 150th this...More

Reviewed June 28, 2017

Had a burger here which was delicious! With it came a huge salad with great variety of makings. All for very reasonable price. Also had breakfast which was fine.More

1  Thank patsychom
Lee H, Manager at The Rox, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you for the positive review. We like to say our burgers are "destination" burgers and are happy to hear that you enjoyed yours. We hope you will visit us again and try a few of the others. Regards, Lee H Food and Beverage Manager...More

Reviewed June 18, 2017

On a quick trip in and out of Ottawa, my daughter and I stayed at the Metcalfe Hotel, and as we got in rather late we still had time to enjoy a drink and some appetizers at the onsite Bar and Restaurant, The Rox. The...More

Thank Highwayqueen
Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile

This place was horrible, everything we tried to order, from wine to cheese platter, to raisin bread, illicited the same response "sorry sir we are out of that until our order comes in on Tuesday... I'm sorry but it's Wednesday today, we are not on...More

Thank Michael K
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 71 hotels in Ottawa
The Metcalfe Hotel
1,125 reviews
.01 miles away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
1,132 reviews
.03 miles away
Lord Elgin
540 reviews
.09 miles away
ARC The Hotel
1,324 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Shinka Sushi Bar
216 reviews
.04 miles away
The Scone Witch
575 reviews
.08 miles away
Capital Diner
76 reviews
.02 miles away
Backdrop Food & Drink
68 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
National Arts Centre
254 reviews
.19 miles away
Parc de la Confederation
15 reviews
.10 miles away
Winterlude Ottawa
54 reviews
.17 miles away
Confederation Square
56 reviews
.20 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Rox staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $19
Cuisine
Canadian
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Takeout, Television, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
7:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
6:30 AM - 2:00 PM
Tuesday
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
6:30 AM - 2:00 PM
Wednesday
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
6:30 AM - 2:00 PM
Thursday
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
6:30 AM - 2:00 PM
Friday
6:30 AM - 2:00 PM
4:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
4:30 PM - 11:00 PM
7:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 123 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Ottawa>  > Byward Market Area
  • Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
  • Phone Number: +1 613-216-2909
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Metcalfe Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;