We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Firehall

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Canadian, Mediterranean
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
268 Four Mile Creek Rd., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
+1 905-262-5443
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 131: English reviews
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2016

The notion that you are complimented by the comment your dressing is similar to Kraft dressing tells everyone what type of eatery you operate!! Our fault we didn't all complain to waiter.

Helpful?
Thank Dianne C
oldfirehall, Owner at Old Firehall, responded to this review

Since this is the third review you and your friends have posted and is a response to my response, it is obvious that the lot of you are a little thick headed. Yes it is your fault you didn't complain to the waiter and also your fault you ate the entire meal!!! Other than the individual who did complain, none... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Was a quick stop on a bike ride. Service was efficient and happy to take care of us. The salad was typical but the wrap was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Erin P
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2016

nice venue but the food was very poor .The fried fish was one step up from fish sticks . ,it was dry and chewy . The salad dressing tasted like Kraft bottled dressing. Our friend had the chicken sandwich with sparse chicken on it. I couldn't even eat my food . We definitely will not be returning and if anyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian1955mac
oldfirehall, Owner at Old Firehall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It is unfortunate that you had the experience that you did, for that I can only apologize. Your fish was overcooked, we readily accept and own up to that fact and this is why we removed the item from your bill with our deepest apologies, but there were two orders of fish on your table... More 

London, Ontario
Level Contributor
173 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

We visit a small family owned winery near by and they recommended the Old Firehall. It was not really busy as it was mid afternoon. The service was very friendly and fast. We both had salads with grilled marinated chicken which was very good. This is a small restaurant and us not for dining. It was however, a great spot... More 

Helpful?
Thank AW55
oldfirehall, Owner at Old Firehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We always strive to give our guests our best. We do however encourage you to visit us for dinner as well, as we also give great dishes at reasonable prices with the quality one would expect from a fine dining establishment. We have built our business and reputation over the... More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2016

I went to the Old Firehall on the advice of the front desk clerk of the hotel I was staying at. We arrived there at around 8Pm and the dining room had 3 or 4 tables occupied. The waitress asked us to seat ourselves and we sat at the only 4 person table that was available. The table happened to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris_T_BC
St Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2016

My girlfriend and I came here for a dinner and absolutely loved the place! We got Beef Tenderloin and the Salmon. The food was perfectly cooked. Even though they were busy, the service was great - very welcoming! This place is very charming with excellent food at reasonable prices! Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Alexander K
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Restaurant was average,, upon entering, we were told that there was a large party before us,, that it would be a bit of a wait...we didn't mind,, food was average,, waiter was doing ok,, the best he could as he was the only waiter there,, manning the bar, dining room and the tables with the large party outside,,, it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin D
oldfirehall, Owner at Old Firehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review, however, I am left a bit confused with respect to your comments. You start off by saying the restaurant was average but say nothing about why you thought it was average. You state that the waiter told you as you were seated that there would be a bit of a wait... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

The food was great. I had the firefighters steak, with a wonderful salad. Both were excellent. My wife had the roasted vegetable salad, and she indicated it was delicious also. Great out-of-the-way place, if you were looking for something outside of Niagara on the Lake.

Helpful?
Thank Pam W
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2016

We arrived around 7pm on a Saturday so we expected to wait for a table. When we sat at the bar while waiting for a table on the patio the bartender (also owner of the restaurant) chose not to offer us a drink and we sat there for 20 mins with no service. Next we got out table outside and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mdlagesten
oldfirehall, Owner at Old Firehall, responded to this review

Wow!! Exaggerations abound in this one. You did not wait for 20 min, you waited for less than 10, when you were directed to the bar to sit and given menu to begin to look over you were not turned toward the bar nor was your partner, so i took it like you were just interested in getting a table... More 

Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2016

Been here many times. It's our favourites place in ontario. Marina and I try to get here for special occasions. Great food. Great service and good wines. Beats the rush of downtown not or the falls.

Helpful?
Thank John P

Travelers who viewed Old Firehall also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Old Firehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$11 - $26
Cuisine
Canadian, Mediterranean
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 268 Four Mile Creek Rd., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Niagara-on-the-Lake
  • Phone Number: +1 905-262-5443
Description
Casual Dining in the heart of wine country.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Old Firehall and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Ohio City, Ohio
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Old Firehall staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?